Book Notification

Five Find-Outers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Five Find-Outers Books

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Strange Bundle (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Secret Room (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Spiteful Letters (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Missing Necklace (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Hidden House (1948)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Pantomime Cat (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Invisible Thief (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Vanished Prince (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of Holly Lane (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of Tally-Ho Cottage (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Strange Messages (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Missing Man (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of Banshee Towers (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon

The series Five Find-Outers also known as Five Find-Outers and a dog, falls under the genre of the mystery series. The book is meant to target the younger audience and features a group of five young kids along with a dog, who always end up solving one mystery after another hence the name Five Find-Outers.

The series is set in a fictional village named Peterswood. The five main characters of the series are namely Larry (Laurence Daykin), Daisy (Margaret Daykin), Pip (Phillip Hilton), Bets (Elizabeth Hilton) and Fatty (Frederick Algernon Trotteville). The dog in the series is Fatty’s Scottish terrier names as buster who follows the gang around in helping solving the mysteries.Character details:Fatty- full name Frederick Algernon Trotteville is probably the most important protagonist of the series.

Fatty earned his name because of the initials of his real name plus the fact that he is more stoutly built then the kids around him. Unlike the rest of the friends in his group of 5 Fatty comes from a wealthy family, and being the only child of his parents Fatty has his fare share of riches from his parents and even his relatives. Fatty likes to invest his riches in props that can help in solve mysteries; these include disguise items such as clothes, wigs, false teeth and other deceiving items to change his identity. Even though Fatty has boastful nature and his financial dominance over his other friends might bring about some hard feelings, Fatty is by heart a good natured and willing to spend his money among other people. Over the period of time Fatty spends with the group he learns some levels of modesty so that his fellow mates might not feel uncomfortable around him.

With a zest to be the finest detective Fatty works hard at the school where he studies and stands out as one of the prominent students of the class.Larry- full name Laurence Daykin is the first character that is introduced to the readers in the series. Larry is the eldest of the five in the group and brother to his younger sister Margaret Daykin also a part of the group. During the first two books of the series Larry is considered to the leader of the group, however in the third book Larry hands over the position of the leader of the crew to Fatty after he proves himself worthy of leading the group. During the series to follow Larry’s character development does not comes to par with that of his other group members.Daisy- full name Margaret Daykin is Larry’s younger sister. Daisy is considered as the brains of the whole group, in fact Daisy is given the credit for coming up with the idea of forming Five Finder-Outer, and Daisy has a knack for coming up with resourceful ideas for the group.

Pip- full name Philip Hilton is the elder of the two Hilton’s in the five finders. He is the elder brother to Bets, Pip’s parents aren’t very much appreciative of his mystical endeavors and rather want him to focus on his education; however Pip is an integral part of the Five Finder-Outer and always finds a way to join forces with his friend in solving mysteries.Bets- full name Elizabeth Hilton is the younger sister of Pip Hilton and also the youngest member of the five people in the crew. Bet’s has been one of those characters who are portrayed as underdogs. Bet’s is only part of the crew because of her fascination with Fatty, she adores him like an idol, also Bet’s time and again proves her worth in the series by finding vital clues helping the crew to come up with the solution. Bet’s is also given credit for coming up with the name of ‘Five Find-Outer and Dog’ for the group.The group usually pursues the mysteries during their summer vacations.

As the series start apart from Bet’s all of the other four members attend Boarding school however Bet’s goes to day school which frustrates her most. The adventures of the Five Find-Outer begins with the first book of the series name “The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage” which was published in year 1943, the series lasted for another 14 books with “The Mystery of Banshee Towers” being the final one published in (1961).

Books of the series: Brief summary-‘The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage’: it is the first book in the series and introduces us to the five main characters. Interestingly at the start of the series the group of four i.e. Larry, Daisy, Bet’s and Pip were all skeptical of Fatty and letting him be the part of the group, however as the story goes on Fatty inherently becomes the binding member of the whole group. The series also features an interesting head to head battle of the wits between the policeman of the town Mr. Goon and the Five Find-Outers.

The first book of the series circulates around the mystery when in one night of summer vacations the cottage of Mr. Hick’s catches fire under unknown circumstances. Eager to find the answer behind this tragedy the group sets off in the pursuit of the person who did this all the while running from Mr. Goon the policeman who doesn’t likes them meddling in the affairs of the police.

Brief summary-‘The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat’: Mystery of the Disappearing Cat was the second part of the series that followed. Much like the first series the incident in the book takes place in the summer vacations, when a new neighbor comes to live next door to Hiltons much to the delight of Pip and Bets who enjoy the cats their neighbor Lady Candling brought with her. The children get around making friends with a young boy named Luke who works under Mr. Tupping the gardener. Mr. Tupping is disliked by the children for his mistreatment to Luke, however the real mystery starts when one of Lady Candlings most prized cat, ‘Dark Queen’ goes missing and all the clues point towards the direction of Luke, hence the children set of for solving the real criminal behind the case and to prove the innocence of their friend Luke, all the while having a neck to neck race with Mr. Goon over the case.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Five Find-Outers

Leave a Reply