Book Notification

Empire of Bones Saga Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Empire of Bones Saga Books

Empire of Bones (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Veil of Shadows (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Command Decisions (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghosts of Empire (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paying the Price (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Recon in Force (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Behind Enemy Lines (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Terra Gambit (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden Enemies (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Race to Terra (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ruined Terra (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victory on Terra (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Luck Runs Out (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gunboat Diplomacy (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

“The Empire of Bones Saga” is a series of novels by Terri Mixon, a bestselling author of science fiction novels. He has been an employee of the Johnson Space Center where he is a computer support technician for flight control. The ultimate geek, he is in charge of ensuring that the people monitoring the very important aspects of the operation of the International Space Station have all the support they need. Before he got into computer support for the International Space Center, he was a non commissioned officer in the US Navy. He served as a helicopter crew chief and scout during his time with the 101st Airborne. As for his writing he has said that while many of his contemporaries knew they were destined for a professional writing career from when they were little, the writing bug bit him when he was an adult. Nonetheless, he is a voracious reader and would read all manner of fiction and non-fiction works as a child and in his teenage years. It was while he was in his forties that he got a novel he thought he would love, only for it to turn out to be utter dross. After reading too many bad novels, he thought he could write better and made the decision to become a professional author. He got the nudge to get started when one of his best friends sent him a manuscript to critique and this gave him the motivation to finally start. By 2014, he had published the “Empire Bones” in the “Empire of Bones Saga” and he has never looked back since.

Unlike many authors, Terry was lucky to sell his first work, a short story on the first submission. He would then decide to self-publish his novels after he realized that it was far much easier for a new author to go the independent route rather than with traditional publishing. He published several of his works on several sites under a pseudonym as he honed his skills. Still many of his novels would go on to become very popular that he believed he was ready to start writing science fiction novels. Since publishing Empire of Bones his debut novel Terry Mixon has become one of the most prolific authors in the genre averaging two novels a year. He currently has more than twenty novels in the “Empire of Bones Saga,” “Humanity Unlimited Saga,” “Fractured Republic Saga,” “Vigilante,” “Scorched Earth Saga,” and the “Imperial Marines” series of novels.

“The Empire of Bones” is the first novel of the series that introduces Jared Mertz, a senior naval officer who protects the New Terran Empire that has not seen war or turmoil for several centuries. Unlike the stereotypical commanders of the Pax New Terra who spent much of their time doing administrative duties, he is a real soldier who knows everything about war. He is also a great commander who cares for the Marines and Sailors that are in his charge. Since he is an experienced officer, he often took part in combat training simulations and was the type of man you would want by your side if by chance you came under attack. By Mertz’s side is Kelsey Bandar who at the opening of the series is the spoiled princess with attitude and a lot of entitlement. She is the ultimate princess and she is the second in line to inherit the imperial throne of the Terran Empire. Bored with her life she had decided that life as an imperial princess was not enough only for her father to change her life forever. He sends her on a mission to explore what remained of the fallen empire only for her to get stuck on the other side of the world.

“Empire of Bones” of the “Empire of Bones Saga” is a compelling narrative that tells of the life and times of the survivors of the Terran Empire. The survivors are small pockets of humans who have refused to let go and die like their fellow men. While their survival had been highly improbable, they had rebuilt from the ruins of their former civilization though they are light years away from making life similar to what they had before. Jared Mertz the lead is the emperor’s bastard who joined the Navy with no inkling he had royal blood since he had been lost for years. Since the army requires all recruits to take a genetic test, he is soon discovered to be related to the emperor. Becoming the best officer in the empire was all he ever wanted to do but now that his identity has been revealed, he may have to involve himself in politics. The news is bad news for his career as he no longer advances at the previous pace as the senior officers do not want to be perceived as favoring him because of his royal status. In the meantime, Kelsey agrees to go on a mission that intends to explore the remnants of the Terran Empire civilization. While she is a true royal princess, she will still have to serve under her half brother Jared, which sometimes makes things awkward. Even though working together is very awkward and complicated, they will face an even greater challenge when an unstable wormhole takes them out of their preordained path.

The second novel of the series is “Veil of Shadows.” Kelsey and Jared have been lucky enough to crafts some alliances though they have also made some enemies. Their explorations revealed some very advanced technologies that had been left behind by the destroyed civilization. But now they have to learn how to glean information and get the technologies working once again. However, much of the information they gleaned has been transplanted into Kelsey the Princess and she becomes an unlikely warrior with superhuman abilities. Without the ability to harness her powers, she keeps on destroying things and Mertz and her colleagues do not know what to do. In the meantime, they have to prepare to counter the plans of dangerous enemies who are coming for them. They are in full control of the skies and hence they may find it easier launching a mission to go to a nearby galaxy to escape their enemies. But since they are yet to control the planet Earth, their civilization may come under attack from the Rebel Empire while they are away. The galaxy now needs them to find a solution more than ever.

“Command Decisions” the third novel of “The Empire Bones Saga” series opens to Mertz and Kelsey trying to foil the murderous ploys of their adversaries. They have to fight off their enemies while working on a plan to get back to their home planet. At first, things go very well until Captain Breckenridge comes onto the scene and disrupts their plans. He is a narcissistic and bigoted man with little competence or any redeeming qualities. But he is a captain and now that he has been put in charge of the team, he destroys everything by refusing to take any orders from Princess Kelsey or following any of the strategies they had carefully and meticulously prepared. As is to be expected, he is a disaster of a leader and his actions cause a huge disaster that puts thousands of lives in jeopardy, and the objective almost out of reach. Jared and Kelsey ultimately have to clean up his mess and try to salvage whatever is left of their mission.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Empire of Bones Saga

Leave a Reply