Book Notification

Five Senses Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Five Senses Books

The Hands of Lyr (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mirror of Destiny (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scent of Magic (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wind in the Stone (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Taste of Magic (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Five Senses series is a well known novel series of science fiction and fantasy books. It is comprised of five books in total, which were released between the years 1994 and 2006. This series has been penned a very popular American author named Andre Norton. Each of the books of this series is specifically based on one of the 5 senses. Author Norton had started writing this series in the year 1994 and had also come up with its first novel in the same year. It is said that even though the books’ plots are linked to each other loosely, they can even be read as stand alone stories. So, it can very well be said about this series that its books are independent from one another. The series was concluded in 1996 with the release of its final book, A Taste of Magic. In order to write the story of this particular book, author Norton had to collaborate with author Jean Rabe. All the novels in the series became very famous after their releases. They were published in many places, both nationally and internationally. And they succeeded in attracting a huge number of audience, who liked reading the interesting stories. Because of all the positive responses, author Norton gained a lot of motivation. Her popularity continued to increase with each book’s release. And by the time the series came to an end, she had successfully established herself as a prominent author.

Andre Norton was regarded as a noteworthy novelist of her time. He used to write mostly fantasy, science fiction, high fantasy, and other fiction stories. Her books were meant written keeping in mind the likes of both young adults and adults. Therefore, all kinds of young author had become her fan by reading her novels. Norton’s stories contained some magical elements that used to make the readers intrigued for them. This was one factor that led to the development of a huge fan base of author Norton. Norton’s birth had happened in 1912 and she breathed her last in 2005. Throughout the course of her writing career, Norton had won numerous prestigious awards and accolades for her hard work and dedication. Some of the precious awards won by her includes the Damon Knight Grand Master prize in 1983 by the SFWA and the Gandalf Grand Master in 1977. When Norton won the latter, she became the first woman write to achieve this landmark. During the initial stages of her career, author Norton used to focus on writing adventure and historical fiction stories. But, when she did not see any success in these genres, she decided to switch to fantasy/science fiction. This step proved to a great one for her as it worked wonders and helped Norton gain her popularity and fame in the writing field. Among the most commonly featured elements in Andre Norton’s novels, there are cats and several other pet animals. Typically, Norton would show the animals as very intelligent and having telepathic capabilities. Over the years of being in the field of writing, Norton penned multiple book series, but she is especially popular for the Witch World book series. The very first novel that Norton had written was when she was working for the annual paper during her time in school. Later, she did some modifications of that story and published it as the second book of her career. The book was named Ralestone Luck and was published in 1938. The first published novel of Norton’s career is called The Prince Commands, which was released in 1934. In spite of a few publishings early on, author Norton was not able to achieve the status of a full time write until 1958. But, after she managed to do so, there was no turning back for her.

The debut book of the Five senses series written by author Andre Norton is entitled ‘The Hands of Lyr’. This book was released in the year 1994 by the Avon publication. The chief characters mentioned in the book include Kryna and Alnosha. Author Norton has done the setting of the story in a fictional world called Ryft. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that a couple of young adventurers set out on a journey in their quest to find the light. Ryft is shown as a desolate and blackened land, which was believed to be a paradise once. The magnificent Lyr was the goddess of this vast garden land. But, the beauty of Ryft was destroyed a long time ago by a crafty and old evil. Alnosha arrives at the ruined place while she is a child. She receives the guidance from the last priestess of the forgotten goddess. As a result of this, Alnoshsa discovers her hand talent and realizes that she is very extraordinary at this talent. So, she begins to hone it. This talent is later found to be the ability of making things divine by just touching them. Some time later, a youth from the High Born society visits Ryft. He is an outlaw and is being pursued by some villainous servants of false gods. This youth, Kryn, seems to mistrust and hate all the mystical powers, but feels unexpectedly attracted towards Alnosha. He sees her as the Gifted Girl. The two come together and embark on perilous and strange odyssey that leads them to savage city. Alnosha is expected to restore her special talent from the evil elements at any cost or else she will face a terrifying and hopeless future by getting trapped eternally by the thrall of the evil.

The next installment of this series is called ‘Mirror of Destiny’. It was published by the Eos publication in 1995. Norton has described the lead characters in this novel as Twilla and Ylon, and has set it in a fictional city called Varslaad. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that as per the lottery of the King, Twilla must accept the proposal of getting married. This is important for her because those who wed are the only ones that are able to come out alive of the miserable fate of the ones penetrating into the primeval forest. As Twilla has undergone a drastic change from being an apprentice orphaned at a very young age to a wise woman, she will not be proceeding without protection. On the journey, Twilla carries along with her a powerful artifact that illuminates and obscures, and allows to alter perception and appearance. However, Twilla cannot be guarded with just the artifact. The hidden elements in the forest are also equipped with arms. They possess the mystical weapons of mind, spirit, and body. For protecting Twilla from such elements, Ylon serves as her champion. Ylon is the son a commander and was left blinded tragically due to a sorcery. He gives company to Twilla and guards her at every step.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Five Senses

Leave a Reply