Book Notification

Etgar Keret Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Kneller's Happy Campers (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cheesus Christ (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grab the Cuckoo by the Tail (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Todd (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Bus Driver Who Wanted To Be God & Other Stories (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gaza Blues (With: Samir El-Youssef) (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nimrod Flipout (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing Kissinger (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl on the Fridge (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Four Stories (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suddenly, a Knock on the Door (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fly Already (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Dad Runs Away with the Circus (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long-Haired Cat-Boy Cub (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Seven Good Years (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The New Uncanny(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sea of Azov(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tel Aviv Noir(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flash Fiction International(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Watchlist(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freeman's: Arrival(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freeman's Power(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Etgar Keret
Etgar Keret is a fiction and non-fiction author of Israeli origin. He is best known for his thought-provoking short stories as well as graphic novels that come with solid hidden truths. He is the Prime Minister’s literature award winner, and some of his works feature in the list of best short stories of all times. Keret’s books have been translated into more than thirty languages and remained in the best-sellers list for ages. Keret is also involved in scriptwriting for television and film. A short film he wrote came first place in the International Festival of Film Schools in Munich.
The Bus Driver Who Wanted to Be God & Other Stories

This is a collection of short stories that illuminate the not so apparent truths about life. The book consists of some of Keret’s best-selling stories in Missing Kissinger, Israel, Pipelines. The stories cover everything from a son’s first lesson from a father to a standoff involving soldiers in a Middle East conflict. One notable thing that is consistent with all the stories is the humor. Even where serious are concerned, the author delivers the intended message in tongue in cheek tone.

This collection starts with The Story about a Bus Driver Who Wanted to Be God. The story features a driver who is torn between mercy and justice when responding to a passenger. What follows is retribution until the end of the story. Other notable stories in the book include Pipes, where the narrator transforms himself into a giant pipe. In this state, he goes into heaven, a place reserved for misfits who never got a chance to be happy while on earth. The story comes with twisted allusions to the bible told humorously. The book ends with the story of people who commit suicide. The afterlife for such individuals, as described in this story, is nothing but bizarre.

The stories range in length from three to five pages. Notable characters throughout the book include the angel who could not fly, the Israeli ex-military man named Goodman, who is hired to kill a Texas minister, and visitors to Uzbekistan’s mouth of Hell. Most of the stories are told in the first person and are generally about people and the choices they make. The message that comes clear after reading all the stories is that you have no way of predicting the decisions people make. People make unpopular decisions all the time, and if these favor you, it purely by luck. People will always justify their choices, and you should never expect them to act a certain way.
The Bus Driver Who Wanted to Be God & Other Stories is a collection of brief yet intense stories of life. The author has done a great job of keeping the tales shockingly honest and painfully funny. Get to meet interesting characters who will drag you out of your comfort zone. There are no speed governors here as far as the pace is concerned, and the stories come without detours. Expect short, concise, and thought-provoking pieces that come with a good dose of dark humor.

The Seven Good Years
The Seven Good Years is a brilliant memoir covering the time between Etgar Keret’s son’s birth and the death of his father. The author highlights this as the best period of his life. While there were many things to worry about, the memories shared in this period are unforgettable, in a good way. Lev, Keret’s son, is born during a terror attack. Even though the odds were not in his favor, Lev survives and grows into a handsome young man. This is also the period that Keret’s father is diagnosed with cancer.

This memoir gives the reader a peek into Keret’s family and their way of life. You will get to hear from Lev, then a charming three-year-old who insists that he is a cat so he can be released from human responsibilities. Keret’s siblings, who have taken radically different paths, are also mentioned in the story. From the writing, you can tell that Keret does not approve of the choices that his siblings have made. That said, the family remains united, and the fact that Keret has writing and a young family to worry about means that he has little if any, time to deal with family drama.

Aside from the author’s sense of humor, the Israel setting gives this book quite an edge. There is just something about a place that comes with a complex history and extreme political and religious tensions that seem to go on for ages. The pressure results in conditions that are desperate but also laughable. Things have changed over the years, but the tensions can still be felt today.

In Keret’s style, this memoir is written in the form of vignettes. Keret gives an account of these seven years based on little moments that leave an impact on his life. Rather than a flowing spill all type of memoir, Keret only writes about the flashes that remain in his memory. From talks he had just before his son is born to the details of his father’s deteriorating health, Keret gives the audience snippets of his life.

The Seven Good Years is a brilliant memoir that is both hilarious and life-affirming. The memoir is set in contemporary Israel, where the author was born and spent a good portion of his adult life. The biography primarily focuses on Keret’s life in Israel, his family, including his father and siblings, the family history, and Keret’s experience as a writer. It is incredible how the author writes about dire situations he and the family went through in such a humorous way. If you are looking for a non-fiction piece that will leave you in stitches and teach you a thing or two about Israel, this memoir is ideal. It is also a great opportunity to know this best-selling author better. The biography is short, just like the rest of Keret’s writing, and you can enjoy it in one sitting.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Etgar Keret

Leave a Reply