Book Notification

Evelyn Skye Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Crown's Game Books

The Crown's Game (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crown's Fate (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Circle of Shadows Books

Circle of Shadows (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cloak of Night (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Damsel (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Princess Private Eye (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hundred Loves of Juliet (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Year Ago in Spain (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

with Sandhya Menon, Roshani Chokshi
Three Kisses, One Midnight (With: Sandhya Menon,Roshani Chokshi) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Roshani Chokshi Collections

with Sandhya Menon, Roshani Chokshi
Three Kisses, One Midnight (With: Sandhya Menon,Roshani Chokshi) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sandhya Menon Collections

with Sandhya Menon, Roshani Chokshi
Three Kisses, One Midnight (With: Sandhya Menon,Roshani Chokshi) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Evelyn Skye is an American author who took the fantasy arena by storm when she published the first book in the ‘Crown’s Game’ series in 2016. The book brought a fresh take to the world of magic by whisking readers away to Russia and immersing them in a duel for survival between two powerful enchanters.


Evelyn Skye’s bestseller (The Crown’s Game’) did not fall into her lap fully formed. Rather, the Crown’s Game was the culmination of the several years Evelyn had spent immersed in the culture of Russian.

A former student of Stanford University where she got her degree in Russian Literature before moving on to Harvard Law School for her J.D, books have been a part of Evelyn Skye’s life for as long as she can remember.

As a young child, Evelyn remembers being consumed by ‘Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?’, a book written by Eric Carle’s. That was back in preschool when Evelyn needed a teacher to read her books for her.

By the time she was in elementary school, Evelyn was obsessed with ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’. She admits that her love of food had something to do with her obsession over that book, though she eventually fell in love with Roald Dahl as an author.

The fantasy genre began to take root in Evelyn’s heart around that time. She had a fascination for ‘The BFG’, ‘The Witches’ and any story that created a sense of awe and wonder in her.

High school was a time for enlightenment for the author. She took to British Literature with quite the fervor, the result of the many hours spent reading the likes of Shakespeare and Jane Austen.

Evelyn’s teachers encouraged their students’ literary curiosity. The author remembers attending an actual tea party at her teacher’s home. It was there that she was taught how to brew a proper cup of tea.

There are few other moments in the author’s life where she’s had the opportunity to celebrate her status as a book nerd in the company of other book nerds. Evelyn’s love for Russia was born during those days.

She had to read ‘Brothers Karamazov’, a Dostoevsky book, for her literature class. It was an eye-opener that left Evelyn wracked with curiosity over the country of Russia and its culture.

To pursue that curiosity, the budding author reached out to the online community and eventually became penpals with a kid from Russia. If that wasn’t enough, Evelyn began spending every waking hour of her free time delving into Russian literature.

The more she knew about that culture, the more she wanted to know. It was hardly a surprise when the author set her sights on a B.A. in Russian History and Literature from Stanford University.

Evelyn even took a trip to Russia in 2003, using the opportunity to garner firsthand knowledge about the Russian people and their culture. By the time Evelyn Skye sat down to write her Crown’s Game novels, she didn’t have that much research to do.

One assumes that the highlight of Evelyn Skye’s life is the day she was offered a job by the C.I.A. But a close second must be not only seeing her books on the shelves of bookstores but having them enjoy such a rich reception from fans of the fantasy genre.

Evelyn gets most of her writing done in the mid-morning hours. She eats a lot of snacks while she works at her kitchen table.

Besides reading and writing, Evelyn loves to dance. She isn’t sure whether or not she’s competent. But she has expressed a desire to put her hip hop classes to good use by going on ‘So You Think You Can Dance.’

+The Crown’s Game

As the threat of the Kazakhs and the Ottoman Empire draws closer, the Tsars are looking to Vika Andreyeva and Nikolai Karimov. The only two enchanters in Russia, Vika can turn ash into gold and bring the snow while Nikolai makes bridges and peers through walls.

The future of Russia will rest on the shoulders of whichever enchanter can win the Crown’s game. To choose the Imperial enchanter, Vika and Nikolai will be thrown into battle against one another.

The victor will rise to the position of the tsar’s most respected adviser while the loser must die.

For Vika, there’s no better boon than going to Saint Petersburg to prove her skills to the people in power. But for a girl raised on a tiny Ovchinin Island, killing another enchanter might be beyond Vika’s abilities, especially when Nikolai’s magic seems to pull at her.

Nikolai knows what the Crown’s Game means. The orphan knows he will never get another chance to shine on the grandest stages of them all. But Nikolai doesn’t know what to make Vika. Not only is she beautiful, smart and quite deadly, but Vika is all Nikolai can think about.

It doesn’t help that Nikolai’s best friend Pasha has also fallen for Vika. But it is in Nikolai’s best interests to fight and kill Vika, otherwise, it is his own life that will be forfeit.

Even as Vika and Nikolai gear up for the fight of their lives, secrets begin to surface, secrets that have the power to bring the empire to ruin.

This book is a fusion of magic and romance. Vika and Nikolai are two protagonists that are forced to try and kill each other for the chance to become imperial enchanter. Unfortunately, they have fallen for one another, and thus, do not think they can kill one another.

+The Crown’s Fate

The Crown’s game ended with Vika taking the position of the imperial enchanter. But with Pasha’s coronation on the horizon, Vika is learning that there’s more to her position than magic and games.

There’s real danger on the approach. For Pasha, his coronation is the least of his problems. Not only does Vika, who he loves, hate him, and not only is she still mourning his best friend who she thinks is dead but his legitimacy has been thrown into doubt.

A new challenger for the throne has surfaced and it will take everything Pasha has to protect his crown and his kingdom.

Meanwhile, Nikolai is grappling with the chance at a second life that has been presented to him. Having escaped death, Nikolai must decide if he’s willing to pay a dark price to get back to Vika.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Evelyn Skye

Leave a Reply