Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Faye Longchamp Mysteries Books In Order

Publication Order of Faye Longchamp Mysteries Books

Artifacts (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Relics (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Effigies (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Findings (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Floodgates (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Strangers (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plunder (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rituals (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Isolation (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Burials (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Undercurrents (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Catacombs (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Faye Longchamp Mysteries series is one of the highly successful novel series based on the thriller, mystery, and suspense genres. It was written by the prolific American author named Mary Anna Evans. There is a total of 9 books in the series, which were released between the years 2003 and 2015. The chief protagonist developed by author Evans in this series who features in all the books is Faye Longchamp. She is introduced as an archaeologist living near the coast of the Florida panhandle. Throughout the course of the series, Faye Longchamp is shown getting involved in a number of mysteries around him and eventually solves them with the help her wit and intelligence.

One of the most popular books of the Faye Longchamp Mysteries series written by Mary Anna Evans is titled ‘Plunder’. It was released by the Blackstone publication in the year 2012. At the start of the book, it is depicted that time is not favoring Faye Longchamp. Along with her husband named Joe, she is working near the Mississippi mouth. They are involved in researching the sites of archaeological importance which are believed to get swamped by oil very soon. Also, because of the disaster of Deepwater Horizon, it seems that she has Faye has been morphed of her contract job into another task that might cause her fledging company to get swamped. And the fact that Faye has been left to work a toddler underfoot because of a wounded babysitter is also not helping her. Later, an adolescent girl named Amande gets drawn towards Faye Longchamp. She seems to be idolize the confident and efficient archaeologist. Amande appears to be a curious and bright girl. Her life is stricken by poverty, and she lives on a houseboat along with her eccentric grandmother. The poor financial condition of Amande does not allow her to receive a good education that she deserves as a bright girl.

The prospects of Amande go on to worsen even more when her grandmother and uncle, living away from them, get murdered. Now, Amande is left with just a couple of other relatives, but none of them appear to be respectable at all as compared to her dead uncle. Due to such a situation, it seems that she is heading toward neglect or even worse. When Faye and Joe come to know about the poor situation of Amande, they begin to fight hard for her pathetic inheritance, which include her raggedy houseboat, several stock shares, and an island battered by a hurricane that is nowhere close to being inhabitable. As Faye Longchamp and her husband moved ahead to help Amande, they learn about the discovery of silver coins of the pirate era from Amande’s inheritance. But, they disappear as soon as they are found. And to add to the mystery, there is a deadly killer on the loose that appears to be a dark shadow. It comes as a surprise when Faye begins to take a more personal interest in the shady events. She herself gets surprised by the events taking place in the watery islands that are full of dangerous and greatest pirates. Another big problem that Faye Lonhchamp seems to be worried about is the continuous looming of the oil slick, that has plundered the country in the past and is still plundering the lands after so many years.

Another well known book of the series was published under the title of ‘Floodgates’. The Poisoned Press published it in the year 2009. In the starting sequence of the book, it is depicted that Faye and her archaeologists’ team is carrying out excavation in New Orleans. Everyone becomes shocked when they find a dead body which does appear to be an archaeological find at all. Because of the discovery of the dead body, Joe Wolf Mantooth and Faye get drawn into another investigation. The detective who is working out the investigation asks them to assist in the investigation because he believes that their expertise as professionals can prove to be of great help. The victim is identified as Shelly Broussard and the investigators soon learn about the trouble that had swirled around her like the roaring winds around the quiet and still eye of hurricanes. Faye suspects that the heroic works of Shelly Broussard during the aftermath of the Katrina hurricane could help to solve the mystery related to her death. Other help in the case comes from the numerous photos that are placed in the work files of Shelly. The lacy balconies in New Orleans depicted the romance and legend of the place. The moss drips of the Spanish origin come from the ancient oak branches in the city.

As always, Faye Longchamp was happy to get up early in the morning and carry herself to work. She makes dedicated efforts to safeguard the rich past of New Orleans with the help of her archaeologist team. But, centuries old tragedy in the form of slavery, wars, and flood that killed thousands of people in the past cast a dark shadow and threaten to wash away the history. Faye and her team come across one such horrific situation when they find Shelly’s corpse. At first, the police does not believe that there is anything to worry about. They think that it is just another corpse that they have to deal with after the terrific hurricane Katrina took caused a huge destruction of life and property. But, Faye makes them see through the eyes of an archaeologist and insists them to investigate the case as a murder mystery. She tells that the debris on top of Shelly’s body was not because of the flood. She was actually killed and buried and then made to look life she lost her life in the hurricane. Even the police start believing that the victim did not die due to drowning. Other clues hint that Shelley was brought to the flooded-out place dead or alive and left her there. The detective assigned to look into the case also starts taking the case seriously and realizes that there is a deadly murderer on the loose. Now, the detective and the archaeologist are required to join hands and work together to catch him as soon as possible. The book was highly appreciated by the readers from all over the world as well as by the critics. This wide appreciation helped the book to become successful. Even author Evans received a lot of praises for her determined efforts in bringing up the interesting plot of this book.


Book Series In Order » Characters » Faye Longchamp Mysteries