Book Notification

Eric Red Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Joe Noose Books

Publication Order of The Men Who Walk Like Wolves Books

The Guns of Santa Sangre (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wolves Of El Diablo (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Containment (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Stand so Close (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Waits Below (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Knuckle (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Collections

Stopping Power (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dark Delicacies: Fear(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shroud 11(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cemetery Dance: Issue 71(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edge of Sundown: Tales of Horror in the Wild West(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Eric Red is a screenwriter, director, and author. As an author, he is the writer of The Men Who Walk Like Wolves series and teh Joe Noose series. He has also written numerous standalone novels.

Red wrote some well-known films during his career. He was the screenwriter of the film The Hitcher which is one of the most popular horror movies of all-time with a long run on cable. The movie made picking up a hitchhiker into a terrifying ordeal and probably stopped a lot of people from picking someone up ever again. Eric followed this one up with another cult classic, Near Dark. The Kathryn Bigelow film starred Bill Paxton and Lance Henriksen alongside Jenny Wright and Adrian Pasdar.

Eric was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He had a great interest in film and storytelling so he attended the AFI Conservatory, a private not-for-profit graduate film school in the Hollywood Hills district of Los Angeles, and graduated from there in 1983. His AFI thesis script was The Hitcher which ended up becoming the major motion picture. The film was actually remade in 2007 starring Sean Bean, Sophia Bush and Zachary Knighton; with Red working as a consultant.

He made his directorial debut with Cohen and Tate in 1987. He would go on to direct many more films. His best known directorial effort is probably 100 Feet starring Famke Jansen and Bobby Canavale. That film has been described as a Hitchcokian thriller with a unique brand of personal psychological torture.

Finally, Red made his way to writing in 2011 when he released his first novel, Don’t Stand So Close. He has always tackled genre throughout his career and that continues in the world of writing. His Noose series is in the Western genre and is quite original as he mixes modern pacing with the type of gore that you would find in the classic Western.

Noose is the first book in the Joe Noose Western series of books. The book introduces us to Joe Noose, a bounty hunter. The world of bounty hunters is known to be cutthroat and everyone out for themselves, but Noose is one of the more honest ones out there. That isn’t saying much though because the other bounty hunters will frame and stab people in the back. That’s exactly what they’ve done to Joe in this book. These men have framed Joe for a murder that they committed and now have made sure that Joe’s face is all over the Wanted posters. Their plan is to hunt Joe down and collect the reward money, but Joe has other ideas. He thinks this is his bounty, his reward, and he’s willing to make it their funeral in order to get it.

The Joe Noose Western series continues with Hanging Fire. Throughout his career as a bounty hunter, Joe has never met an outlaw like Bonny Kate Valence. Bonny is a notorious female gunslinger who is just as beautiful as she is dangerous, with a criminal record longer than most other outlaws. Valence has a date with the hangman, but in order to get there she needs to be brought in alive. That’s where Joe comes in. Joe is tasked with bringing her in alive while Bonny has her former posse out for vengeance against her as well as a vile ex-lover. Joe’s life is on the line if he wants to keep his prisoner alive and bring her in.

The Guns of Santa Sangre is the first book in The Men Who Walk Like Wolves series. The book follows a group of hired guns who are the very best at what they do and what they do is leave bodies behind. Their latest job is unlike anything they’ve taken on before and it will take not only all of their skills, but their courage as well. They’ll also need some special bullets. This is because what they are after isn’t outlaws, but werewolves. There is a pack of bloodthirsty wolfmen who have taken over a small Mexican village and the only hope that these villagers have are these hired guns. It will be three men with six-shooters facing off under a full moon against a gang of snarling monsters with ripping claws and tearing fangs.

The Men Who Walk Like Wolves series continues with The Wolves of Diablo. The series picks up when three outlaws rob a Federal steam train in the badlands of El Diabo. They are after a fortune in silver bars, but they have bigger issues when a savage pack of wolves attack the train. The wolves are lead by a savage werewoman who is hungry for revenge on the men who killer her brother. The outlaws find themselves trapped on a railroad in the middle of the desert in a fight against a dangerous gang of werewolves.

A unique book by Red is called Strange Fruit. This book is a whodunit mystery that takes place in a carnival freakshow. The carnival has come to town and soon after, a local teenage boy is found brutally murdered. The police are looking at the sideshow freaks as the prime suspects. However, the local sheriff investigation leads him to find that things are not all that they seem. The real freak is someone much more dangerous and it will be the surprise of his life when he figures out who it is.

Red is also the author of Containment, a graphic novel with artists Nick Stakal. The book sees a manned NASA ship millions of miles from earth with the passengers in cryogenic hypersleep pods. Something goes wrong that takes the hibernating astronauts and turns them into brain eating zombies. There are only a few uninfected astronauts who will have to fight off a ship full of undead astronauts.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eric Red

Leave a Reply