Book Notification

Eric Thomson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ashes of Empire Books

Imperial Sunset (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Imperial Twilight (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Imperial Night (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Imperial Echoes (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Imperial Ghosts (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Constabulary Casefiles Books

The Warrior's Knife (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Colonial Murder (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dirty and the Dead (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Peril So Dire (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Decker's War Books

Death Comes But Once (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cold Comfort (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fatal Blade (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Howling Stars (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Black Sword (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
No Remorse (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hard Strike (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Ghost Squadron Books

We Dare (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Intent (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Die Like the Rest (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fear No Darkness (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Siobhan Dunmoore Books

No Honor in Death (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Path of Duty (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Like Stars in Heaven (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Victory's Bright Dawn (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Without Mercy (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
When the Guns Roar (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Dark and Dirty War (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Stormy Seas (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Eric Thomson is the pen name used by a Canadian author.

Eric is a former Canadian soldier who ended up spending more years serving in a uniform than he originally anticipated. He served in the Infantry of the Regular Army as well as the Army Reserve, the Armoured Corps. He also worked for several years as an information technology executive for the Canadian government. He eventually left that behind to do writing full-time.

Eric has always been a huge reader of books in the history, military fiction and science fiction genre for all his life. He also went through the recommended Army reading list quickly when he was younger and still goes back to the classics to get inspired. Years ago, he finally put his own fingers to the keyboard and started writing military science fiction stories of his own with what he describes as a ‘definite space opera slant’. He used many of his own experiences serving as a soldier to provide inspiration for his stories as well as the characters in them.

When he’s not busy writing, he can be found pursuing his other hobbies. These include scuba diving, hiking, and photography. He loves to share these passions with his wife, who has always been his number one fan.

Death Comes But Once is the first novel in the Decker’s War series by Eric Thomson. If you have been searching for some new science fiction stories to devour, check this one out!

The main character in this story is Zack Decker. The only thing that he ever wanted in his life was to fight as a Marine Pathfinder. However, his temper was proving to be problematic. He also had a resentment for officers that made a career out of the military. It ended up costing him quite a bit.

He was forced to go into early retirement. He had been married, but his wife left him a long time ago. Zack finds himself without a job, or friends, or a future. The sergeant was so depressed by all of this that he went into the bottle and stayed there as often as he could. Without anything to tie him down, he would go from different planet to different planet, searching for some reason that would give him the impetus to continue living when all previous reasons to live had left.

Then on one fateful day, he goes into a bar that happens to be owned by an old pal from the Marines. The friend offers to help him, and Zack accepts help because he has no other place to hide after being on the run from killing a cop. The cop was corrupt, but Decker doubts very much that the fact matters to the law.

Perhaps it would have been better if he had surrendered to the militia or headed for the hills or found some other place to hunker down. But he found himself being persuaded by his buddy and before he knew it, he had signed on as the security officer for a starship. The owners of the ship were dubious and so were the crew.

Right away he finds himself doing things for the new employer. Curiosity had always been his failing, and it isn’t too long before he’s on the run again. He’s got a shadow government organization behind him and has a secret in his hands powerful enough to take down the Commonwealth. It’s a secret that many holding it would be killed for, and there are people following him that want to make certain that he does die for it.

However, they forgot that Decker’s background means that he can still fight like one of the Few. Will they risk taking him on just to ensure that the secret stays mum? Read the first novel in this series to find out!

Cold Comfort is the second novel in the Decker’s War series by Eric Thomson. If you thought the first book in this series was interesting, check out the second installment!

When it comes to being a Marine Pathfinder, you should never really mess with them. Especially in the case of one who has been retired against their will. Zack Decker only wanted people to leave him alone so he could live in peace with the woman that he loved. He also wanted to make up for lost time, but the people who were against him could not resist the chance to go after their vendetta.

At one stage, he was doing a job hauling cargo across space. The next moment he was captured by pirates and on his way for the worlds beyond the Coalsack nebula, destined to be sold into captivity. The only thing is, Marines do not make for good slaves.

Decker was thrilled to show those against him the reason why they should have killed him instead of keeping him alive. Now, left alive, he’s on his way back and he is out for blood. Revenge is cold comfort, but it’s better than nothing. He’s one of the Few, and if they’ve forgotten, he’s happy to remind them.

What will happen? Cold Comfort will have you turning the pages to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eric Thomson

Leave a Reply