Book Notification

Exham on Sea Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Exham on Sea Mysteries Books

Murder At the Lighthouse (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Levels (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Tor (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Cathedral (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Bridge (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Castle (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Gorge (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Abbey (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries series by Frances Evesham
Author Frances Evesham writes the “Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries” series.

The series is set in the English seaside, in a small town much like Frances’ own which is surrounded by the tremendous rolling hills of the West Country, and it stars Libby Forest and Bear, her Carpathian Sheepdog. She is a middle aged woman that is attempting to reset her life after her unhappy and long marriage ended after her controlling husband’s fatal heart attack. There’s also Max, who Libby partners with to solve cases, and Shipley, an excitable Springer Spaniel.

One day Frances walked on a peaceful Somerset beach and found a unique nine-legged Victorian lighthouse. Her first Agatha Christie style murder mystery “Murder at the Lighthouse”, was born that same day.

“Murder At the Lighthouse” is the first novel in the “Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2016. Have you found a body on the beach? Libby Forest, who has recently been widowed, shows up in the tiny coastal town of Exham on Sea, looking to start a new life designing chocolates and baking cakes.

Walking on the beach on a stormy fall day, she and her excitable Springer Spaniel ‘Shipley’ find a dead body under a lighthouse. Convinced that this death was no accident, she teams up with an attractive local resident named Max Ramshore, and Bear, a gigantic sheepdog, to face indifference from the community and reveal the killer.

This is an enjoyable read and you continue to guess who the killer is up to end of the novel. Libby Forest is a lovely character that Frances has created, as she is kind, determined, and level headed.

“Murder on the Levels” is the second novel in the “Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2016. Libby’s chocolates start selling like hot cakes. That is, until people start dying. A group of cyclists, who are all customers at the bakery in the tiny town of Exham on Sea, get poisoned, suspicion falls on the shop itself, as well as on Libby’s food.

In partnership with the blue-eyed and attractive Max Ramshore and his gigantic sheepdog, named Bear, Libby sets out to reveal the poisoner and save her bakery. However who is she able to trust when her dead husband wasn’t even all that he seemed?

This is another well devised plot with familiar characters, France’s setting has a ton of charm, and the plot keeps the reader engaged from beginning to end. The who dunnit part of the book was left a surprise until the end.

“Murder on the Tor” is the third novel in the “Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2017. An ancient curse, a ruthless murderer, and a secret past. When Libby discovers a body early in the morning in mist surrounding Glastonbury Tor, she’s going to need all of her ingenuity to unscramble the threads of the past myths and the secrets of the present to learn the truth.

At the same time, with the aid of the enigmatic Max Ramshore, can she possibly unearth the entire truth of her husband’s death and find some peace in her new life?

With each of these novels, fans find themselves growing more and more fond of Exham and Libby.

“Murder at the Cathedral” is the fourth novel in the “Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2017. Could your best friend actually be a killer? A body is found in Wells Cathederal Library, Angela Miles (Libby’s best friend) is the prime suspect.

The very last thing that Libby needs right now is another investigation. But with Bear and Max Ramshore’s help, Libby is determined to reveal the murderer’s identity and clear the name of her friend.

“Murder at the Bridge” is the fifth novel in the “Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2017. A stolen heirloom, a summer wedding, and an eccentric aunt. What could possibly go wrong there?

When one suspicious death follows a country wedding, Libby’s instincts are telling her that there is something incredibly amiss in the picturesque villages in Exmoor.

With her on-off partner Max Ramshore, she digs deeper into the mysterious goings on in Horton while a sinister new acquaintance casts quite a foreboding shadow on Libby’s investigations.

While people start vanishing left and right, it is a race against the clock to find the Exmoor secrets before time finally runs out.

“Murder at the Castle” is the sixth novel in the “Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2018. Libby Forest is hot on a killer’s trail when disaster hits close to home.

An elderly volunteer’s sudden death at Dunster Castle rocks the Castle’s ancient calm right to its core and leaves the members of the local History Society just devastated. The finger is pointed at one of the other volunteers, his wife Margery fears that her husband of forty years might be the killer.

Libby Forest, working with Max Ramshore and their two beloved dogs (Shipley and Bear) are determined to locate the castle killer. No matter who it might be.

“Murder on the Gorge” is the seventh novel in the “Exham on Sea Cosy Crime Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2020. A prank? A joke? Or is it something much more sinister? When the Exham on Sea residents are being targeted by anonymous emails that contain seemingly harmless nursery rhymes, nobody knows whether to shudder or laugh until one unexplained death hits the town.

Libby Forest, chocolatier, baker, and Exhams’ own resident private investigator, along with Max, work to solve the case before more people begin dying. However Max’s ex-wife shows up, ahead of Libby and Max’s long-awaited wedding, things go from bad to worse.

With the town and their relationship being threatened, Libby and Max need all the help of the Exham History Society if they are going to locate the nursery rhyme killer in time.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Exham on Sea Mysteries

Leave a Reply