Book Notification

Farseer Trilogy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Farseer Books

Assassin's Apprentice (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Royal Assassin (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Quest (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Words Like Coins (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Willful Princess and the Piebald Prince (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Liveship Traders Books

Publication Order of Tawny Man Books

Publication Order of Rain Wild Chronicles Books

Dragon Keeper (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Haven (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Inheritance (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of Dragons (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of Dragons (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fitz and The Fool Trilogy Books

Fool's Assassin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fool's Quest (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Fate (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Farseer Trilogy

Farseer Trilogy is a historical fantasy book series by Megan Lindoholm under the pseudonym Robin Hobb. The first book in the series Assassin’s Apprentice was nominated for the British Fantasy Award in 1997 for the Best Novel.

Farseer Trilogy is set in Middle Europe and Middle Ages in a threatened kingdom featuring a lead character who is the pivot on which everything else in the story revolves. Hobb’s hero Fitz Chivalry is a royal young man left by his mother with the royal side of his family. He is regarded as an embarrassment to his family, but at the same time, he is a threat to them due to his heritage. What an uncomfortable situation to find yourself in- Robin Hobb writes in such a way that she puts the reader in her main character shows and through this the reader experiences fully what Chivalry goes through. His troubles are compounded by the fact that he’s got some signs of Wit (beast magic hated and feared by many) and the magic abilities of his Farseer heritage.

Assassin’s Apprentice

Assassin’s Apprentice is the first book in Farseer Apprentice trilogy the first book by Margaret Astrid Lindholm under the pen name Robin Hobb. The novel was written under the working title Chivalry’s Bastard but published as Assassin’s Apprentice. The characters featured in Farseer Trilogy are also featured in Fitz and Fool Trilogy and Tawny Man Trilogy.

The book covers Fitz Chivalry’s early life a royal bastard a member of the Buckkeep Castle and as he starts his training as an assassin and how he safeguards the throne from his greedy uncle which almost costs his life.

At its simplest, Assassin’s Apprentice is a coming of age story. It tells how Fitz was raised up in Buckkeep, how he was rejected as a bastard son of a famous prince, how he learned the skills of court life, how he came to take care of horses and hounds and how he came to work with a royal assassin.
Fitz narrates the story as he recalls all these events from his childhood. He recalls the crucial amount of details from when he was six years old, but it’s important to remember that the character only remembers only that which is essential.

The main story in Assassin’s Apprentice tells of Fitz experiences, but at the same time, there is trouble in the Six Duchies. The Red-Ship raiders have begun raiding villages despite watches, towers and the patrols. Their demands are just crazy- “if the Six Duchies pay up all the hostages will be killed, but otherwise, the raider will be returned home. However, it comes to no surprise when the hostages are returned, they are entirely different people and perhaps death was a better choice.

The story pacing is slow but steady, and the reader gets a smooth ride through middle Europe and the characters, but in the end, things do indeed pick up well.

Robin Hobb characterization is brilliantly done. The story is narrated by Fitz the shunned son of Prince of Chivalry. Like any other person, Fitz has his awesomeness and flaws as well. Some of his flaws; he feels out of place, he’s lonely and absent of parents. He’s got fighting skills, herbs, and poison skills. He matures throughout the story.

Hobb has included some other characters in the novel that play a vital role in Fitz life. Notable ones are Chade, Burrich, and the Fool.

The world building and setting are well done as well. Like any other fantasy book, Assassin’s Apprentice is not our world, and there are a couple of aspects that stand out. Skill and Wit are two psychic abilities possessed by Fitz; these are mental abilities that allow him to connect with humans and animals.
Names in the story have power, and the names given to the characters give a hint of who they are. However, the importance of names in the book is emphasized even though Fitz real name is never revealed until about ¾ of the book.

Royal Assassin

Royal Assassin is the second book in Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb. It continues the story of Fitz Chivalry, the grandson to King Farseer. Fitz has begun training as an assassin and dedicated his life to Farseer line. The narrative continues as Fitz uncle continues his attempt to murder Fitz and then successfully murders King Farseer.

As the book opens up, we find Fitz in the mountain kingdom. He’s recovering after his uncle’s attempt on his life using poison. He uses his Skill ability – (magical ability to find anyone regardless of the distance). Through his Skill ability, Fitz finds out that he is needed back at home by his grandfather King Farseer. He and his good friend Burrich return to Buckkeep, and upon arrival, he finds that his childhood best friend Molly has come to find him.
King Farseer is ill and his son, the king to be Verity makes use of Fitz various abilities. Fitz is a professional assassin and has magical abilities to communicate with animals and find someone regardless of the distance. He uses his Wit ability to find a wolf named Nighteyes and creates a bond with him. Using this magical skill to communicate with animals is considered illegal in Buckkeep, and those found guilty of the crime are burned to death, and so Fitz makes this a secret.

Verity, Buckkeep king in waiting, has built ships to protect the kingdom from Outlanders and Red Ship who raid and kill his people. Because Verity is unable to coordinate his built ship to protect the shores, he embarks on a journey in search of Elderlings, powerful beings who once got rid of the Outlanders and Red Ships.

However, it’s not long after the king in waiting goes in search of Elderlings that Regal announces he is dead. Fitz knows that’s not true due to his magical skill but cannot prove it to the people. Additionally, Regal has his father murdered. Regal soon finds that Fitz has been using Wit and gets him imprisoned but takes a potion that makes him leave his body and reside in Nighteyes body. What follows next is a thrilling adventure as Fitz adapts into his new body and his efforts to get back to his own body.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Farseer Trilogy

Leave a Reply