Book Notification

Emmi Itaranta Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Memory of Water (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The City of Woven Streets (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Weaver (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moonday Letters (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

New Voices in Fiction Sampler(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stories of Hope and Wonder: In Support of UK's Healthcare Workers(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Emmi Itaranta is a Finnish published author of fictional novels. She resides in the United Kingdom in Canterbury. She has professional experience with writing but has also branched out into other activities related to it that include press officer, working as a scriptwriter, a dramaturge, and even a theater critic.

Itaranta was born in the city of Tampere in Finland. She grew up there, with Finland providing much of the backdrop for her defining years. Emmi would go on to attend the University of Tampere, graduating from the university with her MA in the subject of drama. She would also pursue creative writing in the form of an MA in the United Kingdom, attending and graduating from the University of Kent.

It was while enrolled as a student at Kent that the author would start what would become her first published novel. She started working on Memory of Water then, later working to complete the manuscript in full in dual languages of English and Finnish. The novel would go on to get some acclaim. Her novel would win Teos’ (a publishing house in Finland) ‘Fantasy & Sci-Fi Literary Contest’ in 2011.

Memory of Water is the first published novel from Emmi Itaranta. It was published in 2012. The book did well initially, garnering its fair share of positive reviews in the author’s native Finland. The title there was ‘Teemestarin kirja’. The book did so well that the translation rights were sold to over a dozen territories. The book has been nominated for Best Book for the Philip K. Dick and Arthur C. Clarke Awards.

Check out this unique book and see why so many people are talking about this wonderful debut! If you love innovative fiction and unique storytelling, you’ll love this first novel from Emmi Itaranta.

When it comes to war, things have changed in this version of a very different planet from the one we all know. The presence of global warming has led to an inexorable changing of the way that the world experiences not only its politics, but its very geography. Wars are now being conducted for a very precious resource, and water is the main prize.

Not only that, but Europe has come to be ruled over by China. This includes the Scandinavian Union, which is seeings itself being occupied by New Qian, a powerful state. It is here that the readers are introduced to Noria Kaitio. At just 17 years of age, this young woman is pursuing her goal of becoming a tea master.

It is a noble goal in this place of the north, and a position that was occupied by her father. Being a tea master is a lot of responsibility and one that even comes with its fair share of secrets. For example, it is only the tea masters that know where hidden sources of water can be located and found. These sources of water must be protected so that everyone can have the water that they afford.

Noria’s father is one of those people that knows of the hidden water. He tends to a natural spring, one that was able to once give water to hydrate their entire village. While they have taken great pains to protect these secrets, it seems inevitable that they may be revealed in these trying times. Some secrets cannot stay kept under wraps for all time, as this teenager is about to find out.

Tragedy strikes when her father passes away, but that is not the only bad thing to happen. After his death, the army has decided to keep an eye out and begin watching the town and individuals in it. This unfortunately includes Noria. Water is becoming ever more difficult to come by, and as the stakes get higher, Noria is going to have to make a choice.

Will she be able to stay in this town and live in relative safety, or will going out and being on her own be the better choice? Should she pursue her knowledge here and enjoy the kinship and friendship that she has in the village, or is the bigger world out there her safer bet?

This aspiring tea master finds herself caught between a rock and a hard place. Set in an alternate future full of relevant themes the reader can relate to today, this is a novel that is engaging and creative. Check it out for yourself and find out what Noria chooses to do next!

The City of Woven Streets is the second published novel to be released by Itaranta. It was released in 2016. If you loved the first book from this author, be sure to check out this unique story!

When it comes to life, sometimes it can be as fragile as a tapestry. You never know what might happen if you pull on a thread– the rest may also come undone. This is a world where the value of human life is far less than some would desire it to be.

The people that live in this reality must do what they can to practice their craft so that they can stay alive. It’s better to do this than to become an outcast, someone who is considered to be totally unwanted and a tainted part of society.

Main character Eliana is a young woman that belongs to the House of Webs as a weaver. Even though this is what she does and she has a place to stay, she cannot help but feel that she does not fit in or belong. At the same time, she has a birth defect that she keeps hidden. She’s not only ashamed about it, but knows that the defect could get her into a situation even worse than the one she is in.

If anyone found out about the defect, she knows that she would be exiled to the ‘House of the Tainted’. This horrible place would be no life for her, as it is a virtual prison for people who are considered outcasts.

One day, a woman missing a tongue but bearing her name as a tattoo shows up at the house she lives in. It is then that Eliana finds that the city is hiding a powerful network, invisible to most. What will be her fate in this strange world? Read this novel to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Emmi Itaranta

Leave a Reply