Book Notification

Fool’s Gold Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fool's Gold Books

Chasing Perfect (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Almost Perfect (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sister of the Bride (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Finding Perfect (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only Mine (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only Yours (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only His (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer Days (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer Nights (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Summer Long (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fool's Gold Christmas (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just One Kiss (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two of a Kind (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Little Words (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas on 4th Street (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
When We Met (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Before We Kiss (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Until We Touch (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hold Me (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kiss Me (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thrill Me (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marry Me at Christmas (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Best of My Love (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fool's Gold Wedding (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fool's Gold Short Stories Books

A Christmas Bride (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Almost Summer (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Halfway There (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Yours for Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweeter With You (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Kiss in the Snow (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fool's Gold Non-Fiction Books

Fool's Gold Cookbook (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Set within a fictional small Californian town named ‘Fool’s Gold’, this series of novels focusing on the idyllic location comes from American author Susan Mallery. Looking at the lives and the loves of the residents there, this popular line of romance books has proven to be popular with its ever growing audience. With well over fifteen books in the series and a number of spin-offs, Fool’s Gold is a self-contained world that’s immersive for its readers as they get to know the many characters there.

Having also constructed an entire history for this unique setting, Mallery allows her readers to get involved and interact with this small town idyll that she’s constructed. A New York Times bestseller, she’s separated her books into smaller collections, as they’re broken up into years in the town’s time-span. As this town has endless possibilities to continue, so too will the books, which will keep increasing along with their appeal.

Fool’s Gold: Chasing Perfect

This was to be the novel that Susan Mallery first introduced into the world of ‘Fool’s Gold’, with it being initially published on the 27th of April, 2010. Setting up the idyllic town for the first time, it establishes the people and location, building the overall atmosphere as a whole for the reader. Giving a general layout of it all as well, it allows the audience to gain an understanding of where everything is.

In Fool’s Gold there’s a problem and that’s the simple fact that not many men seem to be waiting around, as a large number of them are moving out and away from the local area. For many it could be the lure of big city life, or the excitement found elsewhere beyond the borders of this idyllic yet humble little town. This has led to a problem for the women leaving them with a lot to do there, but nobody to essentially do it with, as there’s a considerable shortage of men. What this means is that it’s up to the city planner Charity Jones to do something and do something fast if they’re rectify this issue quickly. Regardless of whether it’s bad luck for those in the town, or just plain economics, somebody needs to do something very soon and that someone just happens to be Charity as she steps up to the challenge.

After a somewhat restless childhood filled with wandering, Charity simply wants somewhere that she can settle down and Fool’s Gold seems to be offering the perfect place to do just that. With everything that town has to offer, it seems ideal for what Charity is looking for as she begins to settle down into her new role as local city planner for the area. That is until Josh Golden steps into her life, the local celebrity and world-class cyclist famous for his skills and athletic prowess on the bike. Charity isn’t so instantly taken with him like everyone else is though, as she sees through his cocky exterior revealing the deeper flaws beneath. That’s when she truly begins fall for him, with all his imperfections buried beneath. Will Charity ever be able to feel at home making the small town of Fool’s Gold a rich, fun and exciting place to be in the process, enabling more people to stay home? Can she ever get together with Josh and will they get past their initial flaws as she sees him for who he really is? What will become of them as she helps him to understand he’s only chasing perfect?

Fool’s Gold: Almost Perfect

Following on from her previous book, this features another story set in the fictional town of Fool’s Gold, as it expands upon the world within. Published first in 2010 on the 21st of June, Mallery released this not long after her initial novel in the series. Revolving around an almost soap-opera led formula now, Mallery finds her footing with this book, as she confidently leads the reader through this idyllic town of her own making.

This time round the story features Liz Sutton, a woman who grew up in Fool’s Gold, but was always considered as the girl from the bad side of town. Then there was the popular boy who was loved by everyone in town; Ethan Hendrix, the most adored young member of the community and the local school as well. Secretly then, he begins a passionate affair with Liz, as she feels tied to him romantically, feeling he’s the true one for her. That is until Ethan betrays her and breaks her heart leaving her feeling hurt and broken, after what seemed to be a relationship with her soul-mate falls apart. Left pregnant as well with his baby, she leaves Fool’s Gold and California with the intention of never returning. Feeling devastated with a baby on the way, she aims never to look back to the town of Fool’s Gold, or so she thought.

After time spent living away with her child, she must many years later return to the town of Fool’s Gold with her son to Ethan, the father that doesn’t even know he exists. The other problem for Liz is that she can’t make a fast escape as she did before, so she has to stay there and face it all, along with Ethan who has to face up to the fact that he is a father now. Along with this is the fact that they are both still attracted to each other, as it appears the passion is still there underneath it all. Will she be able to patch things back up with Ethan, getting back together and making a second go of things? Can they put the past behind them as Ethan accepts the child he never knew he had before? What will become of their relationship together as they look to transform themselves into something that’s almost perfect?

The Fool’s Gold Series

With the ability to continually expand upon her world, it appears that there’s plenty of life left in this franchise for Mallery yet. As she has stated there’s more books to come, so this series shows no signs of stopping anytime soon. For the foreseeable future it seems the series is set to continue.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Fool’s Gold

Leave a Reply