Book Notification

Esther and Jack Enright Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Esther and Jack Enright Mysteries Books

The Gaslight Stalker (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Night Caller (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prodigal Sister (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Slum Reaper (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Posing Playwright (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mercy Killings (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jubilee Plot (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Boys (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Esther and Jack Enright Mysteries book series is a well-known series of historical fiction, crime, and mystery novels. It is written by a reputed English-born Australian novelist named David Field. The series is comprised of a total of 8 books released between 2018 and 2019. David Field has set the novels’ plots in London at the end of the 19th century. Each and every novel of this series features the chief protagonists in the roles of Jack Enright and Esther Enright. Jack Enright is depicted as a young police officer living and working in London, while Esther Enright (Jacobs)is shown as a female sleuth. Later in the series, Jack Enright rises to the rank of Detective Sergeant and Esther continues to assist him in solving the mysterious cases from the sides. The two come across each other in the series’ first book and go on to indulge in a passionate relationship, thereby becoming husband and wife. They work as a team to solve cases of murder mysteries, burglaries, thefts, etc.

A large part of the series shows the two main characters trying to catch serial killers, who stalk the streets of London and prey on the innocent citizens. Readers in many countries have liked this series. They have appreciated the intriguing characters and the wonderful storylines. A number of critics have labeled the series as a must read for all the fans of mystery and thriller novels. Many others have regarded this series as an exciting new addition to the historical mystery genre. The fellow authors of David Field have praised his efforts in coming up with such exciting characters and original mysteries. They have praised his style of writing and the depiction of characters as well as the setups. It is believed that the series is perfect for all the fans of authors like Rory Clements, Antonia Hodgson, Sherlock Holmes, etc. Some of the essential characters mentioned by David Field in the books include Martha Turner, Detective Inspector Percy Enright, Oscar Wilde, Queen Victoria, and several others as well. This series has achieved fame as a traditional series of British detective that takes place in Victorian London. Every book of the series is packed with suspense, thrill, and intrigue that make the readers remain glued to the books from start to end.

David Field is a well-known author of crime and historical fiction stories. He gained a lot of popularity with his debut series featuring lady sleuth Esther Enright and her Detective Sergeant husband Jack Enright. Field was born in Nottingham. He completed his school education from Nottingham High School and then went on to obtain a Law degree. Following this, David Field worked for many years as a practitioner and academic in criminal law. He moved to Australia in 1989 and has been living there since then. When Field grew bored of his career in criminal law, he started writing historical fiction books as a means to escape the boredom. However, he did not publish any of his books until he came close to his retirement from criminal law practice. Instead of going for the conventional means to publish his novels, Field chose the digital publishing medium as it offered him a viable option. Currently, she resides in New South Wales along with his lovely wife, children, and grandchildren and spends works as a full-time writer.

A very exciting book of The Esther and Jack Enright Mysteries series written by author David Field is entitled ‘The Posing Playwright’. It was released in 2018 by the Sapere Books publication. This novel is set in London in the year 1895 and revolves around a trial that shocked the entire nation to its core. The main characters featured in the book include Oscar Wilde, Jack Enright, Percy Enright, and Esther Enright. Initially, it is shown that all the people of England become shocked to hear about the revelation that the celebrated Oscar Wilde has been labeled with the accusation of homosexuality. Oscar files a case in the court against the accuser and hopes to retrieve his character and respect. Shortly after, some disturbing information is found that involves many famous names from the country.

In order to prevent the scandalous information from getting revealed in the open court, the detective pair of Percy and Jack is asked to put an end to the scandal. Working in the Scotland Yard, the detectives already have their hands full. And with the recent disappearance of an important peer, the caseload on the department is stretched to its extremity. Esther finds herself bored with the domestic chores and decides to help Jack and Percy in the two investigations. She thinks that there might a connection between both the cases and tries to prove it. Jack & Percy also think that Esther’s help from the outside can prove quite beneficial in solving the cases. The three of them enter the seedy elements of the Victorian society in order to look for information regarding the cases. While doing so, they are vigilant enough to prevent any danger to their own lives.

Another excellent historical fiction novel penned in the series is entitled ‘The Jubilee Plot’. The Sapere Books released this novel also in 2018. This novel’s story takes place in 1897 and revolves around a sinister terrorist plot that overshadows Royal celebrations. The central characters of this book are depicted as Queen Victoria, Percy Enright, Esther Enright, Jack Enright, etc. The novel opens by depicting that Queen Victoria announces a Diamond Celebration on the occasion of completing record-breaking 60 years on the royal throne. At the time of the Golden Jubilee celebration 10 years ago, an assassination attempt on the Queen was prevented by the daring and skilled Metropolitan Police. Therefore, Queen’s security advisors suspect and fear that the culprits might think of laying a fresh attack on this year’s celebration.

The security advisors don’t want to take any chance with the Queen’s security. So, when they come across some disturbing information about the credibility of the Met, they hire Inspector Percy and Sergeant Jack to investigate about a possible source of corruption in the department. And it goes without saying that Esther also gets involved to investigate with the two gentlemen. The involvement proves too much for the Enrights as they land their lives in great danger as well as those of the 4 children of Jack & Esther. Now, they not only have to worry about the Queen’s safety, but also about the safety of their own family.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Esther and Jack Enright Mysteries

Leave a Reply