Book Notification

Fighting Sail Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fighting Sail Books

The Jackass Frigate (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
His Majesty's Ship (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
True Colours (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cut and Run (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Patriot's Fate (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Torrid Zone (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scent of Corruption (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
HMS Prometheus (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blackstrap Station (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honour Bound (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sealed Orders (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea Trials (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lone Escort (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seeds of War (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Barbary Coast (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Fighting Sail” series by writer Alaric Bond are set during the Revolutionary and Napoleonic wars. It shows insights to the world of the naval officers and seamen that fought during this time.

For research for these books, Bond likes to use books, rather than just using the internet. That being said, he does find the internet a helpful tool.

They feature no central hero, but features recurring characters from all stations and ranks. The main reason the books do not feature the same main character all the way through is because, to Bond, it feels artificial when the hero is able to stay alive or just continues to get promotions. Then the series has to keep on continuing until either the author loses energy or ranks. There are guys in the books that will prosper, and others are going to fall. Inevitably, there will men that die.

The first book in the series was released in the year 2008, when “The Jackass Frigate” was published, it is also Bond’s debut novel.

“The Jackass Frigate” is the first novel in the “Fighting Sail” series, which was released in the year 2008. A powerful ship, a questionable crew, and a mission that must succeed. During the spring of the year 1795, a top of the line gunship (called the HMS Vigilant) is about to leave Spithead as senior escort for a small and seemingly innocent convoy.

The ship’s crew is made up of a motley crew of people: there are trained seamen, members of the press, and volunteers. The officers will have to turn this motley group into effective fighters. All before the French can figure out the real significance of the convoy.

“His Majesty’s Ship” is the second novel in the “Fighting Sail” series, which was released in the year 2009. December in the year 1796. The times are filled with discontent and unrest in Britain. It is made that much worse due to the war they are waging with Revolutionary France. There is a possible invasion coming, just to add to the list of problems. The HMS Pandora (a frigate with 28 guns) has just left the dockyard and is just about to go join the Mediterranean Fleet.

Captain Banks has more than just the potential French invasion and brutal winter weather on his mind. There is the untested ship, a crew with at least one killer on it, and a tyrant for a First Lieutenant. To top it all off, he is about to sail right into one of the biggest naval battles in British history. Battle of Cape St. Vincent it is called.

“True Colours” is the third novel in the “Fighting Sail” series, which was released in the year 2010. Mutiny leaves the Royal Navy immobilized, and all that holds invasion back is a commander communicating with a fleet that does not exist.

A vicious mutiny keeps Great Britain largest home fleet out of commission. Adam Duncan (who is the North Sea Squadron’s commander) has to keep his eye constantly trained over the Dutch coast. Here, a powerful invasion force is going to take advantage of Britannia’s weakest moment.

“Cut and Run” is the fourth novel in the “Fighting Sail” series, which was released in the year 2011. Lieutenant King has become disillusioned with the scarce opportunities inside the Royal Navy, and decides to spend time in the Honourable East India Company. Taking a trip with the India Company is far from easy, as the captain turns out to be a former enemy of King’s.

There are new perils, too: privateers, storms, and the might of the French Navy. It makes King see that there this is just as much adventure in the merchant service. It makes him wonder just why he chose to cut and run.

“The Patriot’s Fate” is the fifth novel in the “Fighting Sail” series, which was released in the year 2012. The year is 1798 and Ireland rises up after years of injustice and repression. The Rebels (who are supported by an invasion fleet of mighty French) prepare to take their land, but find they are countered by a high powered British battle squadron.

A pair of friends and ex-allies, who were separated by circumstance and chance, see things from their opposing sides. All the while, political intrigue, storms, and personal dynamics run rampant.

Fans of the novel found this to be another gripping novel of this series, and once again Bond is able to combine captivating fiction with historical fact. Bond is also able to create characters that are both engaging and believable. The book is simply to put down for very long, and readers were left wanting more. Readers enjoyed seeing some of the characters from other books in this series return.

“The Torrid Zone” is the sixth novel in the “Fighting Sail” series, which was released in the year 2014. HMS Scylla has one last trip to do before this tired ship with its burnt out crew gets its much postponed re-fit. Headed for St. Helena, it is supposed to deliver the governor of the island. It is a simple mission. A declaration of peace is looking likely, and nobody expects any problems. A commander of a French battle squadron has some other ideas.

Readers found this to be an entertaining adventure that has a great combined sea and land battle that some have ever had the pleasure to read. There is plenty of romance, suspense, and intrigue for these eclectic officers and crew to get caught up in. Once again, Bond has crafted an excellent piece of historical fiction, and he is one of the best writers of Napoleonic era naval fiction. .

“The Scent of Corruption” is the seventh novel in the “Fighting Sail” series, which was released in the year 2015. Summer of the year 1803. The uneasy peace reached with France has ended. Britain is once again plunged into the turmoil of a war. Sir Richard Banks spends time on the beach and gets appointed to a seventy-four gun line of battleship (called the HMS Prometheus).

An admiralty wastes no time in eagerly calling her out to sea. The ship has just been majorly re-fit. At the same time, Banks has just spent the past year with his young family and wife. Is he going to prove that he is worthy of such a powerful ship, and can he count on his officers for support?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Fighting Sail

Leave a Reply