Book Notification

Extinction Cycle Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Extinction Cycle Books

Extinction Horizon (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction Edge (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction Age (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction Evolution (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction End (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction Aftermath (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction Lost (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction War (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction Red Line (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

An American writer who has been writing for some years now, the author Nicholas Sansbury Smith is famous worldwide. Creating thrillers and science-fiction novels, he has a gift for the genre, with his stylized writing style that ensures readers are kept on the edges of their seats. With an eye for characters that resonate too, he not only creates witty and engaging stories, but ones that his audience relate to as well. One such series is that of the Extinction Cycle series which he has been running for quite some time now, and is hugely popular. It is perhaps one of his most prolific series to date, as it incorporates elements of science-fiction and thriller into its narrative. Featuring the military Delta Force Team code-named Team Ghost, it sees them being lead by Master Sergeant Reed Beckham, as they aim to keep the world safe from the brink of extinction.

With over six books in total so far running between 2014 and 2016, this series has come a long way in a relatively short amount of time. Bringing out spin-off short stories as well featuring many of the characters and the world, it has a lot of life and room to grow. A premise that can be built upon indefinitely, there’s a lot more room for it to expand in the future as well, with more titles expected to follow.

Extinction Horizon

Brought out in 2014 on the 6th of December, this was to be the first in the ongoing series of ‘Extinction Cycle’ novels. Released on the Kindle, this set-up the initial premise for the series, really establishing the story, world, and characters in the process. Not only setting up many of the books to come, it also provides a great stand-alone story for anybody looking for a more casual read too.

Setting up the world, this book is primarily about establishing the universe for the books to follow in the future. Creating a fast paced and exciting tone, it manages to convey a style that is frenetic and tense, with a fast pace throughout. The danger element is also kept high, as it feature bio-weapons and viruses that could potentially destroy the world, with a science-fiction slant to it too. With strong leading characters, all of whom play a key part in the proceedings of the narrative, Smith manages to use everyone. Building a real sense of camaraderie between them all, he allows a bond to form, something which progresses over the course of the novels. The character of Master Sergeant Reed Beckham himself is also very well crafted as he comes across as a strong leading protagonist. Set on a global stage Smith really gives the action an expansive feel, as he gives it a very real sense of scope and breadth. With much of taking place within a medical facility, it gives it a sense of claustrophobia as well, in order to make it feel tense and exciting. This works for much of it, as it allows the pacing of the novel to move along at a fast and rapid speed, allowing the reader to easily get caught up in it.

Beginning with Master Sergeant Reed Beckham, it sees him leading his Delta Force Team called Ghost through the most difficult of ordeals. Never losing a man his group is one of the best in the business, which is why they’re called upon to deal with a new strain of Ebola that’s broke out on a research facility. Turning men into the most evil and deranged of monsters, the virus is one of the most deadly out there, and the most challenging ordeal they may have to face yet. Will they survive the mission? Can they quarantine it? What will become of them as they face the extinction horizon?

Extinction Edge

Initially released on the Kindle once again, this was to be the follow up to the first in the ongoing ‘Extinction Cycle’ series of novels. Providing another adventure for Team Ghost and their leader, it manages to continue in much the same vein as before, with some twists and turns of its own brought in along the way. Brought out on the 22nd of February in 2015, this was released less than one year after the first, keeping their release dates regular and close together.

Bringing back many similar themes and ideas as with the novel before, it manages to take the action to an faster pace. Taking the scope of the story and broadening it too, it works at developing the ideas that came before as well, building upon them in the process. The military knowledge is also key here once again in conveying a sense of realism for the reader, making it entirely believable throughout. With Team Ghost returning once again, lead by Master Sergeant Reed Beckham, it manages to develop their characters even more. Not just that, but it also builds the bond between them all, allowing their friendships to flourish in the process too. Taking the action itself on to an even wider scale than before too, it expands upon the locations used throughout the series too.

The bio-weapon of Dr. Kate Lovato was supposed to be the endgame, but now projections for death has been cast into the billions. Turning those affected by the ‘Hemorrhage Virus’ into something far worse and formidable, the survivors have become apex predators known as ‘Variants’. Stepping up to the challenge once more, Team Ghost must enter under the command of Reed Beckham, as they will seek to neutralize the Variant threat in New York City. Will they manage to save the day? Can that make it out alive? What will happen as they face extinction edge?

The Extinction Cycle Series

A tense and taut series of apocalyptic thrillers, these are sure to keep the readers hooked throughout, constantly turning the pages. With a high degree of military literacy and knowledge as well, these are also given a level of accuracy unlike other books of its kind. As more are expected to follow in the future, this is a series that shows no signs of stopping anytime soon, with the series continually growing from strength-to-strength.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Extinction Cycle

Leave a Reply