Book Notification

Executioner Knights Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Executioner Knights Books

The Whispering Night (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Netherworld (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
By The Unholy Hand (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mountain Dark (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Starless (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Time Of End (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter of Solace (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lord of the Sky (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lord of the Shadows (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
'Twas the Executioner Knight Before Christmas (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Splendid Hour (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Mortal Fury (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crimson Shield (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Dragon (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Executioner Knights
Executioner Knights is a book series by American author Kathryn Le Veque (1964—). Her birthplace is Glendale, California. The Colton, California resident schooled at Pasadena High School and the University of Southern California.

Kathryn owns three publishing houses: Dragonblade Publishing, WolfeBane Publishing, and DragonMedia Publishing. Her literary influences are; British author Virginia Henley; and American authors Ray Bradbury, Clive Eric Cussler, Jude Deveraux, and Beatriz Williams.

Kathryn was only aged 12 when she released her earliest Star Wars-inspired work. However, her earliest book is Valley of the Shadow, which was released in December 2001. Her specialty is especially medieval England-inspired historical romance books.

Books in the Executioner Knights
Kathryn’s portfolio consists of 230+ books. She is famed for the de Wolfe Pack series and, contextually, her highly-rated The Executioner Knights series. The first book therein, By The Unholy Hand (January 2019), is set in early 1200s England after the reign of King Richard 1 of England—nicknamed Richard the Lionheart—and the ensuing kingship of Richard’s less-liked brother John. There are allegations of pope-sanctioned assassinations attempts on John; thus, statesman Earl William Marshal dispatches a three-man Sir Maxton-led death squad (including knights Kress and Achilles) whose contact is disinherited nun Lady Andressa whom Maxton loves and she informs him about the church’s dark side.

Executioner Knights’ second book is The Mountain Dark (May 2019) whose main characters are death squad member Kress de Rhydian and sought-after Welsh royal Lady Cadelyn of Vendotia. Statesman William Marshal secretly rebels against, and wants to counter, King John’s influence. Through an arranged marriage to the king’s enemy, Earl of Ellesmere, William—like other lobbyists, including her mother—wants to pawn Princess Cadelyn whose obsession with knights prompts her to fall for her protector Kress en route to the earl’s home; William attempts to separate them by subjecting Kress to another arranged marriage.
Starless (August 2019) is the third book in the Executioner Knights series. External conflict: the protagonists in Starless are death squad member Achilles de Dere and his archrival-turned-heartthrob warrior Susanna de Tiegh. Internal conflict: Achilles teams up with recovering secret agent Susanna wherein they chance upon her brother-and-army commander Baron Coverdale’s treacherous activities; the wary Baron disposes of Susanna to a state enemy, prompting his potential suitor Achilles to rescue her.

The fourth book in the Executioner Knights series; the protagonists in A Time of End (January 2020) are death squad knight Alexander de Sherrington and his teammate secret agent Lady Christin de Lohr. Christin’s father, Christopher de Lohr, is a former knight under the late King Richard. Christin is answerable to William Marshal—he has had a 25-year-long feud with Christopher who is unaware of Christin’s profession—who has a conflict of interest with King John who, in turn, wants Christin as a daughter-in-law and bargaining chip when dealing with her influential father Christopher. Alexander wants to woo Christin whom he views as a potential wife. Thus, Alexander embarks on a personal quest to save her after King John executes a bride kidnapping.

The fifth book in the Executioner Knights series; the protagonists in Winter of Solace (May 2020) are battle-hardened knight Caius d’Avignon—he is allied to statesman William—and Emelisse de Thorington, who is among those affected in a three-year-long neighbor-related dispute that Caius is assigned to resolve through dialogue or fight. The inciter is William’s offending nephew-in-law, a bad neighbor called Covington de Wrenville, who wants the unsuspecting William’s support through the just Caius. Covington, who has also falsely accused Emelisse’s relative Rupert de Thorington of treason, infuriates King John who demands the prosecution of Covington—he has, after a bride kidnapping, also illegally imprisoned Emelisse whose savior Cauis has a romantic interest.
The sixth book in the Executioner Knights series; Lord of The Sky (August 2020) has protagonists Kevin de Lara, a death squad knight, and Welsh-Englishwoman Juliandra ferch Gethin whose treacherous father is imprisoned in a castle that Kevin is guarding. Juliandra’s inability to breach the castle to rescue her father arouses the diplomatic Kevin who, after identifying her, takes a career risk when he involves her in his own marriage of convenience.
The seventh book in the Executioner Knights series is titled The Splendid Hour (June 2021). The protagonist are respected death squad knight Peter de Lohr—he is famed Christopher de Lohr’s love child—and his Jewish romantic interest Liora ben Thad, who is a royal jeweler’s daughter. Their cultural, religious and caste differences prompts purists to interfere with the relationship in a conflicting and dangerous effort to keep Peter away from the lowly Liora.

Awards for Kathryn Le Veque’s Books
Kathryn has been nominated for—and won—various awards. For instance, the 2017 book Warwolfe won the 2018 Book Excellence Award (romance). The 2017 book Vestige of Valor and 2016 book Queen of Lost Stars won in the 2017 Raven Award’s medieval and best cover categories, respectively. The 2018 book A Wolfe Among Dragons won in the historical (ancient to 1500s) category of the 2019 RONE Award.

Other Books You May Like
Those who read the Executioner Knights series liked these book series too. Jennifer Bray-Weber is the author of the Pirates of Britania series; in particular, the fourteenth 2018 book The Righteous Side of Wicked whose female protagonist, Treva MacDougall, is a death throw fugitive who falls for a distrustful, smitten and most wanted pirate named Coire Fletcher.

In Whitney Blake’s Dukes of Destiny series; the first 2019 book therein, Duke of Havoc, notably features war casualty Lord Reeve Malliston and his motherless children’s guardian Miss Caroline Sedgwyck. Miss Caroline is a family friend who helps Lord Reeve achieve a sense of belonging after suffering from posttraumatic stress disorder.

In Anne Morrison’s The Highlands Warring series; the third book therein is The Highlander’s Promise (2019). A freed captive, dis-titled and displaced landowner named Sir Nicholas Whitfield chances on female cattle rustler Ava Fitzpatrick while on a search-and-rescue mission concerning his presumably sole surviving relative, niece Catherine. Sir Nicholas fulfils the desires of—and falls for—Ava, a love child seeking validation, who becomes his local guide to Scottish Highlands.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Executioner Knights

Leave a Reply