Book Notification

Faraway Tree Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Magic Faraway Tree Books

The Enchanted Wood (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magic Faraway Tree (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Folk of the Faraway Tree (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
Up the Faraway Tree (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Yellow Fairy Book (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Land of Goodies (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Santa Claus's Castle (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Land of Enchantments (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

A British institution almost in her own right, the famous children’s author Enid Blyton was well known for her fun, friendly and accessible family oriented literature. With many enduring characters such as Noddy, the Famous Five, and the Secret Seven, she was definitely an author of her time. The stories she wrote, though, have lived on throughout the years, seeing various different incarnations over time, whilst always remaining true to the spirit of the originals. One such series that she’s particularly well known for is that of her Faraway Tree series of novels, an enduring collection of novels that retain a timeless quality to this very day. Set in a fantastical land they told stories that worked alongside the illustrations of Georgina Hargreaves to tell a magical tale of childhood wonder and enchantment. Following the adventures of Jo, Bessie and Fanny, it sees the three children moving into a new home by an enchanted forest with a magical tree they climb, taking them off to far and distant lands of magic and wonder.

Running for a total of four books, these were some of Blyton’s most enduring creations, one’s which stand the test of time to this very day. In the past there has been a television adaptation, with ten minute episodes of mini-adventures being aired in 1997. Plans to adapt it for the big-screen, though, are currently underway, as the director Sam Mendes has acquired the rights through his production company ‘Neal Street Productions’, with the intention of creating a major live-action film of the novels.

The Enchanted Wood

Originally published in the month of May in 1939, this was first brought out by the publisher George Newnes. Setting up the characters and the premise, this is the first book in the series of ‘The Faraway Tree’, as it sees them arrive for the first time. It also establishes the world it’s set within, as it depicts the magic and wonder of it all, allowing it to come alive for all the young readers.

With ideas of childhood wonder and innocence, this has all the hallmarks of a classic Enid Blyton series. Taking a journey into a whole new world of magic and make-believe, it’s set around the concept of imagination. Whilst this may be a typical staple of many children’s books, this particular story from Blyton really is the pinnacle of its genre. Enid Blyton herself was very much a British writer, a factor which was heavily reflected in her writing, and this series was no exception. It’s landscape is clearly influence by the English countryside, specifically Dorset which was a continual source of inspiration for her. Using its greenery and rural areas, Blyton uses it as the backdrop, as she really brings it to life through the use of magic and wonder. Over the course of the series history it’s also worth noting the alteration of the characters names in keeping with the times. Later changing the names of Jo, Bessie and Fanny to Joe, Beth and Frannie, it worked at keeping the original feel of the series intact. The characters themselves didn’t change, as it retained its charm, with it only going through a minor cosmetic change.

Moving near to a seemingly normal large wood, three young children, Jo, Bessie and Fanny, soon discover that the wood may in actual fact be magic. Walking into the wood they come across an enormous tree with branches that seem to stretch into the clouds, as it soon transpires that this is, in actual fact, the Faraway Tree. Climbing the tree they come across a cast of colorful characters, as they head up into the lands above, lands filled with magic, adventure and wonder. Will they be able to explore all the different lands there? Can they get out after one of them gets stuck? What will they discover in the enchanted wood?

The Magic Faraway Tree

Setting up the second title in the ongoing ‘Faraway Tree’ series, this provides further adventures and a deeper exploration of the world. Initially released through George Newnes once again, and later the publisher Hamlyn in 1971, it was first published in 1943. Continuing the story it brings back many of the characters from the first, along with some new ones as well.

This time set around the tree itself, it manages to build upon the initial premise whilst focusing on where the tree leads to. With it having set up the premise already, it manages to take it even further, taking a look inside the tree itself and how it relates to the surrounding wood. Paving the way for future books, it effectively lays the next step in the children’s adventures, allowing them to move on with their journey. Taking the British countryside once again, it manages to bring it rural backdrop to life with it magical sense of childhood innocence. This setting was something that Blyton really had a strong affinity with and, again, the story here is no exception. Almost working into the narrative as a character in of itself it comes to life, as its fully realized by Blyton. The characters were also known to see some cosmetic changes once again in relation to their given names. The children’s visiting cousin who was originally called Dick was later changed to Rick, a minor alteration which took nothing away from the originals. In regards to the character of ‘Dame Slap’, someone who was seen in the original, she was also later changed to ‘Dame Snap’, as she would shout at the children instead of slapping them.

Meeting up with their cousin Dick, who was called Rick in later editions, Bessie, Jo and Fanny head back to the magical Faraway Tree for more adventures. Introducing their cousin to all their magical friends, they take a journey through the lands once more, stopping to take it all in. With lands such as ‘The Land of Topsy-Turvy’, ‘The Land of Toys’ and the famous ‘The Land of Do-As-You-Please’ where they are free to do whatever they want, there’s a number of exciting and enthralling adventures taking place. Where will their journey take them? What do their magical friends have in store for them? Is there an end to the Magic Faraway Tree?

The Faraway Tree Series

A timeless story that has endured ever since its initial inception all the way back in 1939, this is a series that will live on for many years to come. Standing the test of time along with many of Blytons other famous creations, it gets to the heart of childhood innocence and wonder like only the best of children’s literature can hope to do. Setting the benchmark for the genre, this is a timeless creation and a work of art, adding to the rich and vibrant legacy of Enid Blyton, securing its place on bookshelves for generations to follow.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Faraway Tree

Leave a Reply