Book Notification

Father Koesler Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Father Koesler Books

The Rosary Murders (1979)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death Wears a Red Hat (1980)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mind Over Murder (1981)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Assault with Intent (1982)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadow of Death (1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kill and Tell (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sudden Death (1985)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deathbed (1986)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadline for a Critic (1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Marked For Murder (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Eminence (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Masquerade (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chameleon (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Body Count (1992)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead Wrong (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bishop as Pawn (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Call No Man Father (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Requiem for Moses (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Man Who Loved God (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Greatest Evil (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
No Greater Love (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Till Death (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sacrifice (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Gathering (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

William X Kenzie is a renowned author who was born in Detroit, Michigan. In the year 1954, William X. Kenzie was ordinated into priesthood and served for more than twenty years as a Catholic Parish priest. However, twenty years down the line, William X. Kienzie, left the priesthood because of his disagreement with the churches refusal to marry divorces. Later on, William X. Kienzie became an editor of the Minneapolis based MPLS Magazine. He later on relocated to Texas where he became a director for the Centre of Contemplative Studies located at the University of Dallas. Kienzie married one Javan Herman Andrews, who was at the moment worked as a journalist from Detroit Free Press. However, in the year 2001, William X Kienzie passed away due to a heart attack.

While serving as an author, William X. Kienzie penned down more than twenty mystery novels, which feature Father Robert Koesler, who apart from being a catholic priest also serves as a detective. One of the best-known book by William X Kienzie was the Rosary Murder which was published in the year 1978. The book was adapted to a screenplay in the year 1987 and featured Donald Sutherland as the main character. A majority of the author’s book are set in Detroit, Michigan.

The Rosary Murder

The Rosary Murder is the first book in the Father Koesler book series. Just as it is the case with a majority of the author’s books, the Rosary Murder has been set in Detroit, Michigan, during the 1970’s. During this period, Detroit was widely known for its high crime and murder rate. Contributing to this madness, is a killer who is killing nuns and priests as well, just before the holy season of Lent and Easter. Father Koesler serves as an editor for the Detroit Catholic, a newspaper that is mainly penned down for Detroit’s Catholic churches including the church followers and the clergies. Due to the nature of his work, Father Koesler knows very many people including nuns, priests, city officials and parishioners as well. During his spare time, Father Koesler loves to read whodunits.

Due to the fact that this killings are taking place during the 1970’s, the author, William X Kienzie has included lots of cultural details, which in turn makes this book a rather nostalgic read, especially for anyone who is familiar with Detroit. For readers who may not be Catholics, may find this book a rather interesting read because it gives the readers a look at how, the nuns and the priests work, especially the confession concept. Furthermore, the book is also filled with suggestions that there were differences in opinions among the nuns, the priests and parishioners. Considering the fact that the author William X. Kienzie served as a Catholic priest, he provides some exceedingly important details about the church and in the process making, this book a realistic read. In an attempt to solve the mysteries, Father Kienzle joins forces with the local police. Along the way, we are introduced to several interesting characters, a majority of whom are featured in the next installment.

Death Wears a Red Hat

Death Wears a Red Hat is the second book in the Father Koesler book series. In Death Wears a Red Hat, a serial killer is on a killing spring. However, what makes the killings exceedingly unique is that the killer places his victims heads within symbolic locations in the churches located in Detroit. In the first round of killing, the killer targets the infamous criminals within the city, while in the second round of killing, the serial killer targets the small time criminals. The protagonist, Father Koesler shares the knowledge that he has with the local police so as to assist them with their investigations. Two reporters who work for rival media houses within Boston, compete with one another so as to get the scoop first.

Mind over Murder

As the third book in the series, we meet once again with Father Koesler. In this book, a Monsignor disappears mysteriously. However, after disappearing mysteriously, the Monsignor’s latest volume of diary is discovered and in the process more than five suspects who may have reasons to kill him are revealed in the process. The author, William X Kienzle in turn the various ways that each of these suspects executed the killing, and ensure the victim’s body disappeared without a trace. A friend within the ranks of the local police department calls Father Koesler. With that said, Mind over Murder is a mind blowing read that will capture the readers attention from the first book to the last. The author William X Kienzle has once again displayed his brilliance in creating a highly entertaining read that is full of Catholic doctrines. Father Koesler is a well-developed character, who has the ability of finding answers in places where one does not expect to find them.

Assault with Intent

Assault with Intent is the fourth book in the Father Koesler book series. In this installment, four clumsy assassins stalk the seminaries of Detroit. As the book begins, no one has managed to stop the assassins from killing a priest. Apart from the priest, the killers kill several other people who are linked with the seminary. Due to the fact that the killers are targeting the seminaries within Boston, one can only wonder whether the killings are being executed by an angry seminarian or a rather a fanatical leader of a conservative Catholic society. Father Koesler is brought in to have a look at the mystery and also find out as to whether there was any patter with the killings. However, being a part of the case, in turn makes Father Koesler a target for the clumsy assassins who want him dead.

Shadow of Death

Shadow of Death is the fifth book in the Father Koesler book series. In this book, there is a rather bizarre plot to destroy the papacy and this plot appears to be the motive for the first killing in Shadow of Death. A Cardinal is brutally killed within his own church, while another is assassinated in the Vatican. At the scene, a clue is left behind, thus raising the question as to whether there could be a connection between the killings. With that said, Shadow Death is an excellent addition to this highly entertaining and unique book series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Father Koesler

Leave a Reply