Nick Petrie Series

Frances Fyfield / Frances Hegarty Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Helen West Books

A Question Of Guilt (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Trial by Fire / Not That Kind of Place (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deep Sleep (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadow Play (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Clear Conscience (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Without Consent (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Sarah Fortune Books

Shadows On The Mirror (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Perfectly Pure And Good (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Staring at the Light (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Looking Down (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Playing With Fire / Safer Than Houses (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cold To The Touch (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Diana Porteous Books

Gold Digger (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Casting the First Stone (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Painted Smile (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Playroom (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Half Light (1992)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Let's Dance (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blind Date (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Undercurrents (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Nature Of The Beast (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Seeking Sanctuary (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Art of Drowning (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blood From Stone (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Frances Hegarty is an English author of mystery and thrillers author best known for her award-winning novel Blood from Stone. She also writes under the pen name Frances FyField. A criminal lawyer by profession, Frances writes effortlessly on legal issues, and her talent shows throughout her writing. She was born in rural Derbyshire but moved to London, where she spent a good part of her adult life. Aside from working as a lawyer and writing best-sellers, Frances writes short stories and contributes to radio and magazines.

Blood from Stone

Blood from Stone features Marianne Shearer, a successful barrister at the height of her career. Her clients revere shearer, and her peers respect her. When she is found dead, the question on everyone’s mind is, why would Marianne kill herself? To the world, Marianne was the epitome of success, and it seemed like everything was going great for her. The young criminal defense attorney leaps from a balcony on the sixth floor of the Kensington hotel. Peter Friel, one of Marianne’s colleagues, is among the people who think that there is more to the barrister’s suicide. Friel begins an investigation that will uncover the intricate web that leads to suicide.

Henrietta, Joyce’s sister, was recently kidnapped and abused. The family has not recovered from the shock yet, but the trial has to go. Marianne is the defense attorney representing the assailant Rick Boyd in the case. Like any good defense attorney, Marianne does everything possible to ensure that her client doesn’t end up in prison. Before the case is concluded, Henrietta’s sister dies, and the trial ends with an acquittal. For Marianne, an acquittal is a win. It doesn’t matter that her client committed the crimes he is accused of by Henrietta’s sister and two other women.

This is a riveting crime novel that follows a web of secrets to reveal the reason why Marianne Shearer killed herself. The story is multi-layered and intricately weaves the tale of Marianne’s life. This book comes with cleaver placed clues in addition to numerous twists and turns that you will barely see coming. All the characters are exciting, and it is fascinating to see how they play different roles in the events that lead to Marianne’s suicide.

As the story builds, it becomes clear that despite her achievements, Marianne was unable to deal with the ruthless decisions that she had made throughout her career. The book also reveals details about the last case that Marianne tried. Friel also uncovers a lot about Marianne’s personal life and the secrets she hid so well from the world. The young woman who immersed a lot of energy in her work has a lot of skeletons she worked hard to keep in the closet.

Blood from Stone in an exquisite piece that will have you hooked from the first page. Get to see the connection between Peter and Thomas and the thing that links these two men to Marianne. How about the strange clothes that Marianne is wearing on the day she dies? Is there a possibility that hers was a murder and not a suicide? Is it possible that Marianne had a conscience despite the cruel way she handled who threatened to stand in her way? All these questions will be answered by the time you get to the end of this thrilling book.


Undercurrents is a mystery piece that features Henry Evans. For two decades, Henry Evans has endured the haunting memory of Francesca Chisholm, his lost love. Things are about to change because now Henry has decided to look for her on the English Coast. Henry’s motivation for moving from America to England was not just the new job, but an opportunity to rekindle what he once shared with a woman who let a mark in his heart. Immediately Henry sets foot in England, his start for the woman who stole his heart in India begins.

The reality is different from what Henry expected. After asking a few about Francesca’s whereabout, Henry finds out that her lover is in jail for killing her son. The most shocking thing is that there was never a doubt about the murder since Francesca admitted that she pushed the five-year-old off the pier. The boy then fell to the sea where he died.

Henry is not buying this story. The evil actions surrounding the death of Francesca’s son do not agree with the woman he once knew. Driven by love, and perhaps the hope of a future together, Henry begins an investigation on the killing and the events that took place on a fateful day. Unknowingly, Henry embarks on a wild ride that will include the ghost and a host of intriguing characters. Fortunately, this American boy is no quitter. The more Frances unravels, the more he is determined to find the truth on what befell his lost love. In the end, he is able to uncover the truth even though the journey almost costs him his life.

While this story has a violent killing at its center, the novel is more than a crime novel. There are many eccentrics in it, and the author has done a great job of describing the odd village in England and its inhabitants. There is also a wide array of characters, some very intriguing like the two men running the bed and breakfast where Henry spends his first days in England. All other characters are well developed, and together with the increasing pace, transform this book into a page-turner.

Undercurrent is the story of love and loss. Join Frances on his journey to uncover the truth of an unfortunate event that has ruined the life of a woman he still loves. While most mystery stories come with a detective as the main character, this one is different. The main character is a flawed man who is looking for a woman he shouldn’t have let go. Despite his flaws, it is impressive how he is willing to lose his life to prove that Francesca is not a murderer. The story ends beautifully and without a cliffhanger. It is refreshing that love wins in the end.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Frances Fyfield / Frances Hegarty

Leave a Reply