Book Notification

Ewert Grens Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ewert Grens Books

The Beast / Pen 33 / Odjuret (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vault / Box 21 (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cell 8 / Edward Finnigans (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flickan under gatan (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Seconds / Tre sekunder (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Soldiers / Två soldate (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Minutes / Tre Minuter (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Hours / Tre Timmar (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knock Knock (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Dreams / Sovsågott (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Litapåmig (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
100 procent (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Ewert Grens series is a famous book series of detective fiction, mystery, suspense, crime fiction, and thriller novels. It is written by a writing team of authors from Sweden called Roslund-Hellstrom that comprises of the authors, Anders Roslund & Borge Hellstrom. This series is comprised of a total of 7 books, which were released between the years 2004 and 2016. All the books of this series are set in Stockholm, Sweden. In some countries, the series’ books are published under the name of Grens & Sundkvist series, which is derived from the two chief protagonists of the series named Sundkvist and Grens. The books feature Ewert Grens in the role of a detective inspector, who lives in Stockholm and works to solve the mysteries and criminal cases that take place in and around the city. Sundkvist works as Ewert’s partner and assists him in the investigations as well as other detective works. Roslund-Hellstrom teamed up to develop Scandinavian crime stories and publish them under their joint name. The writers were able to come up with intriguing crime fiction stories because they have years of experience of being very close to real criminal cases in Sweden. Author Roslund Anders used to work as a journalist, news chief, and news reporter for the Rapport News prior to taking up the career of writing novels. Therefore, he used to get his hands on a number of interesting stories that he later used as the basis for his novels’ plots. Author Borge Hellstrom is a former con. He has now established an organization called KRIS in Sweden that works to help prevent crimes from taking place. This particular series features a typical recurring theme that shows repeated questioning by the detectives to find out who the real criminal and the victim are in the criminal cases they pursue. Each and every novel of this crime fiction series has been translated into many other foreign languages, including German, Croatian, English, Turkish, and Russian. The authors have originally written the books in the Swedish language. Borge Hellstrom and Anders Roslund started their careers in the form of published writers in 2004 with the release of the book, The Beast. This book also served as the beginning of the Ewert Grens series. As compared to the other authors from the Scandinavian countries, Roslund-Hellstrom’s books gets translated into English quite fast. Author Roslund enjoys his dual career fields of journalism and writing. He has founded the Culture News and was its former head for some time. When He was working as a reporter, he used to specialize in social and criminal issues. Roslund has even featured as the ‘Editor in Chief’ at the Aktuellt and Rapport, two of the most popular news programs on the national TV broadcaster of Sweden, the SVT. Borge Hellstrom too is fond of writing novels on social and criminal issues. He has worked with his organization, KRIS, to rehabilitate drug addicts and young offenders so that they could live a worthy life. Together with Anders Roslund, he has penned several successful crime novels. The team could work out many more magic with their words as author Hellstrom died unexpectedly in February 2017. Since then, Anders Roslund has been working alone and trying to keep up the good work that he and Hellstrom had started.

The first book of the Ewert Grens series written by Roslund & Hellstrom is entitled ‘The Beast’. It was released by the Little Brown Books publication in the year 2007, after its original release in 2004. The lead characters of this book include Sundkvist, Fredrik Steffansson, and Ewert Grens. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that a couple of children were discovered dead in the basement of a house in Stockholm. The murder was found, arrested, and made to serve jail time for his brutal crime. But, he manages to escape after serving for 4 years. Now, the police seems to be in a state of worry because they know that if they don’t catch him again soon, he will murder other innocent children. The situation takes a descending path as per the expectation of the police as one more child is found murdered in similar conditions as the previous murders. As the situation appears to be going out of hand, the police don’t look like they have any idea as to how they should approach in finding the killer. The media whips the tensed atmosphere even more by their involvement. In such a volatile atmosphere, the victim’s father, Fredrik Steffansson, decides to take the matters into his hand and avenge the murder of his son. At this point in the case, Ewert Grens makes his entry and quickly takes the control of the investigation. He knows that the actions of Fredrik Steffansson can have highly devastating consequences. Also, he may end up becoming a victim himself. So, Ewert Grens calms him down and proceeds to hunt down the killer through his own course of action.

Another exciting novel published in this series is called ‘Cell 8’. It was published by the Silver Oak publication in 2012, following its initial release in 2006. Roslund-Hellstrom have mentioned the central characters in this book’s story as Ewert Grens, John Meyer Frey, John Schwarz, Sundkvist, etc. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Ewert Grens rises to the rank of the Detective Superintendent and undertakes a case based on the controversial subject of the death penalty. A 17 year old boy named John Frey is given the death sentence in the case of his girlfriend’s brutal murder in Ohio. The father of the victim wants the judicial system to approve the Death Row as soon as possible so that his hunger for revenge gets quenched. However, a guard in the prison feels pity for John Frey and shows compassion. When only a few days are left for the final judgement on John Frey, he dies in his prison cell due to a heart disease. After 6 years of this incident, a singer from Sweden named John Schwarz lays a vicious attack on a drunkard while on a ferry from Finland to Sweden. The reason behind the vicious attack being that the drunkard was harassing a lady on the same ferry. The man goes into coma and the Stockholm police arrests John Schwarz for the aggravated assault. Upon investigating, Ewert Grens comes to know that Schwarx was living in Sweden for the last six years with a fake identity. Suspecting that there is something darker and complex in this case, Ewert launches a deeper investigation ranging from Sweden to US. He becomes successful in establishing a shocking link between the cases John Schwarz and John Meyer. Finally, the story comes to an end with an intriguing twist that leaves the readers startled and surprised.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ewert Grens

Leave a Reply