Book Notification

Emma Robinson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Undercover Mother (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Happily Never After (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Way Ticket to Paris (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Silent Daughter (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forgotten Wife (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Husband's Daughter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
His First Wife's Secret (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Save My Child (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only for My Daughter (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Be a Mother (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Stepmother's Secret (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Please Take My Baby (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
She Has My Child (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Motherhood for Slackers (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Adventures in Motherhood (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Motherhood at Christmas (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Everyday Kindness(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Emma Robinson is an English teacher and bestselling author best known for her debut novel “The Undercover Mother.”

She is the writer of several women’s fiction titles, most of which have gone on to become bestselling titles. She is also big on blogging and has been known to blog about the funny side of parenting. She has also appeared on the “Funny Women” podcast among several other podcasts.

Even though her earlier novels were humorous titles, she has recently pivoted to writing novels that have more emotional themes. Robinson has made her name writing life affirming and heartbreaking novels over the years.

Emma has said that she loves writing stories that are an exploration of the power of friendship and family, as people deal with some very challenging situations.

While she would one day want to become a full time author, she currently works as an English Teacher. She currently lives with her husband, children and their small black dog in Essex.

Growing up, Emma Robinson was quite the reader and particularly loved reading Little Women. She used to yearn to live like Josephine, the lead character in the novel who used to sit in the garret eating apples and reading books.

As such, she read a lot of books and only put them down when it was time to eat dinner. Still, her parents would have to take the condiments away from her as she would start reading the labels.

As an adult, she had a tough experience giving birth to her first child. It had all gone very wrong and for a very long time, she was very angry and ranted about the conspiracy of silence by the people who had absconded their duty.

Her first novel was thus inspired by her experiences giving birth to her first born. The novel is an exploration of the unexpected changes one has to deal with after having a baby, and the many other experiences in maternity leave.

So far, most of her novels have a mother as the lead as she usually makes use of her friends and other mothers she knows to tell her stories. Robinson also reads many parenting blogs and sometimes she gets nuggets that she uses as inspiration for her novels.

Emma Robinson novel “My Husband’s Daughter” is the story of Cara, a woman who finds herself at a crossroads. It is going towards eleven o’clock on a very cold Friday night, when she decides that she has to do the unthinkable.

Rebecca and her husband Jack were just preparing to go to bed when they heard their doorbell ring. Outside their door is Cara, a woman that says that she is the former girlfriend to Jack, even though they have never seen each other in years.

Beside her is a blue eyed shiver four years old girl that she says is the daughter to Jack that she never told him about. Rebecca is shocked by the news as she knew he had been in a long relationship before they met, but she never expected he had a child.

They have no plans of becoming parents even though they love children. Rebecca and Jack love spending time together and usually travel at a moment’s notice and having a child would curtail their freedom.

But Cara is at the end of her rope given that she comes with a terrible secret she has not told anyone about, not even her daughter is aware of it. It is a secret that just could change the lives of everyone standing at that door.

Will Rebecca find it in her heart to welcome a stranger even if it was her husband’s child into her home?

“My Silent Daughter” by Emma Robinson is the story of Ruby, a child that has always been a gutsy one ever since she was an infant. She used to cry often and was never content with anything. She is now a three year old and Sara believes that there is something wrong with Ruby and may now need to get professional advice.

Things only get more complicated when the family moves in with Sara’s mother in law Barbara. They are saving to buy their own house and Barbara, who is from a past generation, does not understand Ruby. From her perspective, she is just a naughty and rude child even though she has real difficulties.

She is a posh woman who puts a lot of premium on appearances and tries to impress friends and neighbors. The child not doing what Barbara wants and not communicating only makes things worse.

Meanwhile, Sara’s husband Mike is too preoccupied sponging off his mother and trying to become an actor rather than a being father or loving husband. He tries every trick he knows to spend as little time as he can away from home.

Once Ruby’s mother gets her into preschool and gets a part time job, the child’s difficulties come to the fore.

Emma Robinson’s novel “The Undercover Mother” is a compelling narrative of a woman named Jenny that has to deal with too much. She is eating for three even though she is only pregnant with one child.

She is also trying to juggle her future with a know it all sister, nightmare boss and future life with a baby even as her husband remains bizarrely laid back. Once upon a time, she had been a famous single journalist girl about town but ever since, she got married she had sworn off parties.

She is thrown into a panic when her boss asks her to write about clueless mothers and gives her popular column to a younger journalist. Jenny thinks her new friend group would be fascinating even though the only thing they share is that they had intercourse at about the same time a few months back.

Her friends include the sweet natured Ruth that has so far refused to take any phone calls; Antonia a posh mum that has already been seen drinking when Jenny is yet to make even a cup of coffee; and Gail’s sa woman with a very mysterious husband.

She intends to hook in her readers with such stories even if she could be more liberal with how she tells it.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Emma Robinson

Leave a Reply