Book Notification

Frank Tuttle Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Markhat Files Books

The Mister Trophy (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Man's Rain (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hold the Dark (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cadaver Client (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Banshee's Walk (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Broken Bell (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brown River Queen (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Five Faces (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darker Carnival (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Way Out West (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Mean Streets (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Paths of Shadow Books

All the Paths of Shadow (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saving the Sammi (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
All the Turns of Light (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Wind of Change (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Knob Hill Haunt (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Passing the Narrows (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Wistril Compleat (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Socialists, Socialites, and Sociopaths (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mallara and Burn: On the Road (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Far Corners (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The New Author's Guide to Writing (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Frank Tuttle is one of the well known authors of America who likes to write his books based on the fiction and fantasy genres. He is particularly famous for writing down and publishing the Markhat series. The success of this series helped him to establish himself as a noteworthy author of the fantasy and fiction genres. After the much required success in the initial stage of his writing career, author Tuttle went on to try his hand in the young adult genre. Eventually, he wrote and published a few successful books in this series too. Author Tuttle lives and works on the development of his novels from his home located in the perpetual and the humid wilderness of the North Mississippi region in The United States. At first, he tried to tried to write in the style of a Southern writer. He even tried to write about the hound dogs and the pickups. But somehow, magic and trolls continued to creep into the stories of books. Therefore, author Tuttle became a fantasy novelist eventually. However, even today the occasional appearances of hounds take place in his stories. Most of the books written by author Tuttle are included as a part of the ‘Markhat’ series. This series is written in the form of a fantasy series, featuring a wise, hard boiled, and sharp detective, in a world full of magic. As far as the young adult genre is concerned, author Tuttle has written around 4 books as a one part series. However, he says that each and every book in the young adult series can read as a standalone novel.

Author Tuttle always describes himself as a writer who does not like to write about the cliffhanger endings. Apart from these successful works in different genres, author Tuttle has also written several anthologies of short stories, which were mostly published during the 1990s in the print form. The Mississippi University has carried out a documentary work on the successful books of author Tuttle, which can be seen by viewers in the form of a video on a private website. Whenever author Tuttle gets some free time from his busy schedule, he likes to spend them by interacting with his readers and fans on the social networking platforms. Apart from taking suggestions about his recently published works, he also welcomes the comments and suggestions from the readers through his personal website. When author Tuttle started writing for the first time, he was under the woeful and mistaken impression that his writings will release him from the burden of doing some honest work. But soon, he realized that writing is not everyone’s cup of tea. At times, he used to get so much stressed while developing the plots of his books that he would pull out and stretch his hair, thereby describing how difficult it is to develop and complete a book once started. Author Tuttle says that these hardships and elements of difficulty are never described in any book or magazines. When he completed his initial books, he was able to publish them in printed form during the end of the 1990s. Since then, author Tuttle has written and published a total of 7 Markhat novels and several other short stories. As of today, he says that he does not resort to hair pulling as much, as he does feel stressed like the old days while writing his books. In fact, author Tuttle enjoys writing his books and spends whatever free time he can make out from his busy schedule in doing the research work of his next novels.

The Markhat series written by author Frank Tuttle consists of a total of 9 books released between the years 2008 and 2015. The debut book in this series was released under the title ‘The Mister Trophy’ by the Samhain Publishing in the year 2008. All the books in the series revolve around the main character named Markhat. The other important characters described in the book include Mama Hog and Eddie, and all of them live in the fictional town of Rannit. At the beginning of the book’s story, it is shown that the missing head of a troll is about to cause Markhat lose his own head. He is introduced as a finder and is required to find the missing head of a troll as soon as possible. All he wants in this difficult situation is to drink a beer at the Eddie’s bar. Instead of that, he gets involved in a difficult case that causes him to come face to face with a blood-craving, crazed, and half dead trio of the vengeful warriors of Troll. Markhat also seems to be chased by the Backstreet magic of Mama Hog. In addition to that, Markhat fears the possibility of the restarting of the Troll War. Markhat appears to be quite fine in his quiet neighborhood. In order to avoid the disasters, he tries to move ahead through the mean streets and narrow alleys of the town of Rannit. Markhat faces a strict warning from Mama Hog that if he fails to find the head of the troll, then his own head is going to roll in its place.

The second book published in the Markhat series written by author Frank Tuttle was titled as ‘Dead Man’s Rain’. It was released as a Kindle edition in the year 2008. In this book, Markhat is shown trying to help a dead man find peace, while he himself seems quite haunted. Once again, Markhat is given the task of tracking down the fathers and sons who had gone missing after the war. As the army was left abandoned at their place due to the outbreak of peace, many of them had gone missing, suddenly. Now, 10 years have passed after the war and in spite of being one of the best finders, all Markhat has been able to find is trouble. The problem that he faces in his life this time comes in the form of a wealthy widow, who tells him that her dead husband named Ebed Merlet keeps coming back at nights and haunts her in dreams. Markhat had seen and heard a lot in his entire life, but this was entirely new to her. Therefore, he does not tend to believe the story of the rich widow at first. However, seeing the high price for the task, he agrees to do the job for her. As he tries to find the truth about the nocturnal visits of the dead husband of the rich widow, Markhat comes to know that the Merlat House was lurking with murder. Author Tuttle has warned the readers that the book is filled with sarcastic butlers, walking dead, ghostly dances, and barking dogs, which will tend to haunt them while reading.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Frank Tuttle

Leave a Reply