Book Notification

Everina Maxwell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Winter's Orbit Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Winter's Orbit (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Everina Maxwell
Author Everina Maxwell works and lives in Yorkshire, where she kills houseplants and collects books. On the weekends she can be found up some dales or at a bookstore.

She grew up in Sussex UK, which has come a long way from the Cold Comfort Farm days and now has such things as Brighton Pier and running water.

Everina was lucky enough to live close to a library that stocked Lois McMaster Bujold, Terry Pratchett, and Anne McCaffrey, so she spent every second of her spare time devouring door stopper fantasy and science fiction. With her family’s Georgette Heyer collection serving as a reliable friend when books from the library ran out.

Everina first took part in NaNoWriMo in the year 2004, and continues to precariously balance a day job, writing, and watching Let’s Plays of video games that she claims that she has no time to play.

Everina’s debut novel, called “Winter’s Orbit”, was released in the year 2021, which is a science fiction queer romantic space opera and was published by Tor Books. The novel was edited by Ali Fisher and her deal was negotiated by Tamara Kawar from ICM Partners, which was for three novels. The rights in the UK were won by Orbit UK in a three way bid.

“Winter’s Orbit” originally came out chapter by chapter, and was released as “The Course of Honour” on Archive of Our Own, where it gained an enthusiastic following. Everina says that it is a book of renewal and hope and she wrote it because she needed it. Because of this, there are cliffhangers all over the place, and things move along at a fast pace.

She describes the novel as being about the media, notoriety, and empire, but it is also about being locked inside of your own head. It begins with a diplomat that is determined to endure his private hell if that is what his duty requires, and it is about what happens when this wall around him begins crumbling. The novel is an intimate tale told on a grand scale.

Maxwell has also said that her goal with the novel was that she wanted to pen a queer science fiction romance that explores the fallout from a political arranged marriage. As well as all the problems and joys of two people falling in love despite diplomatic chaos surrounding them.

“Winter’s Orbit” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2021. An Imperial Prince has died.

As the Iskat Empire’s long dominated the system through political alliances and treaties, many planets, including Thea, have started to chafe under their rule. Tragedy befalls Imperial Prince Taam, his Thean widower, Jainan, gets rushed into an arranged marriage with Kiem, Taam’s cousin and the Emperor’s least favorite grandchild, in an effort to keep the rising hostilities between the two worlds under control.

Kiem, who has been a famously disappointing minor royal, never expected he would be married off to some stranger with just a day’s notice. But his cousin has died, leaving behind a bereaved partner, and the Empire has to renew its bonds with its newest vassal planet or risk all-out-war.

However when it comes to light that Prince Taam’s death might not have actually been an accident, and that Jainan himself might be a suspect, this unlikely pair has to overcome their misgivings and learn to trust each other. While these secrets, and more, are revealed, some shadowy alien forces start taking an interest. The broken bonds between the vassal planets and the empire leaves the entire empire vulnerable, meaning they have to prove their union is strong while they uncover a potential murder.

As they navigate the dangers of the Iskat court, prevent interplanetary war, and attempt solving a murder. Even as they attempt to deal with their growing attraction to each other.

Their successful marriage is going to align conflicting worlds, however their failure would be the end of the empire.

Jainan’s development and reactions are mostly internal, being considerate and cautious, and he rarely speaks or acts without a lot of thought. He grows a ton, learning to trust others and gains strength over the course of the novel. Kiem is almost-puppy like and boisterous. Despite perceived screw-ups, he cares a ton about his friends and is well loved by the common folk. He doesn’t grow all that much, but he is a good person, first and foremost, regardless of the situation. These two main characters are the story’s biggest strength, and it is also enjoyable to see them get to know one another and get to know them as more than just tropes or symbols.

The romantic and gut-wrenching debut novel, which has been described as “Red, White & Royal Blue” meets Ancillary Justice, is technologically advanced and far-reaching, but the novel has a fair amount of gentleness even though there’s violence and a murder mystery that happens. There’s dramatic weddings, flashy costumes, and plots that span a whole entire galaxy.

This novel is a chilling account of a dark past wrapped in a blanket wrapped in the warm blanket of a promising future. Everina’s brilliant at creating drama and atmosphere, making this a stunning space opera debut, striking with all of the skill of some master staff wielder. This is a deftly woven story of political intrigue, with a galactic treaty on the line.

Everina delivers a captivating love story with some engaging characters, that is wrapped around a murder mystery with high-stakes multi-world politics. She builds a fascinating and deeply layered universe filled with alien tech, perilous intergalactic diplomacy, and complicated imperial politics. Best of all, it doesn’t bog down the edge-of-your-seat plot but is still believable yet creative.

The diversity here is impressive, the writing style is easy, and the novel’s got some really sweet characters that are much more nuanced than those usually found in romance novels. Even with some of the tropes it relies on (like only one bed!, an arranged marriage) it still stands on its own as a unique novel of science fiction.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Everina Maxwell

Leave a Reply