Book Notification

Esther Averill Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Cat Club Books

The Cat Club (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
The School for Cats (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jenny's Moonlight Adventure (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jenny's Adopted Brothers (1952)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jenny's Birthday Book (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jenny Goes to Sea (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon
How the Brothers Joined the Cat Club (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jenny's Bedside Book (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire Cat (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hotel Cat (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captains of the City Streets (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Cartier Sails the St. Lawrence (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon

Esther Averill
Esther Averill was a fiction author best known for her thirteen tales about the mild-mannered cat named Jenny Linsky and her friends. For decades, children in the United States waited eagerly for her captivating cat stories, and they were never disappointed. Averill began her writing career in 1923, and she went on to start her own publishing company in Paris. In 1941, the talented author decided to go back to the United States and work as a publisher with the New York Public Library. Averill wrote her first book in 1944, and until she died in 1992, she had 21 distinct works to her name.

The Fire Cat
The Fire Cat tells the story of Pickles, a young cat with big paws and even bigger dreams. Pickles wants nothing but to put his big paws to good use. However, his life, in the beginning, doesn’t have much to offer. Aside from chasing other small cats up trees, Pickles’ life is rather dull. Mrs. Goodkind is quick to notice that Pickles need a purpose and a home. Because she cannot offer this to pickles, Mrs. Goodkind gives him up. When he is adopted in the local firehouse, Pickle turns into an outstanding fire cat. It doesn’t take long for the young cat to learn the tricks that come with his new job. From jumping on fire trucks to helping extinguish fires, Pickle learns it all, and much more.

Young readers will have loads of fun as they cheer Pickles through his adventures. Pickles is finally happy with his life. He is now focused on rescuing others and helping the firefighters wherever possible. Thanks to his excellent work, the young cat gains respect from all the people around him. Pickle’s turnaround is admirable, and you cannot help but wish him the best in his job. Imagine also finding something you enjoy doing just like Pickles. Is this a worthwhile challenge that you should include in your life?

Thanks to its beautiful illustrations, the book is easy to follow even for the children who are just learning sounds, words, and sentences. The pink, orange, yellow, and olive-green colors are sure to brighten the kids’ day. Since this book was first published in 1960, the illustrations are not as polished and sleek as you find in modern children books. However, the book comes with a vintage cheer that many children will find hard to resist. The spontaneous and carefree life that Pickles enjoys will leave a wide smile on the readers’ faces.

Whether shared at home or read in a class setup, The Fire Cat has a lot to offer to young readers. Kids get to see what happens when they find their purpose. A restless cat who was previously grumpy turns into a hero once he finds something he loves. The same can also happen in the kids’ lives. For children who think their lives are boring, this book is a great way to encourage them to keep searching for their purpose. It is also perfect for kids who are keen to start reading on their own. The familiar words, short sentences, and simple concepts are perfect for a level one read. This is not to mean that adults cannot enjoy this book. There is something intriguing about a feline character who turns his life around by doing good for the community.

The School for Cats
The School for Cats stars Jenny Linsky, a little black cat from Greenwich Village. Jenny has never stepped into a classroom. When Captain Tinker sends Jenny to boarding school in the country, the young cat is a little scared. It is scary to be so far from home and around strangers who do not seem to understand her ways of life. However, Jenny has her red scarf with her, and she feels brave whenever she has it. Once Jenny is settled in, she takes off her signature red scarf only to be confronted by Pickles the Fire Cat.

Pickles is one mischievous cat known for chasing other small cats with his ladder and fire truck hook. When Pickles chases Jenny, the scared little cat runs away from school. The chase up the chimney and a night in the chimney are not what Jenny anticipated. However, when Jenny learns that running from the school would only make the Captain mad, she decides to stand up for herself. The newcomers to the school also give Jenny hope that everything will work out. When Pickles runs after Jenny again, he is surprised by her sudden change in character. It doesn’t take long for these two to become friends and enjoy loads of fun moments.

In this new school, Jenny makes a lot of new friends. She also learns that school can be fun when you have good friends beside you. Pickles, on the other hand, learns some manners. This is another intriguing story for young readers. Following this book, it is hard not to think about how things may be different for animals. The pets we have at home could have utterly different lifestyles, complete with friends and bullies, just like in the human kingdom. There is some old-time vibe in this story that makes it stand out. Parents who grew up reading this story often find comfort in re-reading it and reminiscing over the past.

The School for Cats is a cute little story that many children will love. Aside from the narrative, the author has included captivating red, yellow, and black illustrations and some silver birch beds. It is fun watching Jenny grow from an apprehensive and fearful cat to a brave one. Pickles also learns from his mistakes and grows into a character many kids will love. It is hard not to fall in love with Jenny and wish her the best. The writing is good, and the kids can enjoy reading this book with little, if any, help from their parents. If you are looking for an old-school kids’ story that is fun and comes with loads of important lessons, this book is ideal.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Esther Averill

Leave a Reply