Book Notification

Foz Meadows Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Manifold Worlds Books

An Accident of Stars (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tyranny of Queens (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Rare Books

Solace and Grief (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Key to Starveldt (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Tithenai Chronicles Books

A Strange and Stubborn Endurance (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
All The Hidden Paths (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Finding Echoes (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Monstrous Little Voices Books

Coral Bones (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Course of True Love (By: Kate Heartfield) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unkindest Cut (By: Emma Newman) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Even in the Cannon's Mouth (By: Adrian Tchaikovsky) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Twelfth Night (By: Jonathan Barnes) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Monstrous Little Voices: New Tales from Shakespeare's Fantasy World (With: Adrian Tchaikovsky,Jonathan Barnes,Emma Newman,Kate Heartfield) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Speculative Fiction 2013(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phantazein(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nebula Awards Showcase 55(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Trouble(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Foz Meadows
Foz Meadows is an Australian fantasy novelist, poet, and blogger. They has written for, Apex Magazine, The Huffington Post, The Mary Sue, Strange Horizons, A Dribble of Ink, and Black Gate. Their blog writing, novels, and other essays have been nominated for significant genre awards like the Ditmar Awards and the Hugo Award. They won a Norma K. Hemming Award (short fiction) for “Coral Bones”.

Foz was raised on the central coast of New South Wales, and has lived across Australia, including Sydney and Melbourne, and the UK, including Aberdeen and Bristol.

Foz is married to Toby Meadows (a philosophy lecturer). They’ve got a son together, born while living in the UK.

“Solace and Grief” is the first novel in the “Rare” series and was released in 2010. Solace Grief was born a vampire. She was raised in foster care, and has always attempted to keep her abilities a secret, up until this spooky encounter with this faceless guy prompts her to just run away.

Solace finds other people with similar gifts to hers, and quickly gets caught up in this strange yet more vibrant world than she ever knew existed. However once the mysterious Professor Lukin takes an interest in her friends, she’s forced to begin asking questions of her own. Who is Sharpsoft? What happened to her parents? And since when has there been a medieval dungeon located under Hyde Park?

“The Key to Starveldt” is the second novel in the “Rare” series and was released in 2011. The castle of Starveldt has been waiting. Solace and her friends, having escaped once already from Sanguisidera, are in desperate need of some guidance.

Looking to unravel this cryptic prophecy, they travel off to the Rookery, this otherworldly place that is governed by the enigmatic Liluye. Wild and magical, the Rookery tests all of them in preparation for the crossing to Starveldt. However the group is beginning to fracture.

The threat of Lord Grief continues growing; lies, old betrayals, and secrets begin boiling up to the surface, with stunning consequences. While danger closes in, can they possibly make their peace before everything just falls apart? Or is the Bloodkin going to triumph?

“An Accident of Stars” is the first novel in the “Manifold Worlds” series and was released in 2016. Saffron Coulter stumbles through this hole in reality, and finds herself trapped in Kena, which is a magical realm that’s on the brink of a civil war.

It is there that her fate gets intertwined with that of three incredibly different women. Viya, who is the spoiled and runaway consort of Vex Leoden, the empire building ruler. Zech, a fast thinking acolyte of some powerful and cunning exile. And Gwen, this Earth born worldwalker whose biggest regret is putting Leoden on the throne. However Leoden has got allies, as well, and chief among them is the Vex’Mara Kadeja, who is this dangerous ex-priestess who shares his dreams about conquest.

Pursued by Leoden and aided by the Shavaktiin (this secretive order of mystics and storytellers) the rebels escape to Veksh, this neighboring matriarchy that’s ruled by the fearsome Council of Queens. Saffron is out of her world and out of her depth, however the further that she travels, the more that she finds herself being bound to her friends with ties of magic and blood. Can a single girl, one that’s an accidental worldwalker at that, truly be the key to saving Kena? Or is she just going to die trying?

“A Tyranny of Queens” is the second novel in the “Manifold Worlds” series and was released in 2017. Saffron Coulter has just returned from Kena. Threatened with a stay in psychiatric care, she’s got this decision to make: forget all about the fantasy kingdom that is Kena and fit back into the life that she has outgrown, or pit herself against everything she has ever known and everybody that she loves.

Gwen, meanwhile back in Kena, is getting more and more trouble by Leoden’s absence, and the plans for the captive worldwalkers, as Yena, who is still in Veksh, has to face the deposed Kadeja. What’s their endgame? Who can they possibly trust? And what’ll happen once Leoden returns?

“A Strange and Stubborn Endurance” is the first novel in the “Tithenai Chronicles” series and was released in 2022. Velasin vin Aaro had never planned on getting married at all, let alone some girl from the neighboring Tithena. When this ugly confrontation reveals his preference for men, Vel starts to fear that he has ruined the diplomatic union before it can even start. However as his family is ready to just disown him, the Tithenai envoy has got a different solution entirely: for Vel to marry his former intended’s brother instead.

Caethari Aeduria always knew that he might wind up in some political marriage, however his sudden betrothal to a guy from Ralia, where such relationships are expressly forbidden, comes as quite the shock to him. With this unknown faction willing to kill to end this new alliance of theirs, Cae and Vel don’t have any choice but to trust one another. Survival is one thing, however love (as both are soon going to learn) is quite another.

Byzantine politics, a queer love story, and sexual energy that’s by turns sultry and sweet Foz’ “A Strange and Stubborn Endurance” is an exploration of self-worth, gender, and identity. It’s a novel that will live in your heart well after you’ve turned the final page.

Many a reader that long for a sense of homecoming in the realm of romantic fantasy are going to find it with this novel. This novel blends queer romance and intrigue and stitches together two cultures and re-embroiders gender conventions. Foz combines the political and personal through this elegant voice, and finds just enough time for tender moments of healing.

This is a slick murder mystery, gorgeous romance, and a political thriller all rolled up into one, with characters that you quickly grow to root for and love. But most of all, this is a novel about learning to accept oneself, whatever might’ve been done to you.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Foz Meadows

Leave a Reply