Book Notification

Flavia Albia Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Flavia Albia Mystery Books

The Ides of April (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enemies at Home (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spook Who Spoke Again (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Election (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Graveyard of the Hesperides (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Third Nero (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pandora's Boy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Invitation to Die (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Capitol Death (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grove of the Caesars (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Comedy of Terrors (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Desperate Undertaking (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Legacy (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Tiber (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lindsey Davis is a British author.

Lindsey was born on January 1, 1949, in Birmingham, located in the United Kingdom. The historical novelist attended Oxford University, where she graduated with her degree in English literature. After that, she was employed as a civil servant. After thirteen years of civil service, she left it behind. One of her romantic novels she had penned was at the time a runner-up for the 1985 Georgette Heyer Historical Novel Prize. Lindsey then decided that she wanted to be a writer, starting out writing romantic serials for Woman’s Realm, a U.K. magazine for women.

The interest she had in history and archaeology would lead to the author writing her own historical novel which revolved around Vespasian and Antonia Caenis, his lover, which she titled The Course of Honour. Even though the novel was completed, she could not manage to find a publisher for it. She tried again with The Silver Pigs, a book featuring Roman detective Marcus Didius Falco, which was set in the same period of time. It was published in 1989.

This began her success as an author of historical mysteries. There would follow nineteen more novels in the Falco series, joined by Falco: The Official Companion. Davis has won several literary awards and also served as honorary president for the Classical Association from the time period of 1997 to 1998. She has won the Best First Novel Award for The Silver Pigs from the Authors’ Club in 1989. She has also won the Crimewriters’ Association Dagger in the Library and the Historical Dagger from Ellis Peters. She has also won the Sherlock Award for Best Comic Detective for Falco.

She has also been Chair of the U.K. Crimewriters’ Association and Chair of the Society of Authors. She was awarded the International Prize from the city of Zaragoza in 2009 for her historical novel writing career. For this she received the Premio De Honor de Novela Historica Ciudad de Zaragoza. She was also awarded the Premio Colosseo from Rome in 2010 for enhancing Rome’s image. She was awarded the Crimewriters’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger in 2011 for lifetime achievement. She was the inaugural winner of the Barcelona Historical Novel Prize in 2013.

Her novels are published in the United States and the U.K. and have been translated into different languages. They are also available often in audio format and large print. Her books have been adapted into drama serials produced by BBC Radio 4, featuring Anton Lesser in the role of Falco and Anna Madeley plays Helena. You can find out more about her work by going to her home site. She also has a Lindsey Davis newsletter that is occasionally published digitally.

Lindsey Davis is the creator and the author of the Flavia Albia mystery series of fictional novels. The series is also known as Falco: The New Generation. It is a spin-off of the Marcus Didius Falco Mystery series. This series puts the daughter of Falco in ancient Rome as an informer during Domitian’s reign, investigating various crimes including murder in the Roman Empire. The series began in 2013 with the publication of the first novel, The Ides of April. That was followed in 2014 with the release of the second novel, Enemies at Home. There was a short comic novella released after this called The Spook Who Spoke Again. The third novel came out in 2015 and is titled Deadly Election. In 2016, the fourth novel came out, titled The Graveyard of the Hesperides. It was followed by the fifth novel, The Third Nero. The sixth novel came out after and is titled Pandora’s Boy. The seventh novel is titled A Capitol Death, followed by the eighth novel The Grove of the Caesars, the ninth novel A Comedy of Terrors, the tenth novel Desperate Undertaking, and the eleventh novel Fatal Legacy.

The Ides of April is the first novel in the Flavia Albia Mystery series by Lindsey Davis. This is the first book of a historical crime novel that is set in ancient Rome featuring the main character Flavia Alba, who is the adopted daughter of Marcus Didius Falco.

The story is actually based on events that really took place in history. These were mysterious poisoning cases where the victims afflicted often died and were not even aware that they had been singled out and attacked in the first place before passing. Flavia Albia is twenty-eight years old and has experience as an investigator.

Her history and being born British let her to see Roman society and all of its traditions and culture as an outsider. She’s also a woman that is trying to be independent in a world dominated by men. This book takes place on Aventine Hill, a plebeian place with monumental temples, back lanes often muddied, and snack bars you wouldn’t want to visit.

The reader gets to meet the personal circle that surrounds Flavia, some of which are already known and some of which are new. You’ll also be able to visit familiar places and hear of old friends. However, the main focus remains on Albia, a tough and smart woman who is able to take on injustice and faces risks while winning allies in the process. Follow along and delve into an all-new, older world by reading this book!

Enemies at Home is the second novel in the Flavia Albia Mystery series by Lindsey Davis. If you love historical mystery or enjoyed the first novel in this series, check this sequel out!

With private informers, taking on a new case comes with rules. Don’t take clients that are not able to pay. Do not do favors for friends. Don’t work with family. And if you’re a woman, stay away from attractive men. Ancient Rome had far more slaves than free citizens. The citizens were outnumbered by sheer numbers, and Romans feared their own home slaves.

Roman law shored up fears by saying that if a household head were murdered while at home, and the guilty party was not quickly found, all of the slaves would be held responsible and put to death, with no exceptions.

Then a couple is discovered dead in their bedroom, with the house robbed. The slaves know they will be held responsible, so they flee the home. They go to the Temple of Ceres, traditionally a haven for refugees. Flavia Alba is asked by the authorities to solve the murders. Can she do it? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Flavia Albia Mystery

Leave a Reply