Book Notification

Enzo Files Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Enzo Files Books

Extraordinary People / Dry Bones (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Critic / A Vintage Corpse (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blacklight Blue (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freeze Frame (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blowback (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cast Iron (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Night Gate (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Peter May started publishing his “Enzo Files” series in the year 2006, when “Extraordinary People” was released. The series mixes thrills, suspense, whodunit, and investigation.

Enzo MacLeod is half Italian and half Scottish, and in his fifties. He used to be one of the top forensic scientists in Scotland. He works in Toulouse as a professor at a university, located in France.

He has had to raise a daughter in France by himself, and has another that he is estranged from while in Scotland. He was widowed while in France, and divorced during his time in Scotland.

After a reckless wager (that was about the power of of forensic science), he is involved in solving some cold cases in France using some of the latest technology. The killers in these cases want to keep their freedom, and are willing to kill more to keep from being exposed and captured. His lifetime in labs is nothing to equip him for the situations that threaten his very life, he finds.

The cases he works benefit from the formidable intellect he has. Often times, however, they are held back due to the lack of tact or patience he has, not to mention the complex emotional life he has and the zero tolerance that he has for French bureaucrats.

“Extraordinary People” is the first novel in the “Enzo Files” series and was released in the year 2006. As if things were not complex enough for Enzo, he quickly finds that he is hunting down solutions for tough cold cases.

In Paris, there is a man looking desperately for some sanctuary and goes right into a church. The very next day, his vanishing makes him famous all over France.

Deep in the City of Light’s catacombs, MacLeod finds some creepy clues that were left by a killer on purpose. As he gets closer to solving the case, he finds that he may just end up the next victim for his own trouble.

Readers have found a new series for them to read, not to mention a new lead character that they can fall in love with and root for the entire time. Fans of the novel enjoy the way that Peter May writes; he is able to teach you things but still write an excellent story. Some readers found they could not put the book down, once they had picked it up. Some loved Enzo and the complex relationships that he has with everyone in his life, including his daughters. Some find that they cannot wait until they can read more books from this series.

“The Critic” is the second novel in the “Enzo Files” series and was released in the year 2007. In southwest France, in the wine making part of Gaillac, a horrible crime has been carried out that displays that the killer has a flair for the dramatic. America’s most renowned wine critic Gil Petty’s body is found in a vineyard, wearing a ceremonial robe of the Order of the Divine Bottle. He is strung up and actually pickled in wine.

Enzo has to find clues in some of Petty’s puzzling reviews, these reviews could make or break the reputation of a vineyard. He digs deeper to try and locate motive for this shocker of a crime. Enzo finds that under the veneer of French viticulture, there is a back stabbing community. It is one that is marked by one deadly rivalry, and it is the home to somebody that is ready to stop him to shut down the investigation, even kill him if they have to.

Some felt themselves enjoying this one more than book one in the series. Fans of the novel find that the author does extensive research before releasing writing one of these stories. Some liked the pacing of the mystery in this one, and you get to see things from more characters’ perspectives in this one. Not to mention the interesting characters from book one get fleshed out even more in this book. There are quite a few questions to ask during the book, and the ending does a nice job of setting up the next book in the series.

“Blacklight Blue” is the third novel in the “Enzo Files” series and was released in the year 2008. Enzo has to put a halt to his pursuits, both professional and personal, for the moment when he gets diagnosed with a terminal illness. It is worse than even that, though, it looks like someone is trying to ruin his life. Wrecking his credit, threatening both his family and him, and even framing him for a murder.

He has little choice but to fight right back, and hides his family at a safe house and gets right down to working on the case. He is more and more sure that the cold case he has been working is connected to this persecution he has been put through. He tries to put the pieces together before time runs out, so that he can save his loved ones lives. As well as his own.

Some readers felt this held their attention the entire way through, and that it was hard to do anything else put read this to find out what happened next. Fans of the novel find that these books keep getting better with each release. The little twist at the end was an interesting way to end things. Some cannot get enough of Enzo, finding that they wish there were many more books by Peter May starring this excellent character.

“Freeze Frame” is the fourth novel in the “Enzo Files” series and was released in the year 2010. Enzo makes a promise to a man, as he is dying, and it takes him to a study that the guy’s heir has been preserving for almost two decades now. The dead guy put some clues in there that were designed to allow the son to figure out the killer’s identity. In an ironic twist of fate, the son died right after the dad did.

The case takes him to a small island off of Brittany’s coast in France. This is a place that he has to confront the locals’ hostility. These people have little desire to get the infamous murder put back in the headlines. This is one of Enzo’s toughest cases that he has ever taken on.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Enzo Files

Leave a Reply