Book Notification

Fanny Blake Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

What Women Want (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Women of a Dangerous Age (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets Women Keep (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
With a Friend Like You (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of Dreams (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Summer Together (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Italian Summer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Summer Reunion (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Long Way Home (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Daughter-in-Law (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Red for Revenge (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A Place in the Sun Books

A Place in the Sun: Favourite Destinations (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dream Homes Within Your Reach (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Mediterranean House (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Location, Location, Location (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Anniversary(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stories to Make you Smile(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Fanny Blake is a bestselling romance and general fiction novelist. She has also worked as a publisher for many years, editing non-fiction and fiction works before becoming a writer and freelance journalist.

She did not come from a literary background but since her maiden name was Waugh she spent much of her childhood being asked if she was related to Evelyn Waugh. Nonetheless, he loved reading as a kid and used to read the obvious works by authors such as Noel Streatfield, Beatrix Potter, Enid Blyton, and Ivy Wallace.

Since Blake also loved animals, she made her way through “The Incredible Journey,” “One Dalmatians,” and “Black Beauty.” In her teenage years, she discovered crime fiction and trawled her parents’ bookshelf where she read the likes of Erle Stanley Gardner, Ngaio Marsh, and Margery Allingham.

At one point, she penned a detailed story about a Canada goose and a play inspired by “The Lincolnshire Poacher.” Fanny remembers that her family had a garden shed, which she used to commandeer for a time and made it the headquarters for a paper that ran at least one edition.

Fanny spent much of her childhood in Nottinghamshire before she proceeded to study Spanish and French at Edinburgh University. Upon graduating, she was certain that she was destined to be a publisher’s editor, even if she only loved reading and had no idea what editors did at work.

Blake would then work in a university bookshop in Glasgow for several months before she left Scotland and headed to London to find a job. Answering a Corgi Books advertisement, she was lucky enough to get employed as an editorial assistant.

From there, she went to “Granada Books” and “Star Books” before she moved to Penguin where she worked for more than fourteen years. There was a brief three-year interlude, during which she worked as a Macmillan editorial director and publishing director at Heinemann.
She also spent many years publishing, editing, and acquiring general nonfiction and fiction.

Ultimately, Fanny Blake crossed the fence and rather than reading for a living, she began to write. She would go on to cut her teeth with a range of interior magazines and then was asked to help with books tied with TV programs such as “Place in the Sun,” “House Doctor,” and “Grand Designs.”

After attaining a lot of experience working with magazines, she was appointed “Woman & Home” magazine books editor. This would become her main job and even though she is now an author, she still keeps herself up to date with the world of publishing and bo0ks through that job.
Since then, she has ghostwritten many autobiographies for celebrities aside from penning her fiction works. She has said that despite dabbling in editing and ghostwriting, fiction writing is the only place where her heart has always lain.
Blake published “What Women Want” her debut novel in 2011 and now has more than a dozen works to her name. Over the years, she has won many literary awards including the Costa Short Story Award, the Betty Trask Award, the Costa First Novel Award, the Romantic Novelists’ Association Award, and the Desmond Elliot Award.

Fanny Blake’s novel “A Summer Reunion” introduces four women and their current life situations and backgrounds.

Amy, Jane, Kate, and Linda had been best friends in school but several years later have grown apart. Amy who has always been the leader of the group discovers that her husband has been dipping his hand into her interior business. She invites her three friends to Mallorca where there is a beautiful villa so that they can have a reunion.

Amy needs the weekend getaway to reevaluate everything and also thinks she has the opportunity to deal with a past event that she feels still impacts their past. She had been expelled from school in her senior year and this had been a life-changing event as it shattered her dreams.

She loves working in interior design but feels like she settled for second best due to the injustice that was served. She believes that if she rights the past, she can finally get back control over her life, which she thinks is beginning to spiral out of control.
Over the course of a weekend, new friendships are forged, old scores are settled, and secrets are unearthed. Will the four friends grasp the second chance at happiness or will the holiday tear them apart?

“An Italian Summer” by Fanny Blake is a fascinating work of fiction that introduces Sandy. She was watching over Miriam her mother in her final days and hours when she found a letter addressed to a woman in Naples named Anna Vigileri.
She has so many questions about the letter but her mother is too weak. Moreover, they had always had a tension-filled relationship and had never been as close as mother and daughter should be. Her mother had always pushed her away as she never revealed anything about her past or her family.

But on her death bed, she says the simple words ‘find her’. Sandy believes she is supposed to find Anna and in saying yes to her mother’s wishes, she does not realize that she will have to face difficulties, uncertainties, and fears.
But she is determined to do anything to move on from the death of Mathew her husband who died unexpectedly a few years earlier. Leaving aside her fears, she takes a trip to Italy for a fortnight, hoping to deliver the letter to Anna while taking a guided tour of Naples and Rome.

Fanny Blake’s novel “House of Dreams” is a heartwarming story that tells of family tensions and secrets slowly revealed in a gorgeous Spanish setting.

In the beautiful villa from where residents are treated to gorgeous views of the country and the Gibraltar Straits in the distance, Lucy waits for her siblings. They are to spend a weekend together as they say farewell to the home they grew up together in, which they fondly refer to as Casa de Suenos.

Jo her sister lands at the airport alongside her little one dreading spending time with her family and fulfilling the last instructions of their mother who said they had to celebrate her last birthday together.

Their brother Tom still remembers their bohemian upbringing, which was full of chaos, and can only hope this weekend will go off without a hitch. But then someone from his past that he has never forgotten appears at the villa.
Over a hot and long weekend, the siblings question the choices they made and themselves as secrets spill out.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Fanny Blake

Leave a Reply