Book Notification

Emma Straub Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vacationers (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Modern Lovers (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Adults Here (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Time Tomorrow (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Fly Over State (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Other People We Married (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Very Good Hats (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

First Winter(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Afterzine, Issue 2(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Picador Book of 40(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
What My Mother Gave Me(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
xo Orpheus(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goodbye to All That(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Period: Twelve Voices Tell the Bloody Truth(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mythic Journeys(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Emma Straub was born in New York City, in the year 1980. She is an established American author known for her bestselling book The Vacationers that was produced in 2014. Emma writes both essays and short stories to numerous periodicals and magazines. Emma’s very first novel was “Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures. The book was published by Riverhead Books back in 2012. Emma’s debut story collection was released in February 2012, going by the title “Other People We Married.” This story collection was also published by Riverhead Books. Emma Straub writes both fiction and non-fiction stories, with success being mostly witnessed from the fiction books. His works have been published by several houses, including The Wall Street Journal, Tin House, Slate, The Paris Review Daily, The New York Times, Cousin Corinne’s.

Straub was born in 1980 to Peter Straub. Her parents raised her in Manhattan. She went to school High School in Brooklyn and to college in Ohio. Just like her father Straub, Emma studied at the University of Wisconsin Madison. Reminder, Times and several other journals. Emma Straub is married with kids. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York. As a young girl, Emma Straub grew up on the Upper West Side Manhattan, New York. She currently lives with her husband and children in Brooklyn. Emma is a staff writer for the Rookie Magazine, doing teenage articles. Besides writing books and articles, she is also a bookseller and operates s design studio.

The next section is a review of Emma Straub’s most popular works:
The Vacationers

About the Book:
The Vacationers is a fiction story novel, published in June 2014. The Vacationers is an irresistible, deftly observed book about the joys, secrets and jealousies that become evident when an average American family goes to spend a two-week holiday in Mallorca.

The plot:
A family goes for a two-week long simple trip to Mallorca, Balearic Island. Their extended family and friends join them in the celebration. Jim and Franny are having their 35th wedding anniversary. Their daughter Sylvia is also recently graduated from her high school studies. The family looks to have a good time since the beautiful Islands, beaches, and mountains promises to keep boredom at par while they are away from home, Manhattan. Everything does not work out as planned during the trip; while on vacation, issues and secrets begin to emerge, both old and new. The family gets humiliated as childhood rivalries resurfaces, and the old woods injured.

Emma Straub creates a fictional story that shows the other side of our lives. She tries to revel the family secrets people do not love to air in public, yet they exist. She reveals some of the best way we wear down each other and how to build it up again. Emma has successfully exposed internal family wrangles using humor and vigor, in the midst of rage, anger and a maelstrom of change.

Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures

About the Book:

Laura Lamont’s Life in a Picture was published back in September 2012. The story is about a Midwestern lady who runs away from family tragedy who later becomes a Hollywood golden age movie star. Laura Lamont’s Life in a Picture is the very first works by Emma Straub. Even though this book never received as much fame as The Vacationers, it is one of the best fiction story reads.

The plot:
The story setting is in 1920. Elsa Emerson is the youngest and blondest girls amongst her three sisters. Elsa is born in Wisconsin, idyllic Door County. Elsa’s family is the proud owners of Cherry County Playhouse. Elsa strives to approve to her family, especially her father that she can make. She loves appearing on stage and loves when the audience cheers at her doing her thing. Tragedy strikes Elsa’s family while still a young girl. While still a teenager, she gets married and moves to settle in Los Angeles. Irving Green, one of the most influential executives in Hollywood discovers her talent while in Los Angeles. Green brands Elsa as an exotic brunette, serious lady and names her Laura Lamont. Irving and Laura falls in love and she ultimately becomes of the greatest stars of the times and Academy Award winning actress. Laura faces extravagance and glamour in her new career and the highest pinnacle of stardom during the eras of the studio. However, one thing stands out, she is a woman who has to balance her family, career, and personal happiness, while not hanging who she is- being true to herself.

Richly imagined and very ambitious, Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures is a larger than life, initiate and great film of the Hollywood golden age. Written with verve and warmth, it confirms the reputation of the author, Emma Straub as one of the most creative and exciting talents in fiction writing.

Modern Lovers

About the Book:

Modern Lovers is another fiction story by Emma Straub. Modern Lovers is a recent work by Emma Straub. It is a fiction story, more exciting written out of patience and experience by the author.

The plot:
Elizabeth, Zoe and Andrew are close friends, and they have seen each other grow to adults. In life, they have shared friendship, were college band-mates and have seen one another through marriage, start their businesses, buy real estates and build their families. The friends are now grown up adults and they have to pass the mantle to their offspring, including independence, sexuality, and the inefficient alchemy of cool.

In the early days when the band rocked and the friends were hot cake, Elizabeth wears a snarl over her smile (Midwestern), Zoe was a lesbian and almost every lesbian woman wanted to lay her and Andrew allowed his hair to grow to small bush past his chin. The friends are now about fifty year old, and they live in the same neighborhood in gentrified Brooklyn. The old age has arrived so fast and they have to face it. Their children reach maturity in summer, and they star behaving like adults, sleeping together and doing other things together. These children begin to realize the fall of their parents and the once famous fourth band members who were their parents and did this thing when they were not around. It is all gone and it cannot be reclaimed.

In this book, Emma Straub has successfully put together insight and wisdom together, he has also successfully brought in humor about neighbors and their noises, pleasure, ambition, the excitement of the young people/ youth, the middle age shock, and the fact that human passion, whether it is food or music never fade away. In fact, they evolve and grow alongside us.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Emma Straub

Leave a Reply