Book Notification

Eoin Dempsey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Lion's Den Books

The Way Home (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lion's Den (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A New Dawn (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Age (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grand Illusion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coming Storm (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reckoning (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maureen Ritter Books

The American Girl (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forger (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Soldier (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Monika Ritter Books

The German Girl (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Monika Ritter Book 2 (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Powerscourt Books

The Saint of Impossible Causes (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Garden of Ireland (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Finding Rebecca (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bogside Boys (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Rose, Black Forest (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Toward the Midnight Sun (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Longest Echo (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Soldier (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Eoin Dempsey is an Irish born American author of historical fiction and thriller books. He was born in 1977 Dublin, Ireland and grew up in Dalkey, a beautiful suburb in Ireland. Dempsey attended the BlackRock college where he played rugby though he never performed well. Later on, he moved to the University College Dublin where he did commerce. He currently resides in the United States together with his wife and teaches elementary school children computer science in Philadelphia.

Eoin start to writing was not encouraging as he received numerous rejections from publishers but never gave up on his quest. However, the author has managed to come up with some books over time talking hugely from his traveling and life experiences. Eoin Dempsey became a published author in 2014 when Finding Rebecca- a standalone novel was published.

Finding Rebecca

Finding Rebecca was his debut novel in the publishing world. It’s a story of love and the Holocaust. It’s tale of two characters, Rebecca and Christopher during the World War II period. Christopher is a German while Rebecca is a Jew and is at a time that the Jews are being sent to Auschwitz, but Christopher has to fight to save her from the cruelty and hardship that her people are forced through.

Rebecca is raised together with Christopher on an island that is later colonized by German during the war period. She has abusive parents and is forced to live with Christopher’s parent until she becomes of age and leaves. Later on, she returns for Christopher to rekindle the once great friendship and this time to a higher notch. Things do not go to her expectations as the Nazis colonize the island forcing her and other Jews into concentration camps far away.
Christopher is not willing to let her go and instead decides to enroll as an SS officer so that she can look for her at Auschwitz. As he looks for her, he saves many Jews from the brutality that they are subjected to while still risking his life. It is a tough battle for him as he risks his life and reputation by saving the Jews while looking for Rebecca.

The author has a great setting giving a deeper image of the struggles that the Jews had to go through during the period. Eoin also shows the power of love as he moves the character from page to page creating an emotional attachment for the reader and thus absorbing the reader from front cover all through to the end.

The Bogside Boys

The Bogside Boys is another book by Eoin Dempsey that brings in the themes of war, conflict of interest and love. There is a section of Northern Ireland that is divided by religion- some are Protestants while the others are Catholics. The Protestants are on the throne and have a meager opinion on the Catholics.
Love grows between two characters in the area, Melissa, a Protestant and Mick Doherty a Catholic. Things are about to get messy during a protest through Bogside, and the two take it up as the perfect chance to prove their love for each other. However, all these self-conflicting thoughts hit mick making him reconsider the path that he has already taken, and he either has to honor the promise he made to his brother or follow his heart.

Too much violence is involved in the story putting in mind the time of the story, during the second world war. As the conflict clothes on, too much blood is shed as the conflicting sides hurt each other spurred by different motivations. Things escalate the moment British army soldiers shoot 13 people during the bloody Sunday agitating mick, Melissa, and pat to take part in the war. The antagonism creates a very messy situation as the two main characters try to keep their love in the midst of this huge conflict.

The conflict is full of injustice as the protestants receive support from the British army something that angers the Catholics fueling the war. The element of revenge also comes in when pat gets the news that his father is counted as a terrorist throwing him into bitterness and a thirst for revenge.

It has been uniquely created bringing out the themes of love, conflict, and betrayal from the events covered by the story. The author has given his readers a masterpiece.

White Rose, Black Forest

White Rose, Black Forest was published in 2018 making it the third book by the Irish born author Eoin Dempsey. It is set during the Second World War period when trust is something that is almost impossible to offer to anyone. Two strangers find themselves in a paradox on trusting each other.

Franka Gerber is at a point of having no reason to live after the regime of Adolf Hitler has swept through her land and worst of taken away her family leaving her all alone. While in the middle of all this she comes across a hurt man wearing the uniform of the regime that has stripped her off everything. However, despite this happening, she decides to help the man and learn more of him in the process. The bond between the two develops, and soon she discovers that he is not whom he seems to be from his uniform.

They join hands to on a mission that could cripple their lives, but they are determined to bring to an end to the war that has already ravaged her land. Matters escalate as she unravels more to the war that is at its peak putting her and the stranger in grave danger. The author paints a clearer picture of the nature of this war pointing out the difficulties that were present and in detail the rebellion that existed against the Nazi regime that had a huge impact on the war.

The author has developed a great story on the fighting for what seemed right to the characters and facing the fear since the regime had a significant control of the region. He also incorporates the issue of love, trust and second chances to his characters for this book. He shows the reader the true heroes that received no recognition nor medal despite their enormous contribution.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eoin Dempsey

Leave a Reply