Book Notification

Empire of the Wolf Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Empire of the Wolf Books

The Justice of Kings (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tyranny of Faith (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trials of Empire (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Empire of the Wolf (Series by Richard Swan)
Richard Swan writes the “Empire of the Wolf” series of high fantasy novels. The books have been translated into Czech, German, and Spanish.

The books follow Sir Konrad Vonvalt, who is an Emperor’s Justice, and is a detective, judge, and executioner all in one. His single purpose is to uphold the law in the Emperor’s name, through any means necessary. To this end, he travels around the Empire, dispensing justice by way of his magic powers, sharp intellect, and (whenever necessary) his strong sword arm.

“The Justice of Kings” is the first novel in the “Empire of the Wolf” series and was released in 2022. Unrest and a rebellion are building, which makes it a dangerous time to be a Justice.

The Empire of the Wolf is simmering with unrest. Heretics, rebels, and powerful patricians all challenge the power of the Imperial throne. There is just the Order of Justices that stands in the way of absolute chaos.

Sir Konrad Vonvalt is the most feared Justice of them all, upholding the law by way of his arcane powers, sharp mind, and his skills as a swordsman. By his side stands Helena Sedanka, his talented protege, who was orphaned by the wars which forged the Empire.

The pair investigates the murder of this provincial aristocrat, they uncover this conspiracy which stretches back to the very top of Imperial society. While the stakes continue to rise and get even more personal, Helena and Vonvalt have to make a choice. Are they going to really abandon the laws that they have sworn to uphold, in order to protect the Empire?

“The Justice of Kings” was an instant Sunday Times Bestseller upon its release.

Fans found this to be a totally addictive read. It was a fully riveting story about war, law, justice, and morality. Konrad’s intimidating presence and actions are likely going to stay with readers for quite some time. Readers found that having Helena narrate the story formed a superior narrative to if Konrad had been narrating. Dubine Bressinger was another great character and the dynamic he has with Konrad and Helena added a lot of color and was very engaging. It was always interesting to read their interactions with one another, and you get to gradually witness the personality of the three and their backgrounds.

“The Tyranny of Faith” is the second novel in the “Empire of the Wolf” series and was released in 2023. The work of a Justice is never done.

The Battle of Galen’s Vale has ended, however the war for the Empire’s future has just gotten started. Concerned by rumors that the Magistratum’s authority has begun to wane, Sir Vonvalt has returned to Sova just to find the capital city is currently gripped by whispers of rebellion and intrigue. In the Senate, patricians speak out openly against the Emperor, as fanatics are preaching holy vengeance out on the streets.

But facing down these threats to the throne are going to have to wait, since the Emperor’s grandson has just been abducted, and Vonvalt is tasked with rescuing the missing prince. His quest is going to lead him, and his allies Bressinger, Sir Radomir, and Helena, out to the southern frontier, where they’ll yet again face the puritanical fury of Bartholomew Claver and his templar knights and there’s a dark power much more horrifying than they could’ve ever imagined.

This novel is rife with political intrigue, mysteries, moving forces, and action. The twists, turns, and revelations in the last third are incredible, and Richard does a fantastic job of setting the final act up to make it all as impactful as possible. He thoroughly explores the relationships which keep his main cast together. Their interactions are complex, with a lot of subtext coming into play which evokes so much emotions. You see an insight into what really drives friendships and how they can strain under dire circumstances. The discussions between justice and law, and what is right, and how at times, these don’t really go together that well.

“The Trials of Empire” is the third novel in the “Empire of the Wolf” series and was released in 2024. The Time of Judgment is now at hand. The Empire of the Wolf is on its knees, however there is life in this great beast yet.

In order to save it, Sir Konrad Vonvalt and Helena have to look beyond its borders for allies: to the pagan clans in the north and the wolfmen of the southern plains. However old grievances run deep, and both of these factions would benefit from Sova’s fall.

Even these allies may not be enough. Their enemy is the zealot Bartholomew Claver, wields infernal powers having been bestowed upon him by this mysterious demonic patron. If Helena and Vonvalt are going to stand up against him, they’ll need friends on either side of the mortal plane, however such allegiances carry a pretty heavy cost.

While the battlelines are drawn in both Sova and the afterlife, there’s a final reckoning drawing near. Here, at the Empire’s beating heart, the two-headed wolf is going to be reborn in a blaze of justice, or will be crushed underneath the shadow of tyranny.

Having Helena tell these stories is effective telling this sort of story, since she serves as the rational foil to the sometimes unhinged Vonvalt. We often get to experience her trepidation and skepticism of him through her inner thoughts being juxtaposed against her vivid descriptions of Konrad’s sometimes zealous actions and questionable behavior. This is a cool way of absorbing the story and it takes a pretty gutsy writer to attempt to pull something like this off, but it works beautifully here.

The book does a fantastic job of justify the reading investment of the first two novels and the final half, for some readers, seemed to speed by for the thrilling and highly moving finale. He does a superb job of showing exactly how you should end a series, with each plot thread being wrapped up nicely, the action is frenzied, and characters get put to the test and challenged to overcome overwhelming adversity.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Empire of the Wolf

Leave a Reply