Book Notification

Frank Cottrell Boyce Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Books

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (By: Ian Fleming) (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Flies Again (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and the Race Against Time (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Over the Moon (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Millions (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Framed (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cosmic (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Desirable (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unforgotten Coat (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Triple Word Score (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Astounding Broccoli Boy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Runaway Robot (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Noah's Gold (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wonder Brothers (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Can't You Sleep? (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pitch (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Permanent Granite Sunrise (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chapter Books

Ted Rules the World (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Great Rocket Robbery (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Plays

Welcome to Sarajevo (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Claim (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Frank Cottrell Boyce is a screenwriter and novelist from Liverpool England who is best known for the “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang” series of novels.

The author was born to a Catholic family in a small town named Bootle near Liverpool. While he was still a primary school student, his family moved to Rainhill, where he went to the West Park Grammar School and the St. Bartholomew Primary School.
Growing up, Frank Cottrell loved reading and Tove Jansson’s “Moomins” was one series of works that she particularly loved.

He would then go to Keble College, Oxford where he read English and also got his PhD. After graduation, he began working for “Living Marxism,” the magazine for which he used to write criticism as a staff writer.
It was at Oxford where he met undergraduate Denise who would later become his wife. He is also a patron of the interfaith, biennial Insight Film Festival, which is all about positive contributions to respect, understanding, and community cohesion.
He penned “Millions” his debut novel which was the winner of the 2004 Carnegie Medal in 2004.

Cottrell also worked with Danny Boyle in the writing of the story for the opening ceremony of the London 2012 Olympic Games inspired by “The Tempest” by Shakespeare.

Cottrell Boyce can remember the day that he made the decision to become an author. He was then an eleven-year-old in the sixth grade and the class had been given an assignment about Vikings.

It was a pleasant day in February and for some reason, he felt a need to put a lot of effort into the assignment. he put in some nice adjectives and jokes and made it seem as if the first head was the figurehead of the Viking longboat.
Frank Cottrell’s teacher so loved the story that he had written that she read it to the whole class and had everyone laughing at the jokes. It was an exhilarating feeling even though he can no longer remember the jokes that he told in the story.
He believes that if the teacher had asked him to read it out, he would probably have believed he was destined to be a standup comedian.

However, since he was to sit back and watch other people get a laugh, it probably drove his decision to become a fiction author. All he had done was throw in a couple of metaphors and play around with word order.
From then on he dedicated his life trying to get back the essence of that morning in the sixth grade.

In 2004, Frank Cottrell Boyce made use of “Millions,” a screenplay he had written to pen a children’s fiction work by the same name.

The work surprisingly performed very well and was the winner of the Carnegie Medal in 2004 before it was made into a play in 2010.

He would follow that up with “Framed” the children’s fiction work that made the shortlist for the Whitbread Children’s Book of the Year Award and the Carnegie Medal in 2005.
Frank Cottrell now has more than twenty works of fiction to his name that include several collections of short stories, plays, and contributions to series by other authors.
He is also a judge for the Chris Evans-organized 500 Words competition in association with Oxford University Press.

The competition happens to be the largest short story writing competition in the United Kingdom for children between the ages of five and thirteen.

“Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Flies Again” tells the story of a magical car that can swim, fly, become a submarine, and go back and forth in time.

At the opening of the novel, you are introduced to the Tooting family, which includes a father and mother in addition to Jeremy, Lucy, and baby Harry.

One day, Mr. Tooting comes home in the evening and tells his family that he has just been sacked leaving them without a vehicle. Since they had planned to go on an adventure they got a camper van.
Just as they are about to leave, Mr Tooting and Jeremy head to the scrap yard to go find some useful items for their adventures. At the scrap yard, they find an ancient Zborowski engine that was once in 1920s racing vehicle.
Mr. Tooting has the skills and ideas and soon transforms the old camper van into a speedy monster, even though Jeremy is not too sure about what they have done.

But as the family leaves for Paris, the camper van sprouts wings just at the moment they realize that somebody is on their tail and wants to take the car for himself.
Full of wry humor, it is a much-anticipated sequel featuring a modern family with a camper van with its own mind.

Frank Cottrell Boyce’s novel “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and the Race Against Time” picks up where the first novel ended. The Tootings are in an unfamiliar epoch and have a Tyrannosaurus Rex coming for them.
While the surroundings look like Jurassic Park, this is no walk in the park and they need to escape fast.

Thankfully, Mr. Tooting inadvertently yanks the Chronojuster lever on the Chitty, and the spirited car leaves and they find themselves in prehistoric times.

But Chitty seems to have a mind of its own and the family will have an unexpected tour of different eras and places. They go from Prohibition-era New York during the 1920s to the lost city of Eldorado and back again.
On their journey across the different epochs, they have to deal with surprise stowaways and all manner of adventures, which is nothing like what they imagined when they left home.
Get ready for a high-flying and hilarious adventure that just shows why Frank Cottrell is one of the most exciting voices to watch in the genre.

Frank Cottrell’s work “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Over the Moon” opens with the Tootings without a vehicle and stuck in 1966. They have little hope of retrieving Chitty Chitty Bang Bang from Nany Jack and Tiny.
Mr. Tooting believes that their only hope of getting out is to find Commander Pott and his family who have the ability to destroy the original vehicle and ensure it does not fall into malevolent hands.
When they locate the Commander, he is leaving in the original car, which they discover also has Baby Harry in the backseat.

By working with the Pott family, they combine their knowledge and may have a slim hope of rescuing Little Harry and getting back their brilliant car that had been stolen.
However, there is a fiendish criminal with different plans that involve activating an explosive scheme and flying Chitty Chitty Bang Bang to the moon.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Frank Cottrell Boyce

Leave a Reply