Book Notification

Empire Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Empire Books

Wounds of Honour (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arrows of Fury (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fortress of Spears (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Leopard Sword (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wolf's Gold (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Emperor's Knives (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Eagle's Vengeance (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thunder of the Gods (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Altar of Blood (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scorpion's Strike (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
River of Gold (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vengeance (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Storm of War (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clash of Legions (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Empire series a bestselling novel series based on the historical, fiction, fantasy, and adult genres. It is full of action and adventures, and is set in ancient Rome. The novels of this series revolve around the adventures of a brave and young Roman soldier named Marcus Tribulus Corvus. As the series progresses, Marcus Corvus is joined by a number of his friends in his adventure. Written by the well known British novelist named Anthony Riches, the series is comprised of 9 books in total, which were released between the years 2009 and 2016. Author Riches has depicted Marcus Corvus as the lead character in all the books of this historical series. In some parts of the world, the series is also known by the name L’Impero. Numerous critics have described the series as a fast paced, action packed, and gripping fiction, containing marvelous characters, and a few occasional moments of fun and dark humor. The way author Riches has penned the series, it can be easily understood the he is both a better storyteller and a better historian. Very few authors are able to achieve both the qualities, but author Riches seems quite good at both of them. A few other critics said that the series is exciting to read because of its lively characters, raw emotion, and accurate historical details. The plots consist of realism, emotion, and a fresh sense of enjoyment and excitement. The characters as well as the stories keeping growing with the progress of the series. The stories are such a big success among the readers that they patiently wait for its next installment and expect that it will also entertaining and challenging action sequences. Overall, the series is authentic, action packed, and thrilling. Marcus Valerius is introduced as a soldier hero stationed on the Hadrian’s Wall at the time of the second century when Rome faces a revolt against its Empire. Author Riches has said that he developed the interest in writing this exciting series when he heard fascinating stories from his father about the Second World War. Eventually, he went on to use all his knowledge of the historical facts about the Roman Empire to develop the series. Riches laid the foundation of the first book after visiting the fort of Housesteads Roman in 1966.

An initial book written in the historical series by Anthony Riches is entitled ‘The Eagle’s Vengeance’. It was released by the Hoder & Stoughton publication in 2013. The important characters introduced in the plot of this story include Commodus Antonius, Decimus Clodius, Centurion Dubnus, Lucius Aurelius, Marcus Valerius, Calgus, Gaius Rutilius, Arminius, and many more. At the start of the book, it is shown that the auxiliary cohorts of the Tungrian return to the Hadrian’s Wall following their successful campaign in Dacina. To their surprise, they find a lot of chaos in Britannia. The legions get overstretched while struggling to employ as many men as possible to the northern frontier forts sighting the increasing resistance from the barbarians. The Tungrians seem to be the only soldiers who could be sent to the northern wastes, way beyond the abandoned wall that Antonius built. There, they are expected to come across a lost symbol of the 6th Victorius Legion’s imperial power. It becomes very important to recover the Sixth legion’s eagle for the survival of the legion. The eagle is hidden in a high mountain fortress and is protected by the impassable swamp. If the eagle has to be recovered, all these difficulties must be overcome. Marcus Valerius and his company were known to have become successful in overcoming such difficulties in the past and are expected to do so once again. They are required to penetrate through the heart of their enemy’s strength. For this purpose, they must cross the deadly wilderness, which is patrolled by the vicious huntresses. If they are able to cross the wilderness alive, they will reach the Fang’s Walls. Marcus must try and breach this all but impregnable fort in order to rescue the venerated standard of the legion. This will complete just one part of the mission as they have to return back with the legion’s eagle through the same path that they had come. But, the escape is going to be twice as difficult and perilous because of the presence of a tribe full of barbaric people in the path.

Another interesting book published in the series is called as ‘Altar of Blood’. This book was also released by the same publishing house in 2016. At the beginning of the story, it is shown that Marcus Valerius and his Tungrian men enter into a battlefield that turned to be one of the most disastrous defeats of Rome. No sooner did the Tungrians return back to Rome from their mission than they get tasked with another mission of the desperate exploits of Parthia. They are ordered to go across the Rhenus river and enter the barbarian territories of Germany. From there, the Tungrians must capture a priestess from one of the tribes, who is known to be a dangerous person throughout the northern border of the empire. But, as soon as the Tungrians begin their new mission, they face the machinations of their old enemy, who will not stop at anything to sabotage the mission plans even before they set their foot on the eastern bank of the river. Somehow, they manage to defeat the Roman enemy, but their problems seem far from over. As they move forward, they face an even greater challenge. The Tungrians have their hands full with a couple of the greatest treasures of Bructeri tribe. And they have to regain the Roman territory by passing through the dangerous wilderness with the treasures still with them. Around 200 years ago, the wilderness was the Roman imperial strategy’s graveyard and therefore the Tungrians fear to cross it. They know that if they get captured by the vengeful chieftain and the warband of the Bructeris, they will have to face a horrific death on the blood altar of the tribe. In order to avoid going through such a deadly experience, the Tungrians pray that they do not come across the tribe of Bructeri. The book went on to become highly successful and was very much appreciated by one and all. The readers from all over the world showed a great response towards the book, which in turn helped it to become immensely successful. Even author Riches was lauded for his efforts in creating such an interesting story. He was motivated to write many more exciting novels in his writing career in the future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Empire

Leave a Reply