Book Notification

Fiddler and Fiora Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fiddler and Fiora Books

Just Another Day in Paradise (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Frog and the Scorpion (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gatsby's Vineyard (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just Enough Light to Kill (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Art of Survival (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Money Burns (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King of Nothing (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Hurts (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Fiddler and Fiora series is a reputed book series of crime fiction, mystery, romance, and thriller novels. It is comprised of a total of 8 books, which were released between the years 1985 and 1993. The series is written by the husband-wife pair of writers, Ann and Evan Maxwell. They are popularly known by their writing name of A.E. Maxwell and have written this series under the pen name of Elizabeth Lowell. Each and every novel in this series features the chief protagonists in the roles of Fiora Flynn and Fiddler Flynn. Fiddler is depicted as a private investigator, who lives in Southern California. He is known to be a knight errant and likes to maintain low-key. Fiddler Flyn is very lethal to deal with when he decides to enter into the lethal mode. However, most of the times he is quite calm and composed. Prior to becoming a PI, he used to be involved in drug smuggling and working as a journalist. Fiora Flynn is the former wife of Fiddler. She usually maintains an on and off relationship with him as his lover. Fiora is employed in the profession of investment banking. On certain occasions, she tends to assist Fiddler in his investigation, thereby providing him some much required help as a partner. Author Lowell started writing the Fiddler & Fiora series in the year 1985 and also came up with its first novel in the same year. Finally, the series came to an end in 1993 with its final novel called Murder Hurts. Over the course of this series, the readers get to learn that Fiddler Flynn manages to become independently rich. He takes on various investigation cases and solves them with the help of his intelligence, wit, courage, and the assistance of Fiora. This profession seems to be the only source of livelihood Fiddler and seeing his high status and enormous wealth, everyone seems to wonder how did he manage to become so wealthy. The series includes some of the most common themes including adventure and action. Lowell has described the villains in the books that range from being Columbian drug dealers and KGB officers to corporate executives and artists from the high societies.

Elizabeth Lowell is a NY Times bestselling writer from Wisconsin, who also writes under her original name, Ann Maxwell. From a very early age, Lowell had developed an interest in reading romance novels. This helped her to understand the basics of novel writing and eventually grow as a writer. Throughout her writing career, Lowell has written over 50 books. On several occasions, she has teamed up with her loving husband named Evan Maxwell. Lowell Charters is another pen name that Lowell uses many times for writing a different genre of novels. With Evan, she particularly writes crime fiction novels. Besides writing and reading, the other interests of author Lowell include listening to music and spending time with her family. Lowell has graduated with a BA degree from the California University. During the first couple of years of her marriage, Lowell used to become very bored of staying at her home all day with her infant son as Evan used to work for late hours. This is when she thought of using the spare time for attempting to write something that had interest in. And the first thing that Lowell began with was science fiction. She would visit libraries in her community and study about the nuances of writing and then come home to work on her stories. And eventually, she successfully wrote books after books and became a published author. Over 23 million printed copies of her novels have been sold till date in more than 20 languages. Lowell’s successful career reached new heights of fame after receiving prestigious awards like the RITA Award. As of today, Lowell resides in the Pacific Northwest with her happy family. She is now training her daughter to become a popular novelist like her.

An interesting book of the Fiddler and Fiora series written by Elizabeth Lowell is entitled ‘The Frog and the Scorpion’. It was released by the Bantam publication in the year 1987. The main characters mentioned in this book include Fiddler Flynn, Fiora Flynn, and several others. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Fiddler takes up a new case at a time when Fiora goes out of the city in relation to her profession. The case involves the Palestinians extorting Jews. Fiddler is asked to take down the extorters with the assistance of the Mossad. Other than the assignment, Fiddler didn’t have any intention of landing himself in the middle of the age of feud between the Arabs and the Jews. In fact, he wished to stay at his home, feed his hummingbirds, and relax under the shining sun. But, he couldn’t prevent himself from igniting a sultry spy’s passions, who hailed from Israel. In the follow up of the events, Fiddler Flynn gets caught in a crossfire between several Muslim extremists and an Iranian banker of Jewish origin. The dialogues and characterizations penned by Lowell are quite excellent. Her description of the story is full of actions and thrill. With this story, author Lowell has tried to raise the issues of terrorism and illegal immigration, and the attempts that can be done to curb them. The plot looks well hewn with cracking dialogues and intriguing characters. It can be rightly said about this book that it provides literary amber to the readers by capturing every scene in an excellent way.

Another very interesting book of this series is called ‘Just Enough Light to Kill’. This book was released by Harper Collins publishers in 1993, after its first publication in 1988. Once again, the story takes place in California and depicts Fiora & Fiddler Flynn in lead roles. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that the city of Mexico is filled with dangerous people all around and it can be costly mistake to mess with them. Fiora Flynn comes to Fiddler with a sad news about the killing of one of his old buddies in the southern region of the border. Even after ending his marriage with Fiddler, Fiora still has feelings for him and wants to give a new start to their relationship. But, she knows that this news is not going to make things easy for them. As the victim was a very good friend of Fiddler an a Customs agent working for the United States, Fiddler gets filled with rage to find the one who killed him and take revenge of his killing. Fiora joins Fiddler to work on this mission and their trail takes them close to home in California. While trying to hunt down the murderer, they come across an old enemy, who they thought was dead. Now, the situation becomes that of life and death for both of them, and seems very difficult to overcome.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Fiddler and Fiora

Leave a Reply