Book Notification

Fiona Valpy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Escape To France Books

The Season of Dreams (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Recipe for Hope (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Light Through the Vines (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of French For... Books

The French for Love (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The French for Always (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The French for Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sea of Memories (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beekeeper's Promise (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dressmaker's Gift (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Skylark's Secret (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Storyteller of Casablanca (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cypress Maze (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Fiona Valpy left her career in Marketing and Public Relations in order to explore new avenues, now she writes and teaches yoga.

She renovated an old rambling farmhouse with her husband, and picked up new-found skills in interior decorating and cement-mixing. Despite this, her preferred pastime is wine-tasting. This is while she spent seven years living there, after moving there in 2007 from the UK.

Each of these inspirations, along with her love for the place, the history and the people have made their way into the books she has written. They have been translated into languages such as Italian, Dutch, German, Lithuanian, French, Czech, Norwegian, and Slovenian.

She writes the “French for …” series and some stand alone novels. Her work is from the genres of historical and romance. Her debut novel “The French for Love” was released in the year 2013.

“The French for Love” is the first novel in the “French for …” series, which was released in the year 2013. This novel stars Gina and Cedric. Gina has lost her boyfriend, her perfect job, and her favorite aunt all in the span of just a few months. When she inherits her aunt’s ramshackle French house, Gina decides to pack up and move to the Bordeaux countryside, where she will swap English weather for sunshine, blue skies, excellent wine, and a new start.

What she never bothered to factor in was a hole in the roof, discovering some family secrets she was never meant to know, and the most embarrassing of language faux pas.

After feeling a long way from home, Gina is going to have to rely on her new found friends, her own hard work. As well as Cedric, her mysterious, charming, and very handsome new stonemason. While desire does not need a translation, love is a different matter. Will Gina be able to overcome the language barrier in order to make her French dream come true?

The book features some great descriptions of France and some outstanding characters. It is very engaging that readers found themselves not wanting the experience to end at all. This story is simply a delight to read and fans cannot wait to check out more written by Fiona Valpy.

“The French for Always” is the second novel in the “French for …” series, which was released in the year 2014. This novel stars Sara. Leaving behind the grey skies back home to renovate a crumbling French Chateau into a boutique wedding venue is a big leap of faith for Sara. She and Gavin, her fiance sink their entire life savings into the gorgeous Chateau Bellevue, which is under blue skies and is surrounded by vineyards in the center of Bordeaux.

After spending months of hard work, this dream begins to become reality. But then Gavin walks out in the middle of their first season. Overnight, Sara is left alone and she could lose everything.

Her own heart is breaking, and has five weddings before the season ends to turn the business around rescue her own dreams. With a little bit of French courage and the locals’ help, will she be able to save Chateau Bellevue before the summer ends?

Sara is a likable character that readers truly warm to over the course of the novel. She truly is a fantastic romantic heroine, as she is resourceful, big hearted, and strong. This is a charming book and a great page turner. With all of the characters at the party, there is never a dull moment in the book at all.

“The French for Christmas” is the third novel in the “French for …” series, which was released in the year 2014. This book stars Evie and Dr. Didier. Evie used to just LOVE Christmas, but this year she just cannot wait for the presents and the tinsel to be nothing but a distant memory.

Her friends offer her their cottage out in the beautiful French countryside, Evie is quick to say yes. Will Brooke, her soon-to-be-ex-husband and celebrity chef, is plastered all over the news with his newest ‘love interest’, so leaving the country seems to be the perfect plan.

Evie, who is armed with her French grandma’s tattered notebook filled with recipes, is determined to ignore Christmas altogether. She will just bake herself right back to happiness.

When she meets her next door neighbor, named Dr. Didier (a tres gorgeous guy), she finds somebody that will be a willing taste tester. Could it be possible that he might be interested in more than just her Tarte Tatin?

Readers found themselves consuming each page of the book, just hungry for more of Ella’s story that is set in the past, more of Kendra’s story in the future, and more about Ile de Re. Fiona is a great talent and is able to transport readers off to France with her descriptive skills. Evie’s story is very touching that made some readers cry while they read it.

“Sea of Memories” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2018. The year is 1937, and seventeen year old Ella’s life is changed forever after she gets sent to spend the whole summer on Ile de Re and meets the creative and charismatic Christophe. The pair spend the entire summer together, exploring the beautiful island’s crystal-clear waters and sandy beaches. In all of Ella’s life, this is the first time she really feels free.

The outbreak of war throws everything into a new light. Ella has to go back to Scotland, where she ends up volunteering for the war effort alongside a dashing man named Angus. Here in this new world, Ella feels that she is drifting further from the woman she was on the Ile de Re. Will she ever find her way back? Does she even want to?

This book has some gorgeous and evocative writing that spills right off the page and takes them right to another time and another place. All of the characters come to life and you feel for Ella and enjoy reading about Christophe and Finn.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Fiona Valpy

Leave a Reply