Book Notification

G.F. Newman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Corrupted Books

The Corrupted Part One (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Corrupted Part Two (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Exorcist Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Law and Order Books

A Detective’s Tale (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Prisoner's Tale (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Villain’s Tale (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Terry Sneed Books

Sir, You Bastard / Rogue Cop (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Nice Bastard (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price/ You Flash Bastard (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Abduction (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Split (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Professional Ladies (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Streetfighter (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Billy (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Player and the Guest (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guv'nor / Trade-Off (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
The List (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Obsession (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Men With The Guns (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charlie and Joanna (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nation's Health (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Set a Thief (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Testing Ground (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trading the Future (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Circle of Poison (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crime and Punishment (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Plays

Operation Badapple (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Honourable Trade (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon

G.F. Newman is a British author of fictional novels. His full name is Gordon Frank Newman. In addition to being a writer, he is an English television producer. You may have seen his series Law and Order as well as The Nation’s Health, which were based on his own novels.

Newman was born on May 22, 1947 in Kent. He has worked on television series Judge John Deed and New Street Law. He also worked on the Healer. He would attend Stanisflavsky acting school in Chislehurst. When he was 18 years old, he landed a job as a scriptwriter, writing a script for No Hiding Place, an ITV television series that ran from 1959 to 1967.

His partner Rebecca Hughes Hall is a writer as well. She has written scripts for plays and movies. She also has written books on animal rights.

The author is known for having an interest in animal rights. He also is a devout vegan and when he is producing or in the director’s chair working on television programs, he is said to have insisted no meat be consumed on set. He is a believer that reincarnation is real and is influenced by John Todd Ferrier, a noted vegetarian.

He does not vote and has no allegiance to the right or left. He co-owns One Eyed Dog Ltd., a production company that he runs along with novelist and screenwriter Matthew Hall.

Gordon’s first novel came out in 1970 and turned out to be very popular, establishing itself as a bestseller. This set off two more novels in the series, all of which feature Scotland Yard Inspector Terry Sneed. The sequel and the third novel would bring the unscrupulous main character on a series of adventures, and the readers were happy to follow along!

G.F. Newman created and wrote the Terry Sneed series. Starring main character Terry Sneed, the series begins with Sir, You Bastard. The 1970 novel also goes by the title of Rogue Cop. The sequel came out in 1972 and is titled You Nice Bastard. The third novel in the series was published in 1974 and titled The Price. It also goes by the alternate title of You Flash Bastard.

Newman also has written several other novels, including the Law and Order series, Dark Heart, the two novels in the Corrupted series, and full-length books that include Billy, The Player and the Guest, The Abduction, The Split, Three Professional Ladies, and many more. His novel Crime and Punishment was released in 2009 which ended up being adapted for radio and broadcast with the name changed to The Corrupted.

Sir, You Bastard is the first novel in the Terry Sneed series by G.F. Newman. It was adapted to become a 1974 film called The Take.

Enter the main character of Inspector Terry Sneed. This British detective is intelligent and handsome, known for being ruthless. He’s also a thief, and after working for a good seven years on the job, he’s been caught in places he shouldn’t be.

Most people think of a few nice adjectives when they think of British cops. Integrity, honesty, loyalty, and conscience are all things that you could attach to your average local policeman. But Terry is not your average policeman, and he doesn’t play by the rules except those that he creates.

Sneed is ambitious, and when you have the type of ambitions that he has, you’re not going to tend to worry about the small fish. The small fish in this case meaning ethics. When he was 26 years old, he was in a decent position as part of the C.I.D.

It had taken the policeman seven years of dastardly works to get here. He was finally at the top thanks to a fair amount of deception, bribery, lies, and outright violence. But even though he has a lot, somehow the detective inspector wants more. There are some things that you just get used to, and Terry Sneed has gotten quite comfortable operating the way that he does. He is getting greedy, and he wants even more power and even more money than he already has.

Terry makes a rogue call and takes a bribe that would having him helping a criminal. They say you should be careful what you wish for. Sneed is already wishing that he hadn’t made the deal. As time goes on, each and every step is leading him closer to disaster. To save himself, he is going to have to use every trick in the book and call in old favors as he draws on his crooked resources.

The clock is ticking. Detective Inspector Terry Sneed has only 36 hours to save himself and figure this tangled mess out. Can he get out of this thing and come out clean? Or will he find out that he has flown too close to the sun and it’s too late? Anything could happen in this detective noir book from G.F. Newman. Pick up a copy of Sir, You Bastard, the first in the Terry Sneed series to find out!

You Nice Bastard is the second novel in the Terry Sneed stories by G.F. Newman. If you liked the first novel in the series, check out the second book featuring the Detective Inspector!

Terry Sneed may have bitten off more than he can chew in taking on The Firm. The Firm is run by Jack Manso, and it’s an intricate network of organized crime. Right now, Jack is at the very top of the food chain in England, and he got there for a reason. He used violence, bribes, and all manner of threats and treachery to do so.

However, having everything is not enough for Jack Manso. He may have everything, but he wants more. So it is that he turns to the New York family to make a connection. He just wants to stay on top now that he’s here. The Firm is known for being ruthless, and they’re not above using violence to get their way or send a message.

Maybe you’ll get lucky and Jack Manso will give you another chance. Either way, he’s not someone that you want as your foe. That’s what makes what Terry Sneed is doing so dangerous. He’s taking on The Firm and taking it down. But will Sneed find that in tough guy Manso he has met his match?

Read You Nice Bastard to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » G.F. Newman

Leave a Reply