Book Notification

Essalieyan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sacred Hunt Books

Hunter's Oath (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunter's Death (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The authors recommend that readers make sure to read The Sun Sword series before the fourth novel of The House War series.

Publication Order of Sun Sword Books

The Broken Crown (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Uncrowned King (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shining Court (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sea of Sorrows (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Riven Shield (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sun Sword (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of House War Books

Publication Order of Essalieyan Chronicles Books

Echoes (By: Michelle West) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Huntbrother (By: Michelle West) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Ospreys (By: Michelle West) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Weapon (By: Michelle West) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warlord (By: Michelle West) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Memory of Stone (By: Michelle West) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Birthnight (By: Michelle Sagara) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gifted (By: Michelle Sagara) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
For the Love of God (By: Michelle Sagara) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunger (By: Michelle Sagara) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of a Change (By: Michelle Sagara) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

he “Essalieyan” series written by author Michelle West is made up of “The House War” series, “The Sacred Hunt” pair of novels, and “The Sun Sword” series (which ended after six books). “The Sacred Hunt” series happens both concurrently and before “The House War” series while “The Sun Sword” series happens between the two series.

The first three books in the “The House War” series should be read before reading “The Sun Sword” novels. The novel “Skirmish” is the first book that comes after the “Sun Sword” books.

The series began being published in the year 1995 with the release of “Hunter’s Oath”, which is book one of “The Sacred Hunt” series.

“The Broken Crown” is the first novel in the “Essalieyan” series and was released in the year 1997. The Dominion, which was once split in two by some savage clan wars, has kept a sort of peace within its own border. This is since that time long ago when Leonne clan had the magic of the Sun Sword, with this power, it was able to take reign over all five of the noble clans.

Treachery hits the very core of Dominion as a pair that were never meant to rule. One is a General that is highly skilled, while the other is a master of magical arts. They both seek to take the crown, and to do so, they plan on killing everyone that has Leonne blood in them.

The books in this series make up some people’s favorite fantasy series. Fans of the novel enjoy this series, as it is the kind of women that are in this world. They are strong in many different ways, as are the men too. The ending of this first book has quite the powerful ending that adds to the beautiful and lyrical prose found in the novel. There is a fascinating world built in the book.

“The Uncrowned King” is the second novel in the “Essalieyan” series and was released in the year 1998. That uneasy peace that was formed within the borders of the Dominion was ruined when forces full of treachery took the crown by killing every member of Clan Leonne, which was in power.

Meanwhile, in a neighboring empire, there is the final heir to the throne in the form of a young man that was not ever meant to rule. He has to prove that he is worthy to take the crown as his own. This man has to do it as the killers of his family and their evil allies are planning his doom.

Readers feel that this is one of their favorite series, with Michelle West being a favorite writer. It is a series that they keep close at hand for when they really want to have a good reading experience. Fans of the novel found this to be a well written story. Readers found themselves tearing up at the very end of the book. Some enjoy the voice of this author, which is on display in this book, they have never read anything like it.

“The Shining Court” is the third novel in the “Essalieyan” series and was released in the year 1999. The Dominion. Anyone allied with the Shining Court demons are fearing the bargain that they made. The kialli see betrayal as simply a way of life, and any action made was just a way to get them greater power. As Fesitival of the Moon gets nearer, the demon kin start to attack those in Tor Leonne. What threatens them more is not just their presence, but the gift they are given for the upcoming Festival, which are masks created by kialli. Magic and knowledge possessed by the best of the Dominon’s Widan could not figure out what trap was held within the masks. The time to figure it out and avoid it is running short.

The Empire. Armies are gearing up to go to war. Before they take the fight to Dominion, a Seer named Jewel Aterafin has to follow her very own destiny. This is because of what she had seen in a vision, one that she could not deny. Jewel goes off with Avander to help her, and she abandons House Terafin the day before it faces the greatest peril it would ever see. She goes out on a journey into a darkness that is quickly overshadowing the lands of the mortals.

The Voyani. The moment comes for them to make the final stand against Lord of Hells (named Allasakar) because only they could protect the old knowledge and allow the old ways to keep on going. They are hounded by their own enemies, and they have one of their own greatest treasures that has been hidden within the Tor Leonne. Will they be able to withstand the Shining Court’s power?

This author is able to put some beautifully nuanced emotion in her work, which makes the people unique and memorable. Fans of the novel find that any weak book from this series is still a lot better than most other epic fantasy books that are out there. Some readers are unsure of what to do with their down time after they finish this and wait for the next one to be released.

“Sea of Sorrows” is the fourth novel in the “Essalieyan” series and was released in the year 2001. Ancient Powers have been awakened, and there are new allegiances being forged. The Dominion’s rightful heir wants to overthrow the guy that had his entire family killed. The Voyani journey off to the Sea of Sorrows so they can discover Man’s lost Cities. It is a voyage that is certain to end with a lethal confrontation with Lord of Night.

Some of the fans feel this is a world that just keeps on getting better the more of it they read. Fans of the novel found this was a great way to see the characters grow and how the back story for people develops. This one shows some friendships either develop or end in the book. Some readers cannot wait to get their hands on the next book, as they are hooked on these books and want more. These are some hard to put down books that are compelling the entire time that you read them.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Essalieyan

Leave a Reply