Book Notification

Eric Blehm Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Owl Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Last Season (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Only Thing Worth Dying For (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fearless (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legend (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest White (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hailing from California in the United States, the American writer Eric Blehm has been writing for a long time now, having made a name for himself writing nonfiction accounts of real-life heroes and their military endeavors. Along with this he would also write children’s stories, making for quite a contrast within his work, thus ensuring his status as one of the most versatile authors currently working to date. Known for his action packed style, he has shown an ability and talent for getting right to the heart of the subject, showing what it really is that makes his subjects tick, allowing the reader to gain an insight into who they are as real people. Avoiding the pitfalls of such a field, he ensures to show their humanity beneath their jobs and line of work, allowing the readers to truly understand them as human beings with fully three dimensional personalities, and not simply being defined by the jobs that they do. This means understanding them on a psychological level, comprehending the toll that it takes and the sacrifice that they’ve made over the years, whilst not forgetting to celebrate them at the same time. Gifted with a distinctive perspective, he also brings his own insight to them and their stories, allowing them to tell the truth, something which he’ll continue to do for quite some time to come.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1968 on the 3rd of November, the future author to be Eric Blehm would be born and raised within the vicinity of San Gabriel in California, where he would grow up with an affinity for both reading and writing. He would then nurture this over the years, putting pen to paper on numerous occasion, speaking his mind whenever he possibly could, all of which allowed him to develop and refine his voice as a writer. In time he would also go on to graduate from high school and higher education, also allowing him to develop himself as an author.

Working as a journalist prior to becoming a full-time author, he would gain some insight into writing for a mass-market, whilst also developing his skills telling someone else’s story. This he would continue in 1999 when he would follow an elite Army Ranger unit, as he would keep pace with them throughout the course of a training mission, him being the first journalist to do so. Currently still writing to this very day, he continues to put out work at a regular and consistent pace, living in southern California with his wife and their children.

Writing Career

Bringing out his first novel in 2001 he would make his debut writing alongside other writers, writing about such subjects as ‘Backpacking in California’ and later snowboarding with ‘P3’ in 2003. All of this would amount to a highly fulfilling backlog of work, leading to the writer that he currently is today who, whilst not writing any series as such, still works at creating stand-alone titles on extremely specific titles. Most of these subjects largely includes writing about the military, showing an understanding of what the armed forces go through whilst they’re posted abroad.

Examining what goes on in countries such as Afghanistan and Iraq, he was one of the journalists who would gain first hand experience in the ‘War on Terror’. Embedded deep within the action he would see up close what really went on with many of the armed forces that were posted and deployed overseas there. Not just dedicating his life to telling these stories of those who serve, he has also produced a number of different children’s books as well. All of this leads to him being one of the most truly versatile authors currently working, something that will continue on into the foreseeable future, as he doesn’t show signs of stopping any time soon.


First brought out through the ‘Crown Publishing’ and the ‘Penguin’ outlets, this would initially be released in 2015 on the 28th of April to much acclaim. Working entirely as a stand-alone, this would follow one man and his squad during the Vietnam War, really getting a feel for the time and the period setting. Sparing no expense, it really brings out the humanity of such a trying ordeal, allowing the reader to really gain some perspective on the story.

This would be an nonfiction account of Roy Benavidez and his special forces team, recounting a period of time set during the Vietnam War. Set in 1968 on the 2nd of May, it would take a look at a single mission whereby they were planning to prove that the Ho Chi Minh Trail in Cambodia was being used to supply troops through supposedly neutral Cambodian territory. They would do this by being deployed there covertly, all the while taking evidence, whilst also ensuring the safety of the squad and not alerting others as to their presence. How did they come across the truth? Did everyone make it out safely? What really happened to the legend?

The Last Season

Brought out through the ‘Harper Perennial’ publishing house this time, this would also be a stand-alone title, this being released in 2007 on the 30th of January. Also being a stand-alone title, this deals with something a bit closer to home for Eric Blehm, as he deals with a story set in rural America. With a character study that really incorporates a definite sense of personality, it manages to bring the great outdoors of America to life.

Set within the rural expanse of the Sierra Nevadas, this follows the trail of one Randy Morgenson, a National Park Service ranger who was more comfortable outdoors than he was with other people. Then, after a total of 28 seasons on the job, he simply fails to answer his radio call one morning, leaving others to question what happened to him. What follows is the story of a man who found himself at one with nature, whilst attempting leave no trail behind in his wake. Where did he go? Can he be found? Who really took their departure in the last season?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eric Blehm

Leave a Reply