Book Notification

Exodus: Empires at War Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Exodus: Empires at War Books

Exodus: Empires at War: Book 1 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Exodus: Empires at War: Book 2 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rising Storm (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Long Fall (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ranger (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Day of Battle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Counter Strike (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soldiers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Front (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Search and Destroy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time Strike (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Retaliation (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rebellion (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Quiet on the Second Front? (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shield (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rebirth (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Exodus: Empires at War is a series of novels from Doug Dandridge, an author of science fiction novels that has been compared to the likes of Anderson and Weber.

+The Story

The Exodus: Empires at War series has been described as a return to basics by some critics. The books take science fiction back to its roots by taking mankind to the stars and giving readers another Space Opera to drool over.

Interestingly enough, when the Exodus: Empires at War series was first coming out, many commentators were quick to dismiss Space Opera as a dead genre. But Doug wasn’t so sure. In fact, those comments made him even more determined to prove that there was still a desire for the genre.

The Exodus books are called so for a reason. They revolve around a battle between Mankind and an alien race that initially saw mankind abandon their home world and traverse the stars in search of a new planet.

When mankind encounters a hostile species, they do not expect to be pushed to the point of extinction. But that is exactly what the expanding species achieved, engaging the human race in a genocidal war that would have seen mankind all but destroyed.

However, there was enough wisdom left on the planet to see the survivors of the war board an ark and flee across space. Mankind thought it was finally safe. They went searching for a new home and found one ten thousand light years away. And as they had hoped, the human race was finally safe.

It only took a thousand years for humanity to rebuild, eventually bringing into being the New Terran Empire. There were always rumors, fears that the old enemy would return to wipe out the human race once and for all.

The New Terran fleet is nothing to scoff at. And it has been argued that they cannot lose to any alien species in battle. However, when fears are proven true and humanity’s bane arises once again, the New Terran Fleet will have to step up to the plate and fight for mankind’s survival.

The Exodus: Empires at War series had a slow start. Doug Dandridge was criticized for writing novels that were designed to set up future stories and in which very little happened. However, the Exodus books eventually found their stride and their readers and have since garnered a dedicated following amongst science fiction enthusiasts.

Like most space operas, the Exodus books blend explosive space battles with political intrigue. There’s almost as much action taking place in the halls of government as there are battles between fleets of warships. Though, Doug is proud of the fact that he isn’t one of those writers who bury their readers in political intrigue.

While it is definitely true that some of the Exodus: Empires at War books feature more political bickering than might be healthy, Doug always keeps his stories lively with well thought out conflicts in space that are typically driven by grounded science fiction concepts.

+The Author

Doug Dandridge is an American author born in 1957 in Venice, Florida. Doug started reading at an early age. Even as a child Doug loved the classics and, in particular, science fiction and fantasy.

As a young adult, Doug joined the military. A student of Florida State University and the University of Alabama from where he studied psychology, Doug likes to write intelligent science fiction and fantasy.

The author officially began writing in 1996. He will be the first to tell you that those first short stories of his were not very good. However, as with most professional authors, Doug refused to give up. He took each new rejection letter from a publisher in stride and kept writing. And over time, he began to get better.

Doug Dandridge’s determination to write Exodus: Empires at War stemmed from a comment an agent made saying that Space Opera was dead. To prove him wrong, Doug wrote the Exodus series. It took the author six months to plan out the series before he started writing. Doug initially wrote the Exodus books as standalones because that’s what publishers seemed to want.

However, the author left each book open for potential sequels. Doug Dandridge has described the Exodus: Empires at War series as the sorts of books he would have loved to read as a young adult. Doug endeavors to make all the science and technology he uses in the series as grounded and realistic as possible, though he leaves room for a few fantastical aspects.

+Exodus: Empires at War 1

When mankind was faced with an expanding race determined to see them exterminated, they did the only thing they could do. They fled, running across the stars and finally settling down on a new home world.

With ten thousand light years between them and their new enemy, Humanity thought it was safe. So they rebuilt and gave life to the New Terran Empire, a force of considerable.

However, after a thousand years of prosperity, the New Terran Empire is facing danger once more. Their mortal enemy has returned to finish the job they began a thousand years ago.

The first book in the Exodus: Empires at War series sets the stage for Doug Dandridge’s epic space opera. The book delves into humanity’s story as a race that was forced to flee from an enemy, rebuilt their civilization on the other side of the universe, and now they stand to see their empire destroyed when their enemy discovers mankind’s new home centuries later.

While the biggest threat to the human race is the alien species hell bent on exterminating them, this book also delves into the political threats tearing the New Terran Empire apart.

+Exodus: Empires at War 2

Humanity stands at the brink of destruction because they grew complacent. They refused to believe that a centuries-old enemy would ever find them in a universe that is so wide. The Emperor must now extinguish the infighting in the New Terran Empire in order for mankind to present a united front against a foe they might not have the strength to beat.

The second book in the Exodus: Empires at War series places the fate of the human race on the shoulders of one young man that must overcome both imperial politicians and vicious alien races.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Exodus: Empires at War

Leave a Reply