Book Notification

Evie Grace Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Maids of Kent Books

Half a Sixpence (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Mother's Daughter / Half a Heart (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place to Call Home / Half a Chance (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Smuggler's Daughters Books

The Lace Maiden (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Maid (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Smuggler’s Wife (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Thimbleful of Hope (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seaside Angel (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Evie Grace is an English author. born in Kent, she has fond memories of spending holidays in the countryside of Kent or of being with her grandfather and spending time together picking cherries. He used to manage an entire fruit farm located near Selling. The stories that her family would tell and spending time in the English countryside inspired Evie Grace to write her first novel, which she titled Half a Sixpence.

Evie currently resides in Devon, England. Grace loves to spend time at home with her dog, her partner, and her daughter and son when they visit. Evie Grace really enjoys research all things about the 19th century while she is fascinated with the details of the past, she is thrilled that she can wash clothing in a modern way and that she can use modern machines to wash them. This is something that she is grateful for on another level, as she has effectively tried out how the Victorians did their laundry and much prefers the modern method.

She is the author of the Maids of Kent series. It includes Half a Sixpence, which was released in 2017. Her Mother’s Daughter Comes after, followed by Half a Chance. Fans have reacted positively to the series, which is set in the nineteenth century. It could be classified as falling into the historical romance genre.

The debut book in Evie Grace’s series is Half a Sixpence. The main character in this novel is the young Catherine Rook. She’s a beautiful girl that sometimes takes her calm life on the farm for granted. The setting is 1830 Kent. Catherine spends her time studying at the local school. When she’s not doing that, she’s helping out on the family farm and helping them to make ends meet. But all good things cannot exist in a vacuum or a bubble alone, and rural unrest comes sweeping through to Kent.

When Pa Rook purchases one of those fancy machines for threshing, it brings a very real tragedy to their family farm. Just like that, the fates of the Rooks are changed forever. Catherine is left in her place to hold the family together. She doesn’t know what to do and it seems like this new dynamic was dumped right down upon her. Not knowing where to turn, she ends up finding comfort in the arms of Matty Carter.

But it seems that she might find more than just a companion or comfort in those arms. But the sparks of love springing up between them are forbidden because Matty has a family of his own at home. She finds him attractive and what they have between them is strong, but he’s already obligated to others. Just as quickly as it began, their future together– or their possible future together– begins to unravel. Catherine is not only losing in love, but she’s on the edge of ruin.

Catherine must do what she can to avoid destitution and keep out of being sent to the poor house. With nothing to lose and everything to gain, Catherine must find a way to rise from the ashes and become something more from the results of her circumstances. You absolutely have to pick up a copy of Evie Grace’s debut novel Half a Sixpence to catch all of the magic for yourself!

The Maids of Kent series has a second novel and that is titled Her Mother’s Daughter. This continues the saga of the best tradition, and critics and readers alike are loving this second installment. Val Wood is calling this an ‘intriguing tale’ when it comes to finding love and sustaining family relationships.

Ripped straight out of the pages of history, the setting is Canterbury in 1853. Can a young woman break free in order to change her future? The main character of this novel is Agnes Berry-Clay. She was born fairly poor and while she may have been raised up in rags, she is now living in and with just the opposite.

Even though Agnes was given away when she was just an infant, she was eventually delivered to a good place. Because of the abandonment, she was found by her Papa and Mama, her adoptive parents who raised her. Agnes has all of her needs and living expenses taken care of, but she could use a little more freedom in her life.

Her life is constantly changing, and Agnes starts to find that life is getting complicated quick. And on top of that, her life living at Windmarsh Court is starting to change a lot. The new arrivals of people that stir up old resentments for Agnes start to push her to her limit, and she begins to feel like she is living on the outside of something.

This keeps happening until one day, the consequences of events from one singular day in the world might cause her dream for the future to go up in flames. Agnes doesn’t know what to do. Her heart is in pieces and she is risking scandal at every turn. So she must do one of a few choices. She must stay behind and surrender to what is happening or run away and fight for her freedom– but what is the right choice?

Catch the book that critics are calling “an enthralling plotline” that has tons of twists designed to intrigue the reader right up to the end (Margaret Dickinson). Rosie Goodwin praised the historical romance, saying it felt realistic. Other critics enjoyed the book as well. Frost Magazine praised the novel, saying that it was a great debut that reminded one of Catherine Cookson.

Not only that, but Ginger Book Geek, 5 gushed that they enjoyed reading the book and want to read even more from new author Evie Grace! Mojo Mums blog says that the book from Evie Grace is considered to be a ‘brilliant’ first novel.

Eileen Ramsay says that the saga is different from anything she has read before, with a ‘terrific story’ that readers will find tough to put down. Pick up any of the books in this series and see why fans cannot get enough and live the thrills for yourself!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Evie Grace

4 Responses to “Evie Grace”

  1. Norma: 2 years ago

    Hi I have just read half a sixpence and looking for half a heart and half a chance. We’re these sequels written please
    Thank you

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Yes they were just published under Her Mother’s Daughter and A Place To Call Home.

  2. Nigel Maltby: 3 years ago

    Hi. I have just finished Half a Sixpence which I have thoroughly enjoyed thank you so much.
    A question if I may. The above mentions the sequel as “Half a Heart”, Agnes’s story. This is not however listed. Did you change the title of the sequel to “Her Mother’s Daughter”.
    Best wishes,

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      That is correct 🙂


Leave a Reply