Book Notification

Fairy Tale Reform School Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fairy Tale Reform School Books

Author Jen Calonita writes the “Fairy Tale Reform School” series of children’s fiction books. The series began publication in the year 2015, when “Flunked” was released.

“Flunked” made the ILA-CBC Children’s Choice List in 2016, and was nominated for a Louisiana Readers’ Choice award for third to fifth grades.

The books are set in a world where all the characters from fairy tales live in one world and this is what happened to them after their stories ended.

The series stars Gilly Cobbler, a thief. Gilly is the one that lives in the old shoe, from fairy tales. She has to raise her five siblings, and steals to do so. When she is caught, she has to pay for it by going to Fairy Tale Reform School. It is a place where all of the teachers were once scary super villains.

“Flunked” is the first novel in the “Fairy Tale Reform School” series, which was released in the year 2015. Gilly wouldn’t really call herself wicked, per se, but when you have five siblings and live in a run-down boot you must be creative to make ends meet. Gilly is pretty good at stealing from people, if she says so herself. Until, however, she gets caught.

Gilly gets sentenced to three months at a place called Fairy Tale Reform School, where every single teacher is a former super scary villain like the Evil Queen, the Big Bad Wolf, and Cinderella’s Wicked Stepmother. Pretty harsh. She meets Jax and Kayla, her fellow students, and finds out there is to more to this school than its heroic mission. There is a battle on the way and Gilly must wonder if a villain can actually change.

This is an excellent book that incorporates fairy tales in a superb way. Calonita does a great job of working in some humor into the story. Gilly is developed well, all while she examines the lines between good and bad, learning about what it means to be a hero. She has a lot of spunk and sass, hooking the reader even more.

“Charmed” is the second novel in the “Fairy Tale Reform School” series, which was released in the year 2016. To catch a spy will require a thief who is reformed. Well, mostly reformed. It is why Gilly, Enchantasia’s most infamous pickpocket, decides to stay locked up at Fairy Tale Reform School for an undetermined amount of time. Gilly and her buddies might have defeated the Evil Queen and gained a reputation as reluctant heroes, however, the fight for Enchantasia has just gotten underway.

Alva (or The Wicked One, the one who cursed Sleeping Beauty), has just declared war on the princesses and she would like the students of the school to join up with her. Some of Gilly’s criminal classmates give in to temptation, and Gilly goes undercover, playing the part of a Royal Lady in Waiting to find a spy. All before the mole is able to hand the keys of the kingdom over to Alva.

Her parents believe Gilly the Hero is entirely reformed, but sometimes it is necessary to get your hands dirty. At times, it is good to be bad.

This one is just as good as the first in the series, and this one is packed with mystery, adventure, and references to fairy tales. There are some genuine and strong character development going on here, as well.

“Tricked” is the third novel in the “Fairy Tale Reform School” series, which was released in the year 2017. Things are changing at Fairy Tale Reform School. That is what Gilly has been hearing through Enchantasia’s rumor mill. The word is that infamous trickster Rumpelstiltskin has taken over the management of the school from Headmistress Flora. He has locked down the school much tighter than the Pied Piper’s britches.

Not that this is news that would concern Gilly. She has been kicked out of FTRS and is now going to Jack of All Trades School. It is a place she has to suffer through while learning about all kinds of shoe leather and all kinds of ways to measure feet. Totally riveting stuff.

Gilly’s younger sister Anna is taken to FTRS, which is thanks to Hansel and Gretel (her new troublemaker friends). Gilly realizes that she has to get Anna out of there fast. There is only one thing she can do: stir up some real trouble and get taken back to FTRS.

It is now time to out-trick a trickster.

The books have a clever concept and a unique and humorous take on the enchanted world. These are characters readers have grown to love, and following their lives is eventful and fun. This is an amazing read and will keep you on the edge of your seat. This is a spellbinding and extremely clever series of books that have kept readers coming back for more.

“Switched” is the fourth novel in the “Fairy Tale Reform School” series, which was released in the year 2018. Things are going great at Fairy Tale Reform School. Rumpelstiltskin has been kicked out, and everybody is buzzing over the fact that new to the teaching staff is Beauty and Prince Sebastian (or the Beast). Except Gilly, she is only able to focus only on Anna. How could it be possible that her beloved sister turned bad and joined up with Rump? Why does no one seem to care about it? The Royal Court says they are working on the situation, but have not a single thing to show for it.

Jack, a new-kid, joins FTRS with tales of his family getting snatched by Rump, and it makes Gilly realize she is in good company. Jack is looking for answers, so is Gilly. If the Royal Court is unable to get results, maybe it is time to break a few of the rules.

These are simply fun books and it is great to see the twists that Jen Calonita is able to put on fairy tales. The books move at a fast pace, it never slows down for an instant, and there are many more plot twists. It even dives the mystery of Rumpelstiltskin more and adds some more new interesting characters to the mix, too.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Fairy Tale Reform School

One Response to “Fairy Tale Reform School”

  1. amanda: 1 year ago

    I love the series. I am currently looking for the 4 book in the series.


Leave a Reply