Book Notification

Erica Bauermeister Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The School of Essential Ingredients (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Joy for Beginners (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Art of Mixing (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scent Keeper (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Two Persons (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

500 Great Books By Women (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Let's Hear It for the Girls (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
House Lessons (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Erica Bauermeister is an American author of nonfiction, memoir, literature, and fiction books. She’s also a New York Times bestselling author of four books, including The School of Essential Ingredients and The Lost Art of Mixing and Joy for Beginners. Bauermeister has also coauthored 500 Great Books by Women, a novel recognized for its utter brilliance and focus on women empowered. Before she started writing fulltime, Bauermeister was a writing and literature teacher at the University of Washington. Currently, she lives in Port Townsend, where she continues to churn well-thought-out literature pieces.

The School of Essential Ingredients

The School of Essential Ingredients is a cooking class story that features eight Students. Lilian’s restaurant holds a cooking class every Monday night after the restaurant closes. Here, eight students gather and experiment with more than meats and vegetables. The students include Antonia, an Italian designer who wants to get some helpful tips to help him adapt to life in the US. There is Claire, a young mother who seems overwhelmed by her family demands, and Tom, a man who is still mourning the loss of his wife. The other notable character is Chef Lillian, a woman who has a special connection with all things food. Thanks to her skill, Chef Lillian helps her students create flavorful dishes and acquire skills that go beyond the kitchen.

While the students in Lilian’s class come for different reasons, the power of food brings them together. Lilian takes her students through various topics ranging from how to handle stress to what to do to get rid of loneliness. From her teachings, it is clear that Lilian’s wisdom goes beyond the kitchen. In a lush and decadent language, Lilian lets the reader into her classroom. Each chapter is told in one of the student’s points of view, which makes it easy to highlight their pasts as well as reasons for taking the cooking class.

Lilian is a lovable character, and her intricate understanding of food and its power to comfort and heal is evident right from the start. It is exciting how she waits eagerly for each of her students to be transformed through food. While most, if not all, of Lilian’s students, comes with enough baggage, somehow, they seem to be doing much better by the end of the story. Just like ingredients in a recipe, the characters’ lives intertwine as they get to know each other. The unity among them, in the end, brings out the magic that arises where good food is involved.

This is a culinary book that comes with a touch of fairyland and just the right dose of romance. Love is one of the themes highlighted here as a key ingredient of life and cooking. Food is also identified as a touchstone and means to community, seduction, and sustenance. Join Lilian’s students as they learn how to transform ordinary ingredients into dishes loaded with love. The text is beautiful, and the titbits about the student’s lives add some spice and flair to the story.

The School of Essential Ingredients is a perfect read if you enjoy cooking. Even if you do not know much about food, this book will help you understand the secret seduction of spices when added to food in the right proportions. The story will also draw your attention to the many ways food is used to show love. The book is about 250 words making it perfect if you are in the mood for a quick read.

Joy for Beginners

Joy for Beginners tells the story of Kate, a woman recovering from cancer. In a party where six of her friends are gathered to celebrate her recovery, Kate challenges her friends to do one thing that has always terrified them. To serve as an example, Kate chooses to go water rafting on the Grand Canyon. The only condition is that if Kate takes this risk, her friends must accomplish one difficult, new, or scary task in the following year.

The challenges set are not challenging to achieve. For example, Caroline, a book store owner who has recently gone through divorced, is challenged to dispose of the books her husband left. This will create some space for a new life. Daria, a restless potter who doesn’t appreciate her talent, is required to mold bread loaves so that she can get rid of the damage done by her overcritical mother. Ava, a woman who had difficulties going to see Kate in the hospital because this reminded her of the mother she lost to cancer, is challenged to go for a sixty-mile breast cancer walk. While these are pretty standard challenges, the characters are also expected to search deep within themselves and find the things holding them back.

Just like the characters, several questions will run through your mind as you enjoy these stories. What does it mean to live? Are there habits you need to overcome to reach your goals? What are your greatest fears? By the end of the story, you will discover that the small things we struggle with indicate the deep issue that we have buried in our subconscious. While this book may not transform your life, you can be sure that it will change the way you think. Unfortunately, most of us let the voices in our heads prevent us from scaling to great heights or do things we enjoy.

Joy for Beginners is a deep and satisfying read that focuses on the celebration of life. With striking moments and tangible descriptions, the author lets the reader into the lives of women determined to change their lives. The author explores loss, sadness, and betrayal in a way that will leave you breathless. The sad bits are tempered with joy, hope, and friendship, meaning that the grief will not overwhelm you. This book is divided into sections, with each character taking their segment. While this style makes each of the chapters read like a mini-novel, the narration is flawless, and the book comes together beautifully. It’s an excellent book that everyone can enjoy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Erica Bauermeister

Leave a Reply