Book Notification

Fablehaven Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fablehaven Books

Fablehaven (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rise of the Evening Star (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grip of the Shadow Plague (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Keys to the Demon Prison (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fablehaven Companion Books

Caretaker's Guide to Fablehaven (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Official Fablehaven Cookbook (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Fablehaven series is an award winning and NY Times bestselling series of children’s literature and fantasy series. It is written by a renowned American author named Brandon Mull. The series consists of a total of 5 books, which were released between the years 2006 and 2010. Each and every novel of this popular series is published by Simon & Schuster in the paperback edition and the hardcover edition is released by Shadow Mountain. Author Mull has described a nature preserve in the series that is kept secret. This nature preserve the houses and protects the beings of legend and myth from the world outside. A character named Stan Sorenson is described as its caretaker. According to him, Fablehaven is a refuge for the mystical creatures. The beings living in the large Fablehaven sanctuary, magical and mortal, have to abide by the rules strictly. Among the common rules, there is the harvest law or better known as the retribution law. This means that the beings have to bear the consequences of their actions, good or bad. This rule has been mentioned in the books as magic, trouble, and mischief for magic, trouble & mischief. And if at all this treaty law gets broken by any being, he will end up losing the magical protection that the nature preserves provide. Then, in order to gain back the protection, the particular being must retaliate. This is what the drives the stories forward and makes the readers continue reading the stories. Fablehaven also consists of some magical borders. Such borders keep the mystical creatures well within the secret preserve. However, some of them have the liberty of being out of some domains. Author Mull has also shown that the grounds and house of the caretaker also lie inside the protective boundaries of the preserve. On several occasions, the borders get dissolve and the frightening creatures get the chance to roam freely on the preserve’s grounds. One of the frightening creatures is named Midsummer Eve, which is mentioned in the very first book. The kids, Seth and Kendra Sorenson are described as the lead characters, who keep recurring in all the novels. Throughout the course of the series, the brother and sister pair undertake many exciting journeys in and out of Fablehaven. After the successful run of the books’, author Mull penned a sequel series called Fablehaven Adventure. Currently, he is working on the development of the next book in the sequel series. This series received numerous positive reviews from the critics and the readers alike. Immediately after the release of its 3rd book, the series was listed in the list of top 10 bestselling children’s series by New York Times. The first book of the series has been considered to be developed into a film. The Warner Bros production company has bagged the rights of the movie and has chosen Clark Schaffer from Schaffer Studios to start working on the pre-production of the film along with Brandon Mull.

Brandon is known to be a famous author from the United States, who likes to write young adult and fantasy books. He has successfully established himself as a bestselling author with his debut book series. Mull says that he is inspired by the works of authors C.S. Lewis, J.K. Rowling, and JRR Tolkien, and considers them as his idols. He was born November 08, 1974, and completed his schooling from the Diablo Elementary School, located in Clayton, California. Later, he studied at the Pine Hollow School and the Clayton Valley. As of today, he resides in Alpine, Utah. He has earned his graduate degree from the Brigham Young University. Before trying his hand at writing books, author Mull tried to be a clerk, movie promoter, comedian, chicken stacker, patio installer, copywriter, etc. He was even involved in a 2-year mission for a church in Chile. Mull’s interest in comedy led him to form a group of sketch comedy called the Divine Comedy while he was studying at BYU. Other than Fablehaven, Brandon has written a couple of other successful fantasy series called Five Kingdom series and Spirit Animals series. He maintains a Facebook page and is also active on other social media platforms to interact with his fans. Brandon even uses the social platforms to keep the readers informed about the latest happenings in his writing career. Also, he provides details about the release dates of his upcoming books.

The debut book of the Fablehaven series written by author Brandon Mull is entitled ‘Fablehaven’. It was released by the Shadow Mountain publication in the year 2006. The primary characters of this book as mentioned by Mull include Seth Sorenson, Muriel Taggert, Stan Sorenson, Ruth Sorenson, Nero, Maddox, Kendra Sorenson, Kate Sorenson, Dale, Lena, etc. Mull has done the setting of the story in Connecticut, United States. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Kendra and Seth do not have any notion that their grandpa is the caretaker of the Fablehaven, a magical sanctuary for mystical creatures for preventing them from extinction. Inside the woods of Fablehaven, ancient rules and law helps in maintaining the order among the mischievous satyrs, spiteful imps, jealous fairies, plotting witches, and greedy trolls. But, as soon as these laws get broken, several evil and powerful forces get unleashed. This makes Seth and Kendra face a great challenge to their survival. They realize that in order to save Fablehaven and their family, they must become courageous and face their most dreadful fear.

The next installment of this series is called ‘Rise of the Evening Star’. Shadow Mountain published this book too in 2007. Once again, the story is set in Connecticut, and shows the main characters as Casey Hancock, Vanessa Santoro, Kendra Sorenson, Warren, Seth Sorenson, Coulter Dixon, Errol Fisk, Stan Sorenson, Tanugatoa Dufu, Mr. Lich, Hugo, etc. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that after completing their school year, Seth & Kendra Sorenson return to Fablehaven. An old organization called the Evening Star Society wants to infiltrate Fablehaven and obtain a secret artifact that is believed to have great powers. For preventing this from happening, Fablehaven’s caretaker, Grandpa Sorenson, appoints three specialists. They include a relics collector, a creature trapper, and a potion master. The Sorensons don’t have much time left with them and the evil organization has already begun to storm the gates of Fablehaven. Grandpa Sorenson fears that if the organization obtains the artifact, it will bring the downfall of the preserve and destroy the world. So, he tries to find a solution to this grave problem. His grandchildren also assist him with the magical gifts of their own.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Fablehaven

Leave a Reply