Book Notification

Francis F.G. Cottam Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Colony Books

as F.G. Cottam
The Colony (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Resurrection (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Harvest of Scorn (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Shadow World Books

as F.G. Cottam

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Fire Fighter (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hamer's War (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slapton Sands (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shadow On The Sun (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Lost Souls (As: F.G. Cottam) (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Echo (As: F.G. Cottam) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magdalena Curse (As: F.G. Cottam) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Waiting Room (As: F.G. Cottam) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Resident (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brodmaw Bay (As: F.G. Cottam) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Memory of Trees (As: F.G. Cottam) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lazarus Prophecy (As: F.G. Cottam) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lucifer Chord (As: F.G. Cottam) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Auguries (As: F.G. Cottam) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Going and The Rise (As: F.G. Cottam) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Absence of Natural Light (As: F.G. Cottam) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of F.G. Cottam Short Stories/Novellas

as F.G. Cottam
The Going and The Rise (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Absence of Natural Light (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Beast:Revelations - A Dark Ethology - Volume 2(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Francis F.G. Cottam is a bestselling novelist and former magazine editor whose works have been made into feature films. Cottam made his writing debut with the W.H. Smith Literature award winning novel “The Firefighter” that he first published in 2001 as Francis Cottam.

Most of his earlier novels are set in World War II settings. After working for several years in historical novelists, he switched genres and went on to write paranormal thrillers using the pseudonym F.G Cottam.

Over the years, he has written more than ten novels and at least two novellas that have all done very well.

Francis F.G. Cottam was born and raised in Southport Lancashire and has asserted that writing was something he wanted to do ever since he was just eight years old.

But the certainty would turn out to be a bad thing as it made him overconfident and resulted in crippling procrastination. It was not until he was in his late thirties that he thought he needed to bite the bullet and get started writing.

Francis Cottam has always been excited by dark fiction, which perhaps explains his venture into paranormal fiction. As a child, he used to devour the black magic themed novels by Dennis Wheatley and anything in the horror anthologies published by Pan Macmilan.

He was also a huge lover of creepier comic stories and “Dead of Night” the portmanteau film was a favorite. Cottam was always fascinated by how there could be extraordinary things just beyond human grasp.

In his teenage years, Francis F.G. Cottam went to the University of Kent and studied history before he started working as a London journalist. It was while he was at university that he got into serious reading, which transported him into another world.

He started thinking seriously about fiction after studying objective correlative by Eliot and the iceberg theory by Ernest Hemingway. He also had all the time to study and ponder the novel and the mechanics involved in writing it.

It was at university that he began writing journalistic pieces for the likes of “The Face,” “Arena” and “I-D” that soon got him the attention of the biggest magazine publishers in the space.

After finding a job in magazine publishing, he would live for more than two decades in North Lambeth and was a prominent leader of the Lad-mag revolution during the 1990s. Francis was the launch editor of several magazines including the UK edition of “Men’s Health,” “Total Sport Magazine” and “FHM.”
He used to be lead editor for “FHM” at a time when it was known for covering fashion and sport rather than weather girls and Hollyoaks starlets. After working for several years as the editor of “Men’s Health Magazine,” the desire to write fiction only grew stronger.

He had always been a huge reader of different genres of fiction but paranormal history works are what he loves best. Francis Cottam started on an encouraging note but the disappointments would ultimately come as he got his fair share of rejections before he got published.

Francis FG COttam’s novel “The Colony” is a spooky and intense thriller set in a barren and remote island off Scotland, known as New Hope Island.
The island is known for the 1825 famous disappearance. This was an event in which Seamus Ballantyne a former slave master, established a colony on the island only for the entire population to go missing without a trace.

A newspaper proprietor and media mogul named Alexander McIntyre has been fascinated with the island for a long time. His interest is renewed when he finds a film from the 1930s. It had been taken by a man who had made an attempt to settle on the island.

Finding inspiration from the film, he brings together a group of experts that include a virologist, celebrity psychic, archeologist, a former Army security expert, a priest as well as researchers and reporters. He sends them all to the island hoping to resolve the riddle of the disappearance.
He believes that by resolving the mystery, he can boost his own paper’s circulation, only to find the reality of the island is much darker.

Dark Resurrection by Francis FG Cottam is set five years following the tragic expedition that had thrust Hope Island back into the national limelight. Dennis Thorpe is a crime writer past his prime who takes a group of writers on a retreat in a remote corner of the Bebrides, only for the entire group to disappear without a trace.

The hard drinking, heavily tattooed, beautiful author of dark tales for children is a woman named Ruthie Gillepsie. She was to be in the group that had gone missing but her intuition told her not to go at the eleventh hour. Soon after, the police come to her door as her inexplicable escape ties her to the case.
She soon finds herself falling deeper and deeper into a dark web of magic and secrets. It does seem that most of the writers have dark and mysterious pasts.
Just how far can she go when her life is under threat. Will she continue knowing that she has to find answers before more people are lost to the Island or will she run and hope she does not fall victim?

Francis FG Cottam’s novel “Harvest of Scorn” is the story of entrepreneur extraordinaire Felix Baxtyer who is on his way to rehabilitate New Hope Island. Manipulative and rich, he intends to make the island a luxury getaway destination he will call “The New Hope Experience.” But will the ghosts of the 1825 disappearance allow him to complete his plans.

Felix Baxter has given Helena Davenport the opportunity of a lifetime to oversee the building of his project. But on the Scottish Hebrides, nothing is ever as it seems. As soon as she starts building, her site manager goes missing after his colleagues hear an eerie single scream.

Ruthie goes to the island alongside several survivors from the last group that had been to New Hope. They intend to end the ordeal not only to cleanse the island but also for their own catharsis. But is the island worth fighting for?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Francis F.G. Cottam

Leave a Reply