Book Notification

Eva Gates Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lighthouse Library Mystery Books

By Book or By Crook (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Booked for Trouble (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reading Up a Storm (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spook in the Stacks (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Something Read, Something Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Read and Buried (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Death Long Overdue (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Ever After (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death By Beach Read (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Knells and Wedding Bells (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stranger in the Library (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Eva Gates is one of the pen names that cozy mystery author Vicki Delany uses. Delany is one of Canada’s most prolific crime writers who incorporates many different things into her works. She worked as a systems analyst and took an early retirement and enjoys living a rural life in Ontario, Canada. It was around this same time that her new career as a writer started and has written many novels as part of series, but also some stand alone works as well. Under this pen name of hers, she writes the “Lighthouse Library Mystery” series which is a bookish cozy mystery series that stars Lucy Richardson, who is a librarian. For Delany, the series was a joy to write about and she thanks her fans for supporting her characters in the series.

“By Book or By Crook” is the first novel in the “Lighthouse Library Mystery” series that was released in the year 2015. For a decade now, Lucy has pored over rare tomes filled with literature for Harvard’s Library and she has enjoyed doing so. What she has not enjoyed though is the demand of family’s social circle or her kind of engagement to her dad’s law partner’s son. Lucy’s decade long relationship goes belly up and she knows that her life is now in need of a much required rewrite. Neither her nor her sort of fiance wanted to take the next step, but at the same time, she does not really feel all that great about ending things with him. She contacts her aunt Ellen and hopes that the pair can have fun together in the sun of Outer Banks (located in North Carolina); she hopes that the treats that come from her cousin’s Josie’s bakery will help her too, to clear her head. It turns into an unexpected opportunity when Ellen gets her involved in the lighthouse’s library found on Bodie Island. It is her favorite place in the world and so she is thrilled to land a job here. A priceless first edition written by Jane Austen is stolen and the library board’s chair is killed. The two events make Lucy feel as though she is part of a real life mystery story, and is not sure yet if it will have a happy ending or not.

Fans of the novel found that they liked Lucy right off the bat. Even though some knew who the killer was, it was still a fun ride to see if they were right, because it could have been a couple other people. No matter what, good or bad, the characters will evoke a reaction out of you and you will either like the people or want to smack them around some. Just like in real life. This adds to the real life atmosphere that Delany was able to create in the novel. The novel will pull you in and keep you reading into the morning. You will want to know what happens next; fans will even want to read more and more novels in the series.

“Booked for Trouble” is the second novel in the “Lighthouse Library Mystery” series that was released in the year 2015. Lucy Richardson has finally found her stride as the librarian and resident of Bodie Island Lighthouse. Lucy likes to spend evenings in the company of the local book club, walk on the beach, bond with Charles (the library’s cat and is named after the author Charles Dickens), and spend time with two eligible men. Her socialite mother, Suzanne, with the plan to drag her back to Boston so that her engagement can continue to the man that both Suzanne and Lucy’s dad picked for her. Suzanne is not so supportive or approving of Lucy’s job as a librarian either. Suzanne picks a public fight with a former classmate of hers name Karen Kivas. Karen winds up dead outside the library the following day. This makes Suzanne suspect number one. It is up to Lucy to catch the killer, before her mother goes down for the crime.

Fans of the novel like that Gates is able to take a locale that other writers have set novels in and completely make it her own. It has wonderful characters, including a great main character for a cozy mystery in Lucy. She is a great character that more of her is being explored. The novel even includes a gripping mystery was and a surprising reveal as to who the killer was; you never really get a grasp as to who the actual killer is until the end. This novel was found to be more captivating than even the first one was.

“Reading Up A Storm” is the third novel in the “Lighthouse Library Mystery” series that was released in the year 2016. Lucy is ready for reading with Charles after a party that went well at the Lighthouse Library. Her rest and relaxation is short lived though when she sees lights guiding a boat to crash into the coast. The two sailors survive, but one of them turns up dead a few days later. Lucy is once again in a murder investigation, and is wading through different suspects (who all had reasons to want the deceased killed). She feels that finding the killer is not going to be so easy this time out.

Fans of the novel were captivated throughout the story and it was amazing to experience all of the twists and turns that the novel has to it. You do not even see who the killer is, nor are they on your radar until then. It evokes some great emotions, and some wished that there was more to this series than there is. The writing here really flows and makes for an easy read, but at the same time you do not know who the killer is until the end. The novel is a well crafted mystery that is one of the best examples of the cozy mystery genre. The cast here is believabale and interesting, they feel real and act like actual real people do. All of the novels fans are unable to put them down, they must find out who the killer is, even if it means they miss their sleep.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eva Gates

3 Responses to “Eva Gates”

  1. JuJU: 3 weeks ago

    I absolutely love the Lighthouse Mysteries!
    I love trying to figure out who did it! I find myself wondering if you (Ms. Gates) know from the start of the book who that will be or if the guilty person comes to light as you write. Because I think it is one person and then it turns out to be someone else! You make me want to live in the Outer Banks and go to the Lighthouse Library, and be friends with Lucy and Stephanie and Grace and Josie. Thank you! These are some of my all time Favorites!

  2. B Owens: 9 months ago

    I have read several of The Lighthouse Mysteries and have enjoyed every one. It is a challenge to try and figure out the guilty. I intend to read the whole series. Thank you so very much for the wonderful stories.

  3. Dr MJ Hardman: 3 years ago

    Looking forward to the next book in the series.


Leave a Reply