Book Notification

Eva Björg Ægisdóttir Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Forbidden Iceland Books

The Creak on the Stairs (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Girls Who Lie (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Shadows (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Can't See Me (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Boys Who Hurt (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Eva Björg Ægisdóttir is a mystery fiction author from Agren best known for her debut novel “The Creak on the Stairs.” She was born and raised in a small town known as Akranes just half an hour outside the capital of Iceland Reykjavik, which is the setting for much of her novel. As a teen, she went to college and graduated with a Sociology degree and then moved to Trondheim, Norway, which is where she earned her masters majoring in Globalization.

Bjorg has said that writing is something that she has done for many years having started as a preteen. As a child, she was always fascinated by the art of storytelling and it was not long before she was penning half finished stories in diaries and notebooks. During her teenage years, she was the winner of a short story competition. She got into the public consciousness in Iceland when she was the winner of the Svartfuglinn competition in 2018. It was a competition that allowed new authors to submit their original manuscripts that had been founded by Ragnar Jonasson and Yrsa Sigurdardottir that were then working with Verold the venerable publishing house.

In 2015, Eva Bjorg moved back to Iceland and this was the time she decided she was going to be serious in writing her novel. But as a mother who held a nine to five job, it was going to be very difficult to write. She quit her demanding john and went to work as a flight attendant where she knew she was guaranteed time off. Within nine months, she was done writing the manuscript for her debut novel. “The Creak on the Stairs” made its debut in 2020 and a few months later, she began working on her second novel. Bjorg still intends to make writing a full time career and while she started writing her novels in Icelandic, she now has all of her novels translated into English for an overseas audience. She still hopes to become a full time author that writes whenever and whatever she wants. Eva was the winner of the Blackbird Award in 2018 which is also hosted by Ragnar Jonasson and Yrsa Sigurdardottir who are some of the most prolific authors in Iceland.

In Eva Björg Ægisdóttir’s “The Creak on the Stairs” a woman’s body is discovered dumped in a lighthouse in Akranes, a small town near the capital Reykjavik. Investigations soon reveal that she was not a stranger in town as initially believed and Elma the Chief Investigating Officer takes charge of the case. She is back in town after her relationship went to the dogs. She now has to team up with Hordur and Saevar to investigate the case. A few days into the investigation, they learn about a shocking secret concerning the dead woman that may have reverberated from the past and caused her death. But as the three detectives make all manner of discoveries in quick succession, they unearth long hidden crimes that leave their community in shock. The townspeople have shattered memories and it seems as if investigating some of the crimes is like sifting through rubble. They have to find justice and increasingly deal with vicious threats against their own lives. The novel is a complex and demanding police procedural that has one of the most interesting detectives. Elma is dauntless in her work and is not afraid to ask the tough questions. She wants to know everything about the people that were murdered and this sees her go back as far as three decades to collect information.

In the novel “Girls Who Lie” by Eva Björg Ægisdóttir, Marianna is a single mother that goes missing from home. She leaves behind what everyone believes is a sucide note and most people believe she took her own life. But seven months later, someone stumbles upon her body on the Grabok fields and it is clear that she had been killed. When she had gone missing, Hekla, her fifteen year old daughter had been placed with a foster family who treated her so well though the family could be hiding something sinister beneath the facade. The story then flashes back fifteen years to the past when a new mother starts a broken and odd relationship that ends in unspeakable tragedy. Chief investigative officer Elma and her colleagues dig into the case though the more they dig, the more the suspects they find, and the more complex it gets. They soon unearth the truth about a girl that was never like any other. “Girls Who Lie” is a tantalizing and chilling twisty tale that is at once a sophisticated police procedural and tension filled psychological thriller.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eva Björg Ægisdóttir

One Response to “Eva Björg Ægisdóttir”

  1. Dennis Gaschler: 3 years ago

    I am a 75 year old senior living in Denver, Colorado! I really enjoyed your first book in the Forbidden Iceland Series and have just started your second book. Are you planning to write additional books in the series and if so, when will you hope to publish them? Do you have a website for your books? I see that you have three children…enjoy them because they grow up way too fast! I am sure others have told you that! I hope that you and your family are well!



Leave a Reply