Book Notification

Eve Mallow Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Eve Mallow Mystery Books

Mystery on Hidden Lane (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Seagrave Hall (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at the Old Mill (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at the Abbey Hotel (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at the Church (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Magpie Lodge (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Lovelace Manor (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Southwood School (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Farfield Castle (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Saltwater Cottages (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery on Meadowsweet Grove (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Eve Mallow Mysteries (Series by Clare Chase)
Author Clare Chase writes the “Eve Mallow” series of mystery novels. Eve Mallow is an American obituary writer and an amateur sleuth in Suffolk, UK.

The idea for her came about after Clare listed to this fascinating interview with Margalit Fox, who fulfilled the same role for the New York Times. It got Clare thinking about the unique insight that obituary writers have to get into a dead person’s personality and how exactly they were viewed by other people. This seemed like the perfect profession for an amateur sleuth to have.

The Suffolk UK setting harks back to some of her happy childhood holidays. Her grandma used to live there, near the sea, and Gus (Eve’s dog) is based on her wire-haired dachshund, named Huw.

Saxford St. Peter is a fictional village Clare has created for the series. For it, she pinched elements of Walberswick, Blythburgh, and Dunwich.

“Mystery on Hidden Lane” is the first novel in the “Eve Mallow Mysteries” series and was released in 2020. Eve Mallow, seasoned obituary writer, has got a new assignment: tell the life story of Bernard Fitzpatrick, a famed musician. An opportunity to spend a few days in the quaint little village of Saxford St Peter, walking with Gus through the country lanes and meeting some new people seems much like a dream. However turns out that Bernard’s life was far less interesting than his death was. The day she shows up, news breaks about the charismatic cellist being the victim of a grisly murder. Could this sweet little English village be hiding a dark secret?

While Eve begins interviewing Bernard’s colleagues and friends, she learns that he had ruffled a few feathers. In fact, from his own staff at High Hose to the keepers of the Cross Keys Inn, there is hardly a person in the town that doesn’t have at least one reason to hate him. Could one of these friendly villagers be a cold-blooded killer?

Eve had hoped that Saxford St. Peter would be a perfect escape from her busy life in the city. However there’s darkness even in the most sunlit of settings. When there’s a second corpse found, Eve is definite that one of the people she’s met has to be the killer. She’s never done any detective work before, however is there something in her notes that could crack this case?

Eve is a perfect character, the setting is an ideal one, and the mysteries abound. It’s refreshing that Eve is a writer, since it helps explain why the villagers were so ready to open up to her. There are some wonderful twists and turns to this plot with a satisfying conclusion.

“Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage” is the second novel in the “Eve Mallow Mysteries” series and was released in 2020. Eve Mallow is enjoying life in sleepy Saxford St. Peter, until a mysterious murder lands right at her door.

Springtime in Saxford St. Peter, which means it’s time to listen to the birds, get back into the garden, and go for some walks in the woods. However for some, it is the season for murder.

Eve Mallow is relishing the more gentle pace of the village until there’s a new arrival which stirs everybody up. Ashton Foley has returned: a teenage tearaway turned interior designer for the stars. He is bad, mad, and dangerous to know, yet charming too, as Eve is able to testify, and every single house in Saxford has opened up its doors to him.

So when he is found killed in the woods close to his mom’s home, Apple Tree Cottage, there isn’t any shortage of suspects. A spurned lover? A jealous husband? Or did somebody from his previous life catch up with him? The cops quickly hit on a rather simple solution and they arrest his mom’s partner, Howard. Ashton always hated the guy, and he bears all of the marks of a recent fight. However Ashton’s mom, who is miles away in New Zealand, is convinced of his innocence, and gets Eve to help prove it.

Only one problem: Eve saw Howard sniffing around Apple Tree Cottage the morning of the murder, and she is pretty certain that he is guilty as well.

This one is filled with a fantastic cast of well detailed characters with plenty of twists and turns to keep readers interested. Eve is bold and clever, and while she does make some mistakes, she does a great job of rectifying them. Her no nonsense attitude with how she deals with people is rather endearing, as well.

“Mystery at Seagrave Hall” is the third novel in the “Eve Mallow Mysteries” series and was released in 2020. Eve’s first village to the local village fair. However amidst the stalls, tents, tables, and booths lurks something much darker. A mysterious fall means that Eve has a new case!

The charity fair at Seagrave Hall is an important date in the Saxford St. Peter calendar, an opportunity for the villagers to nose through the hose and grounds, cross paths with the famous and rich. Eve Mallow is especially excited by this year’s special guest: Verity Nye, an explorer that is engaged to the heir of the Hall. Eve loves Verity’s determination and is excited to meet her.

However when they talk, Verity hints about something troubling her. So after the festive mood gets tragically interrupted by Verity’s fall out of a third floor window. Eve cannot be certain that this is an appalling accident. Particularly when a small boy is claiming he saw somebody behind her.

Eve soon finds she is tasked with writing up Verity’s obituary. While she dusts her notebook off and starts up her interviews with Gus she realizes that she’s got a fine array of suspects in front of her. Could it be the distraught fiance, some corrupt charity manager, or jealous cousin Cora? And can Eve possibly figure it out before her questions cause this killer to turn on her?

Clare once more captures your attention and holds it throughout; she even makes you feel like you’re in the story, experiencing everything.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Eve Mallow Mystery

Leave a Reply