Book Notification

Frith Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Frith Chronicles Books

Knightmare Arcanist (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dread Pirate Arcanist (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coliseum Arcanist (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plague Arcanist (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
World Serpent Arcanist (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arcanist Fables (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warlord Arcanist (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Master Arcanist (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grandmaster Arcanist (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Frith Chronicles” is a set of science fiction and young adult fiction novels by bestselling author Shami Stovall. The author was born in Utah but spent much of her childhood in California where she lived with her little brother and her mother.
When Shami Stovall was four years old, she lost her father in a drunk driving accident and this would shape much of her later life. Her mother then kept moving from California to Utah looking for any work she could find.
Things only got worse when he was seven as his mother got another kid and they became super poor. At some point, they lived in a motel and even in the car, and as such, all she ever desired was to be normal.
Since she did not have money to participate in many activities her peers loved such as clubbing and going shopping, she used to escape reality through reading books or playing her Gameboy.

Following her graduation from high school, she went to Stanislaus State where she graduated with a bachelor’s degree in history. Stovall would then attend the Laurence Drivon School of Law from where she got her Juris Doctorate.
During her childhood years, she has always enjoyed the magical, space opera and portal fantasy series she could get her hands on. However, the first novel that provided the inspiration to write was Scott O’Dell’s “Island of the Blue Dolphins.”
The work opened her mind to realities and ideas she had never thought about before. It was at that moment that she realized that she had a passion for storytelling.

She would then get into stories particularly military science fiction and fantasy series be it in comics, video games, books, or movies.
After college, she met her husband and it was with his help that she would make her first step toward becoming an author.

She published “Knightmare Arcanist” in 2019 and has now become a prolific author with at least two works of fiction published every year.
Together with her husband John, she owns a small publishing house that publishes stories of triumph and adventure.

The “Frith Chronicles” by Shami Stovall is a series of young adult fantasy fiction set in a world. In this world, people attain magical powers when they bond with an extraterrestrial creature.
Phoenixes usually give people fire and healing powers, you get storm abilities from leviathans and Knightmares give one power over shadows.

The longer one is bonded to the mythical creature, the more they master their magical capabilities and they become even more powerful arcanists.

The lead in the series is Savan Volke who becomes a member of an arcanist guild to find that there is something very wrong within it. Together with his newly admitted arcanists, they embark on a world-changing adventure.
The work is something of a love letter to childhood with all, elements within it. It combines everything from your favorite childhood games, books, and shows such as Drago Riders of Pern, Pokemon, and Monster Rancher to make for an enthralling ride.

“Knightmare Arcanist” the first novel of the “Frith Chronicles” introduces a poor boy named Volke Savan who does not have a father or mother.
He had been raised by William, a practical but stern parental figure that constantly reminded him of who he was. All that Volke and Illia his stepsister desire is to escape the drudgery of living as gravediggers on the island.
They spend their days when not busy at work dreaming of leaving their home island where they had been brought up. They believe they can become wielders of powerful magic, which would make it possible to rise above their lot in life.
Volke in particular wants to be like Gregory Ruma his hero who was the greatest arcanist who ever lived. However, he has to face all manner of challenges once he is admitted to the arcanists and is apprenticed to an often absent and drunkard mentor.
It is a work full of imaginative fantasy with Dumbledore-like teachers, pirates, and of course deathly magic and mystical creatures.

In “Dread Pirate Arcanist,” the second novel of the series Illia and Volke are back and training under Master Zelfree so that they can become better arcanists. They have been sent to the Isle of Landin where they are to look after baby Griffins.
When one of their charges is taken, several little boys go after the kidnappers. Illia and Volke also join the crew only to end up severely injured. The worst thing is that they had run afoul of Calisto the Dread Pirate Arcanist while attempting their rescue.

This is the same man that had killed Illia’s parents and then taken her eye. Volke and Illia join up with the other kids to go after Calisto so as to stop his murderous adventures.
Illia is interested in punishing the man for making her an orphan and taking her eye and Volke will help her.

It makes for a whirlwind ride of nonstop action as the author takes you on a journey where you get to meet some hard-fighting pirates and magical creatures.

In “Coliseum Arcanist” Volke Savan was heading to Thronehold the famous city, when he learned of one of the most popular arcanist festivals in the “Sovereign Dragon Tournament.”
It is a huge celebration which typically involves hundreds of competitors competing for glory and fame and Volke will do anything to win.

But it will not be an easy thing to do as in the city are some dark forces and even worse there have been rumors of the return of a legendary serpent. Whoever manages to bond with an extraterrestrial creature will tap into powerful magic never before seen.
Unsure of who to trust, Volke investigates the rumors of the return of the serpent and a dark plot by cutthroats intending to take advantage of the chaos of the tournament for their own ends.
It is not an easy investigation as he has to work on it even as he advances through the tournament ranks. The worst thing is that the true villain may be too close to him.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Frith Chronicles

Leave a Reply