Book Notification

Fred the Mermaid Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fred The Mermaid Books

Sleeping with the Fishes (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swimming Without a Net (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fish Out of Water (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Underwater Love (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Fred the Mermaid Series
Fred the Mermaid is a paranormal romance series by American author of romance, nonfiction, literature and fiction books Mary Janice Davidson. The series stars Fredrika Bimms or Fred as she is commonly known. Fred is no ordinary girl. The character is a mermaid who can live on land and underwater. The series starts with a revelation about her identity. Two men from different worlds later show up and alter Fred’s life. The rest of the series will involve interactions with these men and her friends and family. Fred also explores her background, does a lot of good for the environment, and witnesses a lot of growth in the process.

Sleeping with the Fishes
Sleeping with the Fishes is the first book in the Fred the Mermaid series. The book stars DR. Fredrika Bimms otherwise known as Fred, a mermaid who is about to embark on one hell of a ride. Fred has always known that the man she calls dad is not her biological father. Her parents decide to reveal this after she catches them having sex. The revelation about her identity doesn’t traumatize her as much as the sight she just witnessed. How does one even unsee some things? Will Fred ever recover from this episode and be able to face her parents again?

Unbeknown to Fred, this memory is about to be replaced by something else. Fred is visited by Prince Artur, who is looking to find whoever is responsible for polluting the ocean. Soon after, a handsome marine biologist named Thomas appears with the same concern. Thomas is also curious about Fred’s hair which happens to be green and not blue as expected. For once in her short life, Fred has the attention of two handsome men, and understandably, she does not know how to handle the situation. It is evident that both men like her. Fred, on the other hand, doesn’t know how to act around these men who make her feel things she has never imagined.

At 29, you would think that Fred would be better in relationships. However, the half-human half mermaid girl is stuck in a triangle she does not know how to break. While romance is a part of this story, it is not the main focus. Most of the book covers pollution. After Thomas and Artur approach her, a search for whoever is pollution the sea begins. Join these characters on an adventure in search of the person who is endangering the lives of sea creatures. Will Fred be successful in finding and stopping the polluter? How does a marine prince compete with a human and who wins Fred’s heart in the long run?
This story is characterized by snappy dialogue, a fast-pace, and dry humor. Some scenes will leave you in stitches while others will make you question some of the choices that humans make. Additionally, the narrative is flawless, which makes it easy to understand all that is going on in the story. The cast is exciting, and everyone from Fred to her best friend Jonas will make you smile.

Sleeping with the Fishes is a fantasy story that will make you think about the sea and the creatures that swim underwater. It is a perfect choice if you are looking for a light read to fill a lazy afternoon on the beach. The book is about 270 pages meaning you can gobble it up in a single sitting.

Swimming Without a Net
Swimming Without a Net is the second book in the Fred the Mermaid series. The story starts about one year after the first one ended. All the characters from the first book are all here and it’s all fun to get to know them better. The author also introduces a good number of merpeople that you will grow to love. So, what is Fred and company up to this time around?

Well, Fred is visiting her people under the sea where she will learn more about her biological father. Fred’s visit coincides with a political debate that is going on in the underworld. The sea creatures are wondering if it is time to reveal themselves to humans, who they fondly refer to as the bipeds. Fred is to act as the witness if and when this introduction happens. What does Fred think about this? Will she act as witness the sea creatures need? Away from politics, Fred takes time to explore her new worlds. It is refreshing to see that she is now comfortable in her skin and ready to learn about her origin.
Artur and Thomas are still at it. Both men are still interested in her and Fred is not sure who among them is the right choice. That said, it is becoming clearer who among these two come with the right attributes. The only thing Fred is not about to let go is her freedom. She doesn’t want to settle in a relationship that ties her down or brings drastic changes to her life.

Over half of this book is set under the sea. Here we learn that Fred is as comfortable at sea as she is on land. How do the sea creatures treat the intruder amongst them? How did Fred get the attention of the king, and why does he think Fred is the perfect link between humans and sea creatures? Fred’s best friend, Jonas, continues to entertain. Jonas appears more in this book which can only translate to more hilarious scenes to enjoy. The cast adds character to the story, and it is amazing how the sea creatures understand nature and the environment around them.

Swimming Without a Net is just as light and hilarious as Sleeping with the Fishes. The author’s characteristic style gives this story quite an edge. Reading the story feels like you are enjoying a conversation with a good friend. The book is also short and perfect for a single sitting reading. You can expect the author to draw you in from the first page and from there, it is going to be a task to put the book down. That said, you may have to read the next book to see who Fred chooses for a partner.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Fred the Mermaid

Leave a Reply