Book Notification

Felicity Hayes-McCoy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Finfarran Peninsula Books

The Library at the Edge of the World (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer at the Garden Café (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mistletoe Matchmaker (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Month of Borrowed Dreams (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Transatlantic Book Club (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heart of Summer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The House on an Irish Hillside (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas at the House on an Irish Hillside (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enough Is Plenty - The Year On The Dingle Peninsula (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Woven Silence (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dingle and Its Hinterland (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Felicity Hayes-McCoy is a published Irish author. She is also an actress.

The author was born in Ireland in the city of Dublin. She attended UCD in the seventies, where she graduated with her degree in Irish and English. She would go on to construct a career in the United Kingdom as a writer and an actress. She would work in television, digital media, radio, musical theater, and theater. She was featured as an actress in the 1991 television movie Prisoner of Honor, the 1988 television movie An Anorexic’s Tale, and the television series Wish Me Luck in 1988. She also wrote a 1998 episode of Ballykissangel titled ‘Personal Call’.

Hayes-McCoy is the creator and the author of the fictional Finfarran series of novels. These books have a setting on the West Coast of Ireland in a made up county. The first book in the series came out in 2016 and is titled The Library at the Edge of the World. It is described as engaging and joyous by The Sunday Times. The Sunday Independent called it a ‘feel good novel’ and an ‘easy, pleasant summer read’. The American and Canadian book edition was a Library Reads Pick. The second book in this fictional series was published in 2017 and is titled Summer at the Garden Cafe.

The third book of the series was published in 2017 and is titled The Mistletoe Matchmaker. It’s a story that will warm your heart and is of course set during Christmas time. The fourth novel was published in 2018 and is titled The Month of Borrowed Dreams. The Irish Independent recommended this book, calling it in its review a ‘heartwarming’ book that will have readers wanting to read all of the ones that came before. The fifth novel in this series was published in 2019 and is titled The Transatlantic Book Club.

The series has been praised by a variety of individuals. Author Cathy Kelly called the books ‘sunshine’ and compared them to a delicious feast. Best selling author Jenny Colgan liked the books as well, describing them as ‘heartwarming’ and ‘charming’. The series has been fairly popular, enough so that they were translated into several different languages. In the English format, they can be bought in audio book and e-book format.

This Irish author has also written plenty of nonfiction books as well. Her book The House on an Irish Hillside was published in 2012. It encapsulates the years that the writer spent in London, working to get jobs as an actress. That is also the time where she met her husband, who was English and a director of operas. It also goes to Ireland to a stone house located on Dingle peninsula, where she spent time as a teenager studying Irish language.

A sequel would come out to that nonfiction book, thanks in part to reader request. The follow up book was published in 2015 and is titled Enough is Plenty. The book comes with the added bonus of photographs that were taken by the author and her spouse. The book goes over a Celtic year’s cycle spent in the author’s home and garden. The book comes with a foreword written by Alice Taylor, an Irish writer.

She would also write another memoir, titled A Woven Silence. The book came out in 2015. It centers on the consequences of erased memories for families, individuals, nations and communities. It was inspired by the cousin of her grandmother, Marion Stokes, and her own lost story as one of a group of women who played a big part during the 1916 Rising of Ireland. She also co-wrote Dingle and Its Hinterland with Wilf Judd, her husband. The book also included their own photographs and came out in 2017.

The Library at the Edge of the World is the debut novel in the Finfarran series by Felicity Hayes-McCoy. Check out this story that was recommended by Cathy Kelly, Jenny Colgan, and more! It’s a story that is all about feeling good and finding out where you truly belong.

As she drives her van, a mobile library, through the various landscapes, villages and farms of Finfarran, Hanna does her best to try and focus on the positive and not other things. Like the sleek life she had in London that she left behind, or the fact that her husband cheated on her and she left him. She also tries not to think about the fact that she’s now living with her grouchy mother in an extra bedroom she has.

Hanna does have a daughter, named Jazz, but she’s out traveling all around the world. Hanna’s trying to do her best to get along with her mother, but it’s a tough relationship that is full of tension. Why not take this time to try and go out and be more independent? When her library might be closed, she finds out that her careful planning may be in danger.

Hanna’s an unlikely candidate, but discovers herself at the front of a fight to try and restore the community’s soul and repair its fragmented nature. Along the way, she’s hoping that she can somehow create or find the new existence that she’s been searching for. Will she come across it? Read this book to find out!

Summer at the Garden Cafe is the second novel in the Finfarran series. This is the story about how friends, love and even books can be healing.

The Garden Cafe can be found on the west coast of Ireland in the town of Lissbeg. This is the place where the community comes to hang out, to make plans and talk, even sharing secrets.

Jazz is Hanna’s daughter and is sill trying to process her shock over her parents’ marriage dissolving. She’s thinking about more than cafe gossip, however. She’s also developing a crush on a man that she can’t go after, maybe partly because she’s distancing herself from family and friends.

Hanna is not fully aware of what’s going on with Jazz. But when her ex shows up, Malcolm, she starts to figure it out. She’s also wondering whether keeping his secrets might not have been the best decision. When Hanna finds a book in her garden, could it help out Jazz and turn her summer around? Read the second book in the Finfarran series to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Felicity Hayes-McCoy

Leave a Reply